We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Les-Deux Alpes
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Club med has got everything you would want and need. Having built plenty of ski holidays before by sorting all the elements myself, this was both an easier option and cheaper in the long run.

Rooms were fairly small but only slept in there as there was plenty to do elsewhere!

Food and drink was great. The ESF ski/board lessons that were included were excellent, 2.5 hours in the morning and 2.5 hours in the afternoon would have cost a fortune if organised separately. Wouldn’t have normally taken lessons, but thoroughly glad I did, met some great people and genuinely improved.

One of our group had a bad accident and the staff were excellent in handling lots of the logistics with the ski-patrol, hospital and arranged for him to get sent home. Very impressed with their above-and-beyond service.

Looking to visit various ski resorts but would definitely recommend and will return one day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Club Med Les-Deux Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I should imagine that Club Med is a "marmite" experience. Some people will love it and some will hate it. Service is generally excellent, with luggage delivered to door and ski room. Rooms are generally small, but big enough. We had two adjoining rooms, with kids in one room and us in the other. The food was great; too good, really because you can end-up putting on a lot of weight. The drinks were good too, and all included. Boot room was a bit small for the number of guests and it was all a bit mad first thing in the morning. Skiing lessons were excellent. Entertainment was barking mad, but great fun if you took it in the right spirit. You can feel a bit institutionalised after a week - the hotel is in a bit of the resort that is a little remote from the main resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ToddyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our first Club Med experience, and we were very very impressed. We spent seven days (7-14 April 2013). The organisation was outstanding, suitcases delivered to your room, skis to ski room. In-house ski + boot hire for the children. The initial welcome by all the staff was warm and pleasant, they were all lined up and clapped you into the hotel, sat you down, offered drinks, then introduced themselves to you then straight into lunch.

Rooms were a little small but more than adequate with an ensuite shower room which were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Flat screen TV in every room with some english channels (Sky news, BBC news, and a couple of film channels either in english or with english subtitles).

The ski-school organisation was impressive, you meet just outside the hotel and there is a short walk up two flights of stairs and a walkway to the chairlift (100 yards max). You can also ski back to bottom of this chair-lift via an easy black run or you can take the easier flat green run which I found more difficult and demanding as it was a narrow path with very little room to turn and you were held up by slower skiers with no room to overtake.........take the black run it is easier and quicker.

This is an all-inclusive hotel with lunch being provided each day. You will need to be disciplined if you come back for lunch as it is very tempting to eat loads, drink alcohol, and not feel like putting your boots on and going out again, especially if the sun is shinning.....you have been warned!!!!
We stayed out most days and snacked on the slopes which was not too expensive and was a change from eating at the hotel.

There was a public swimming pool (both indoor and outdoo)r near the chair-lift which cost 5 euros and was used by the children used everyday. There were also two squash courts just incase you had not pushed yourself too far on the piste!!!!.......I never saw anyone playing squash.

There was live entertainment provided every evening which was good and enjoyed by all.

Saving the best to last.............the food!!...........buffet style, which was plentiful with a different theme every evening. There was a child bar for the children and teenagers with all the usual favourites.You could eat as much as you wanted so watch your waist-line and credit should be given to the catering staff as they did an outstanding job, believe me I have stayed in hotels and chalets for twenty years and nothing comes close to the standard and variety of food provided by this hotel. Hot and cold snacks were also available in the bar at various times throughout the day so you and the children will never go hungry.

Finally, this was very much a family hotel, lots of children, families etc, not too sure that it would suit adults only, but there again the bar area is huge and if you cannot put up with the noise, you can always find a quiet place to sit and drink.........or do what we did one evening walk to a local bar to watch champions league football.............yes!!............enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cgnsw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Les Deux Alpes is one of the few Club Med ski resorts that is high enough to have snow in Easter as there is a glaciar and that has a Kids Club.
Overall you get what you buy with Club Med but the children love it. The rooms are small but function well and storage is enough and the shower rooms are quite new. I loved the views of the Alps from the dining room, the bar and terrace and if the weather is nice you can have lunch outside.
Pros: ESF ski school morning and afternoon, great choice of food, Kids club that put ski boots and suncream to children and take care of them all day long, after ski tea time, Nespresso coffee available at all times and views. Great atmosphere
Cons: small boot room and very crowded, evening shows were poor even though the crazy signs were good, no wifi (Euro 20 for the stay), you only ski 6 days as per the Med policy or you need to buy an extra day if flights allow, charter flight times are very bad, Kids club was merged as one for all ages as there were fewer children, so they were not divided by ages.

Would definitely return with children and the formula is very convenient, everything is organised for you from the moment you get to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor interconnecting rooms to avoid noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45antifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Went here for a week on 16/03/13. We were in a group of 8 friends/couples.

Rooms were small but very clean and plenty of storage. 2 of our rooms had twin beds and 2 also came with a spare bed. There is hardly any floor space but everything you need. Shower was lovely and rooms cleaned everyday to a high standard.

We have been with club med before (les arcs) but the food and drink here could not be faulted. Beer on tap, good wine and a choice of cocktails, mojito, Cosmo, piña colada etc. even included amaretto and baileys. The bar/ disco area is large and spacious with numerous different areas to sit. It appears to be recently modernised. The only down side was on some evenings children running around, playing hide and seek between the tables. Perhaps would have been good to have a children's area or parents who didn't let them jump on the furniture.

Food was amazing, had everything from fillet beef, duck, pork, ribs, mussels, frogs legs, salmon, prawns, crab, lobster.
Lunch was equally as good. Plenty of soups, salads, burgers, pizza, pasta as well as the more traditional French dishes.
Breakfast again could not be faulted, all styles of eggs, omelette, pancakes, cereals, pastries, breads and cheese.
And deserts all week were exceptional!
Freshly made crepes each afternoon and I would highly recommend the hot chocolate.

The hotel is not quite ski in/ski out. From the boot room you have to take a flight of stairs upto the level with the shops and then a walk through the snow up a short path, 15 metres or so which takes you to the bottom of the village chair lift.
A few in our group did ski school as beginners and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The ski area is large and plently of areas to explore even for more advanced skiers. Did not get bored at all.
To get back to the hotel at the bottom of the chair lift is more tricky. There are two options, a very long windy green run which we did not even attempt as it was busy with lots of ski school groups and children. The other option is the back run which was fine for the more experienced skier. Everyone else in between took the chair lift down and by the end of the week it looked like a common choice especially on tired legs.

The staff in the hotel were all so friendly and energetic. They were also very helpful and even lined the road to wave us off at 6am on the last day.

The only other thing to add is that wifi cost 20€ for the week. This gives You a log in and password which can be used on upto 4 devices and despite what they say did work on iPads/iPhones.
The bus stop to the village and other gondolas/other side of the resort is directly outside he hotel. It is free, runs every 15 mins until about 7pm and is very easy to use.

Would defiantly recommend and would definitely return!! Excellent week, fabulous food and lovely hotel. Well done to Nadia the chef de village!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danifoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our second Club Med holiday - this hotel is much more modern than the one in Les Arcs (Arc Extreme). Yes rooms are small but very well laid out with plenty of storage space, comfy beds and a large shower with drying line. Some rooms feature a 3rd bed (for child) but we had an adult on it since we mixed our rooms up. Walls are paper thin. We had 4 rooms and each of them interconnected with one other - we didn't request this but it did prove to be handy. Our bags on arrival were delivered to our rooms. The lounge area is very big and plenty of places to go and play cards if you prefer to avoid the cabaret style entertainment. Each afternoon they serve crepes when you come off the mountain around 4pm. Then there is a jazz band. Then after dinner there is some kind of show or limbo contest. Then after that is the 'nightclub' where basically they clear some chairs away to reveal a dancefloor and then play the same tracks each night, beginning with choreographed dances including gangnam style! The hotel is a good trek from the centre of the resort, but with a fully stocked bar there is little need to venture out. If you do want to venture out there are a couple of bars a few minutes walk away by the chair lift up to the slopes. The hotel bar has plenty to offer and the cocktails are great. The food was incredible in variety, and waiting staff very attentive- clearing plates and offering wine etc. Intersport ski hire is just opposite if you want a cheaper option to the expensive Club Med hire. However the Club Med kit was very nice and new, unlike that of Intersport. Also opposite is a reasonably priced indoor and outdoor pool and spa. Men are only allowed in wearing speedos or tight swim shorts and they seem to like denying the british men entry - the French were allowed in wearing boxer trunks. The bus stop next to the hotel is good to take you into town if you want to catch a different lift/gondola in the morning, or indeed to ski the smaller side of the resort. It isn't ski-in/ski-out. There is a walk to the lift in the morning, which is fairly short but there are lots of steps. To get back you have to take a very long, narrow, busy and windey green track, or a black. We took the black as it was very wide and we had decent snow. Beginners and those in lessons often take the chair lift back down. Staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful. Negatives: 20 Euros for a week of Wi-fi (for up to 4 devices). To do a load of washing and drying costs 8 Euros in the hotel. The boot room is quite cramped and busy. All in all a great stay and all of our group of 8 would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 3rd bed (childs bed) if you have a mixed group and uneven males/females...it s...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BearSusieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Had a great week with Club Med in les deux alpes. Had one of the larger rooms on the 8th floor overlooking the valley - really good view and a very comfortable room.
Staff in the hotel were all great, Fanny, Alexandre and India all get special thanks.. Nadia the boss is one of the most involved and attentive hotel managers I have ever come across, always with a cheerful hello.
Very good selection of food though perhaps a couple of the beef dishes may have been let down by using cheaper cuts of meat, but really nothing one could complain about.
Good mix of evening entertainment with Nadia involved in a few roles.
Very enjoyable week. Only negative point, no brandy available for the after dinner coffee.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASG-Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#16 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#4 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cote Brune
Hotel Cote Brune
#7 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Les-Deux Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Les-Deux Alpes

Address: ZAC Le Clos des Fonds, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: £261 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Les-Deux Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the mountainside, beneath the sun of the Southern Alps, shelters this beautiful renovated Club Med Village : a cascade of rooftops nestling in the powder. Les Deux-Alpes invites snow-sports aficionados to launch themselves into an exceptional ski domain, overlooked by the Meije glacier, a true emblem of this region. By night, the terrace looks down over the resort, creating a cozy retreat where you can chat about your exploits and your progress during the day around an open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Les-Deux Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Les-Deux Alpes Hotel Les Deux-Alpes
Les Deux-Alpes Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing