We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic room and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic room and staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went skiing here in the summer on the Glacier and stayed at Chalet Mounier. The staff were incredibly helpful, organising rental gear, ski lessons and passes for us. They also dropped us off and picked us up from the ski lifts. The room was fantastic and clean, the facilities were just as good and the restaurant was amazing (the Michelin star restaurant was also mind-blowing). We had a really fantastic time, would definitely like to go again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have less noise from the restaurant below, we could hear a lot because we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    53
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
128
141
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone: The hotel is beautiful and benefits from great facilities; The staff are personable, attentive and professional; and the owner (perhaps the busiest man of the planet) couldn't have been more welcoming.

We visited over the Summer but have every intention on returning for ski season 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our stay was awesome. The staff are friendly yet very discreet. Rooms are nice and calm. Food was excellent especially it's 1 star Michelin restaurant.
Owner is always there to help serve and cheer his guests.
We will come back for sure !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a week with two children aged 10 and 12. Staff were so friendly and accommodating and nothing seemed too much trouble fir them. A very friendly and efficient shuttle service was available on demand, and we used it frequently! Everyone - from reception, bar staff, restaurant staff and room staff - was extremely helpful and eager to help and always with a smile.

The rooms were bright, airy and spacious with lots of storage (often lacking in ski resorts). The lounge by the bar is outstanding - so many quirks and comforts; we loved sitting there. It is so well laid out, so inviting, that it really BEGS you to sit a while and use it, which we did. Breakfast was lovely too, a mix of cooked (buffet of sausage, bacon and scrambled egg) and continental cheeses, meats and bread.

VERY minor negatives: Pool was too small to swim in really, and although you are provided with a code, having to re-log in each time you need to use wifi is a nuisance and we continually lost our pieces of paper with the code. Evening food was clearly for the adult palate, and excellent for that. There was no Children's menu, which some may consider a good thing but we felt this was wasteful as our children simply left the majority of food on their plate and ate only bread. Also, they too work hard each day and need a good meal just as adults do. If you remember, a limited option of different food for children in the evening may be ordered at breakfast time but it's clear that you are getting special treatment in being offered this (otherwise there would be written options available to view and select from). We felt the rooms were too warm at night but couldn't see how to monitor this other than opening a window - a wasteful and expensive way (for the hotel) of cooling down the room.

There is a lovely area behind the hotel where the children played and built snowmen while we had coffee on the patio - blissfully relaxing. We didn't do children's activities so can't comment on that. Rooms were made up very quickly in the morning, often by the time we had returned from breakfast, which was great.

All in all, this is an excellent place to stay. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and want to return to Les Deux Alpes purely for this hotel.. Thank you to all the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 401Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to stay at Chalet Mounier, and found it to be as consistently excellent as ever. The hotel is a very well run family business, with a great team of staff giving a very high level of personal service to guests. The rooms are very comfortable, and like the whole hotel spotlessly clean. The restaurant half board it outstanding, with superb evening meals, a fantastic wine list (which is almost too heavy to lift it is so comprehensive !), and a great breakfast.
The skier support is wonderful, with heated boot racks, and the ever happy team on call to run you to the central lifts in the bus. The closer Diable lift is a 5 to 8 minute walk in ski boots, or a 2 minute ride in the hotel bus.
We find it very hard to beat across other resorts in France, and look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collinpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned form a 6 night stay in Chalet Mounier. It was outstanding. A lovely family run hotel with very personal service. Everyone was friendly and helpful- nothing was any trouble
The set meal at dinner was simply wonderful- incredible quality for half board. It is apparently the same chef who looks after their Michelin starred restaurant and it shows.
I would highly recommend this hotel- top rate..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have a great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAEBRMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Chalet Mounier not knowing the resort at all and we are so pleased we did. The hotel is well placed for the slopes and about a 10-15 minute walk to the liveliest part of town although there are good bars and restaurants nearer.

We decide to treat ourselves to a Deluxe Suite which was very impressive. We were on room only basis as we wanted to check out the local eateries (which are all amazing by the way but this is not a cheap resort). However on the first night we did eat in the hotel restaurant and were blown away. We're both big foodies and agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever had (it's €35 each and a set menu so ideal if you're not too fussy although they will try to accommodate if you don't like something). The sommelier bought us the largest wine list I've ever seen and the wine we had was the best red I've ever had (€70 chateuneuf de pape but the prices started around €40 a bottle).

The staff throughout our stay were faultless and couldn't do enough for you. The spa was a bonus although the small pool was a little chilly as was the jacuzzi which was disappointing and one afternoon both the sauna and the jacuzzi weren't working which was a pain when you've been on the slopes all day. I had a massage after my first day skiing which was excellent and not ridiculously pricey at €49 for half hour.

Also definitely eat at the restaurant across the road from the hotel's front door because it was amazing food and very friendly staff.

Finally do take advantage of the hotel shuttle bus but there's also a free bus circulating the resort (hotel is no.10 bus stop) but it's stops about 7pm.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jugson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.1 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#7 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#5 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#15 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Mounier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Mounier

Property: Hotel Chalet Mounier
Address: 2 rue de la Chapelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chalet Mounier 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surplombant l'Alpe de Venosc, à 150 mètres du téléphérique du Diable, le Chalet Mounier dispose d'une piscine couverte et d'un Spa.Chaque chambre dispose d'une télévision satellite à écran plat, d'une salle de bains avec toilettes séparées, peignoir et pantoufles.Une grande variété de cocktails vous seront servis au bar et le restaurant vous propose une cuisine gastronomique et 800 vins. L'hôtel possède également un salon avec cheminée, un jardin et une terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chalet Mounier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing