We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serre Palas Hotel”
Review of Serre Palas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serre Palas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived on Saturday, having booked a late ski deal through Travel Zoo. Was a bit apprehensive as it was 2*, but there was nothing to worry about as the hotel is great basic but clean, breakfast is good, lots of carbs which is just what you need when you're hitting the slopes. We have a room for four which is spacious with plenty of storage and you get your own ski locker downstairs.

The staff are really nice and friendly and helpful with any queries you may have. The hotel is central to all amenities in town including the ski lifts. There are loads of bars and restaurants in town all quite Sammy, it can be expensive for quite a basic meal, but they have a captive market! I can highly recommend ale Cellier restaurant, friendly staff, amazing food and they serve massive portions. They have an amazing log fire which really sets the scene.

I'd highly recommend the hotel and the resort.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the alps - amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went for a week with my boyfriend. We were lucky enough to get a four person room with a balcony. Having the balcony was great it made all the difference being able to chill out side after a long days skiing. The rooms like any ski resort rooms had the basics but that's all you need. The rooms were really clean. They included towels even though I tools extra. There is no kettle or tea making facility's in your room, or no access to the kitchen. So can't stay in for dinner unless you go and get food from else were. Although the lady that runs the place makes the best croissants for you in the morning and all the other staff are very polite and friendly always saying hello or goodbye every time you enter or leave. Breakfast between 7:30 -10:30 so great if your an early bird or want a lay in. There's fruit and cereal, jam and cheese. Hot chocolate coffee and tea all available. The situation in the town was great, there's really good restaurants near by or a cute take away pizza shop for when you just want to stay in. There is also a bowling alley right opposite that let you order food in which is great fun for anyone. There's a spar opposite too which is open till 8ish so great if you want to pop in for after ski snacks or drinks. Nelson do a bar crawl and they end up at a place called Smithys which is also close by so it's not a very Long cold walk home. In the day it also does tex me kind of food. There is everything you would want in the town and Serre Palas is a great place to stay I would definitely recommend it to anyone at all ages and in all groups.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancescaHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here through nielson ski.
Can say enough good things about the hotel.
Our room is a twin I am sharing with my son. We have a bathroom with shower . We are B&B the breakfast is nice Hot drinks OJ Croissants baguettes cereal ham and cheese yoghurt and fruit.
Friendly faces from everyone. Our room is cleaned for us everyday vey unexpected and a nice touch .
We are a 5-6 min walk from the Diable lift and 8-10 min walk from the venosc chair lift . One more skiing the we are off home . Our hotel has made our stay here a gray holiday and will come back :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreebsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel over xmas
It has a very good location, close to everything yet not in a noisy area
we had a street facing room but it was relatively calm - the double glazing is good
the room were warm
there was a bathtub - a + after a long ski day
it is a 2star but i would easily give it a 3*
the only missing thing is a lift but there is a good storage room at ground floor for skiis and other stuff
breakfast could be improved

Room Tip: We had a triple room tho we booked a double which was nice coz it was spacious. Though it was street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Serre Palas, also with my sister and her partner. The hotel is a lovely little traditional ski lodge (very kitsch, we loved it!) in a convenient location for the slopes and the town - just a 5 minute walk to the tour operator's preferred ski hire shop and the main lifts and next door to a Spar supermarket. The service provided by the owner and staff was excellent - a lovely continental breakfast was served every morning featuring fresh croissants and bread as well as fruit and cereal - and the hotel owner thoughtfully supplied gluten and dairy-free items to cater to the dietary requirements of some of our party. The hotel was always immaculately clean and bedrooms serviced to a high standard. Overall, exceptionally good value for money - we would happily stay again if visiting L2A.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What can we say about this hotel other than it was excellent value for money and everything that we needed for our holiday. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating (even getting a breakfast serving in before our 05:15AM airport transfer on the last day). The hotel itself is situated close to the Diable lift but also has a bus stop for the free village shuttle bus literally 30 seconds walk away. Further to this there is a Spar convenience store and 3 or 4 excellent restaurants just on the door step. Overall a fantastic facility and one that I would be happy to recommend to anyone looking to do L2A on a modest budget.

Room Tip: If you can then avoid the rooms next to the stairs. The noise wasn't unbearable but it was defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent the last week in March at Hotel Serre Palas (booked through Neilson) and really enjoyed our stay at this small, simple but very pleasant hotel. We have 3 older teenage children/young adults who shared a room which was adequate enough but we paid slightly more for a room with a balcony (Room 20) which was like a small apartment with a separate twin room (used as a dressing room/hot room) and a double room with a balcony. The hotel was simple but provided everything we needed including a lovely breakfast with fresh croissants and french bread, fruit, ham and cheese - in fact the hotel seemed to smell constantly of freshly baked croissants! The bathroom lacked amenities such as shower gel so you need to bring shampoo etc and the towels were a little small and worn but adequate and changed daily. We kept our meals in the resort quite simple but had a lovely meal in Le Cellier (Raclette) which had a nice mountain/french atmosphere, we had a pizza at L' Etable which was a small cozy restaurant and had Tex/Mex in Smithys (huge burger meals). We hired our ski equipement from the ski shop at Hotel Albourg - the Neilson Hotel (5 min walk) and as they let you keep the skis/boots there we used this as a base to ski from using the button lift to either ski along to the diable or the white eggs. They provided such an efficient and friendly service that we didn't bother storing the equipment at the hotel even though the Diable was only a few minutes walk away and very convenient. From the top of the Diable you can ski down to La Crete and ski across to the other chairs to access the rest of the mountain. We really liked the relaxed feel of the hotel, the helpful staff and the location which was quieter and prettier than further along into the resort but still very convenient being near to the restaurants, bars and a small supermarket for room snacks/drinks. It is worth taking a walk behind the hotel to see how near you are to the edge of the cliff! Really enjoyed the lay back feel of L2A and Hotel Serre Palas.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying more for a room with a balcony. Room 20 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VanessaRochesterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cote Brune
Hotel Cote Brune
#7 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serre Palas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serre Palas Hotel

Address: 13 Place de Venosc, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Les 2 Alpes ski resort. A homely and warm atmosphere. The charm and the hospitality of a family run hotel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing