We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from our week's stay. The hotel is very relaxing, cosy and comfortable. There were some nice areas to sit in the bar and the bar staff were very friendly and attentive. Drinks were a little pricy.

The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, however we weren't shown the extra areas I.e. ski room, pool etc. Our luggage was brought to our rooms.

Our 2 south facing rooms were excellent. Immaculately clean and very spacious. Huge beds.
Both with a balcony. Just disappointed that only one of our rooms had a mini bar/fridge. Nice to have a coffee machine and safe. The hotel was much bigger than we had imagined which was nice. And also had a lift.

Food at breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely friendly and efficient.

Our meals in the restaurant were excellent in every way. Beautifully presented. A set menu but a really lovely selection of dishes over a week's stay. We all really looked forward to our evenings in the restaurant.

The hotel has an extensive wine menu which we found quite pricy but every evening had a red and a white for 4 of us. The Sommelier was obviously very knowledgeable but he didnt seem to present his wines to us the same as some other tables. Wine glass sizes etc. Little disappointing. He appeared to want you to choose his recommended wines to go with the menu and seemed a bit irritated if we didn't choose them. The lady Sommelier was very friendly and informative especially when she served us in the Michelin restaurant.

We enjoyed the 8 course tasting menu in their Michelin restaurant. A very interesting experience. Some dishes we loved and others perhaps not so much. The waiting staff were very friendly and informative. We found this restaurant a little too warm.

The shuttle bus was handy for the lifts. The closest lift, however, was only approx 5 minutes walk. The Hotel is situated in the quiet part of Les Deux Alps with a Supermarket, bars, shops, restaurants and car park nearby.

The owners obviously care very much about their lovely hotel and we all look forward to our next visit. A great ski holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    54
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
130
142
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We choose the Michelin star restaurant as it was a friends 40th while we were away skiing, we choose the taster menu (don't be fooled by the word taster) 8 course for 95 euro & worth every penny ! If you get the chance book in & treat yourself you will not be disappointed (or hungry !)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went with a summer cycling group. Friendly and accommodating staff, English friendly. Wonderful restaurant and breakfast buffet. Unfortunately for us a mediocre small room which somewhat degraded the experience. A better room would make for an excellent experience. A very beautiful area. If cycling a steep climb to the village

Room Tip: if given the option get upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We Stayed at this Hotel part of our Velo Echappe cycling package the last week of the 2013 Tour De France Tour. Our room was huge with a sitting area and balcony overlooking the street entrance.
The Hotel was immaculate. The bar server gave us samples of wine and discussed wine we would enjoy from descriptions of wines we described in English. We also had a large bag of laundry done for a mere 8 Euros. The finished laundry was hung in our closets or folded neatly on our bed. Other Laundry prices can range from 3-7 Euros per garment in other hotels. The food was excellent, 5 course meals, presentation was awesome. A person in our group had a soy problem and they made special meals for her that were of the same caliber as our meals. Breakfast is a buffet style, with eggs, ham,bacon,cheeses, other bread products, and all other types of juices and coffee
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We saw other rooms and some were small and had no balcony, since we had a travel package our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, BC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Overall my experience at this hotel was quite good. It's in a fantastic setting and the hotel fits right in. Unfortunately my stay at this establishment was part of a larger pre-paid package so I cannot comment on the value. I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and attentive. They seemed eager to please. The room got quite warm during the hot weather in July so I opened the windows at night which allowed for a lot of outside street noise to enter the room and wake me up. I had a nice dinner with a group of 15 people at their restaurant which I understand is Michelin rated. I have to say I was a little disappointed with the restaurant because I was expecting more. The dinner and service was *good* but not excellent. They had at least 4 servers attending to our group but I found them to be a little slow, made a few surprising mistakes, and forgot a few things. The food itself was, again, *good* but it did not *wow* me like many other restaurants in France have.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepFrozenCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here as 2 couples for 5 days. We had paid for parking in advance so we pulled up outside to be directed. On entry to reception we were greeted like returning friends. Our bags were off loaded and taken to our rooms whilst we parked the car. We were escorted to our room and offered a tour of the facilities.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, had a mountain view with a balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom has a shower over the bath and a separate room for the WC. There was adequate storage with a safe in the closet. The only negative was the lack of mini-bar or refrigeration. However, this was in our room, the village view rooms were fully equipped. Regardless, the staff are more than happy to assist your every need.

Salva was even attentive enough to wear an All Blacks Rugby Shirt after wearing an Aussie shirt the previous day ;-)

The laundry service is excellent, fill the bag as it's the best deal. If you choose to rinse out any items yourself the lovely housekeeper will dry them free of charge.
The hotel got reasonably full towards the weekend, but this did not affect the noise level or quality of service in any way.

Breakfast is basic but plentiful, with the offer of freshly squeezed orange juice on arrival. I did not eat in their Michelin star restaurant, but my friends enjoyed the meal and sommelier's knowledge and service.

Sun bathing in the gardens or jumping in the pool or the hot tub at the end of the day is highly recommended. It also has a tiny fitness room for those so inclined, but this is Les Deux Alpes and the outdoors is to be enjoyed.

I can highly recommend getting a massage from Sophie - Exceptional!!

In closing I must emphasise the excellent quality of the service. Every staff member that we encountered was attentive and genuinely happy to help. A very special mention must go to Angelique, she was always smiling and no problem too small or large for her to deal with. She is an absolute gem an asset!

We look forward to returning to Chalet Mounier on our next trip.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra (€15) for a mountain view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I spend one week of every month in a ski resort in the Alps, mainly in France and Switzerland. Although I was not happy with the large number of blue and green pistes in Les Deux Alpes I had decided to try the red and black pistes of the area and spent a week in this resort. Despite the bad weather conditions and limited days of fine skiing this hotel made my presence in Les Deux Alpes memorable. Here are the positive parts of the hotel:
1. Professional, friendly and helpful staff, especially Mrs Priscilla's and Mrs Cristel's attention to every detail at the front desk.
2. Mr Mounier's gesture and personal care to every customer. You can meet him when driving the shuttle car or serving drinks at the bar or replying your questions at the reception desk.
3.The authentic decoration of the hotel including the rooms.
4. Comfortable rooms with loads of amenities. Proper daily cleaning, outstanding housekeeping and full attention to customer needs.
5. Quality entertainment facilities including piano and guitar sessions performed by professional musicians at the lobby on specific evenings of the week.
Here are the negative points of the hotel:
1. The location is not perfect but whenever needed the shuttle car is at your service, even sometimes drawn by Mr Mounier.
2. The breakfast should be improved.

As I'm the owner of a tour operating company in the UK I can evaluate the hotels from a different point of view and I honestly believe that Chalet Mounier is the correct place to stay in Les Deux Alpes.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.8 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#5 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#16 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cairn Hotel
Le Cairn Hotel
#21 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#19 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Mounier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Mounier

Property: Hotel Chalet Mounier
Address: 2 rue de la Chapelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chalet Mounier 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surplombant l'Alpe de Venosc, à 150 mètres du téléphérique du Diable, le Chalet Mounier dispose d'une piscine couverte et d'un Spa.Chaque chambre dispose d'une télévision satellite à écran plat, d'une salle de bains avec toilettes séparées, peignoir et pantoufles.Une grande variété de cocktails vous seront servis au bar et le restaurant vous propose une cuisine gastronomique et 800 vins. L'hôtel possède également un salon avec cheminée, un jardin et une terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chalet Mounier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing