We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Le Cret

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Cret
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you are expecting 5 star luxury then this is not the place for you, Le Cret is 2 star. What it is though is a clean, functional, excellently located place to rest your head whilst you hit the slopes of L2A.

Rooms are basic but at a price which is on par with small self catered studios, this is a no brainer. I stayed for a week and had no issues with the heat of the room, plenty warm enough with extra blankets if required and a electric radiator too. The showers were always hot no matter what the time of day.

The breakfast alone is worth the stay with a good choice of continental fayre, cereal, cold meats and cheese, bread and toast plus lots of freshly brewed coffee and if you are up early enough croissants or pain au chocolat.

The hotel itself is about 5 mins walk from the Jandri gondola and centrally located for all the bars and restaurants. Would I stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 70'sThrowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    43
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect if your looking for basic and central, with good value, we enjoyed our stay here and found the rooms to be fine, although a little basic, it was some times cold though, on the first day at breakfast we needed to keep our ski gear on to have breakfast! In our room was an electric additional heater which helped keep our room up to temp.

All in all worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Background:- We are a group of 7 adults that ski together every year we try and find good accommodation at reasonable prices to suit the needs of the whole group i.e price, location etc.

Booking experience :- The owners were very accommodating whilst I was trying to organise the trip with a couple of people pulling out last minute, Emma could not have done enough to help me, even organising invoices for insurance companies etc.

The accommodation :- The group found Hotel Le Cret very clean, tidy and the rooms were as expected for this class of accommodation. Yes the rooms are small but there was also enough wardrobe space for 2 people, we all had on-suite bathrooms, they and the rooms cleaned every day to a high standard. The location of the hotel is a five minute walk to the nearest lift and approximately 7 mins to the main lift in the centre of town. The Hotel is located near to some lively bars and the Secret bar under the Hotel is very good not to loud yet not to quiet.

Meals:- Breakfast was as expected, continental and cereals with the option some days for scrambled egg. Afternoon Tea again was very good with home made cakes, tea etc. The evening meal, this is where we were let down! The starter's and soup were good, as was the sweet and the selection of wines. The main course was a great disappointment for 3 days, it can only be described as worse than school dinners. Some of us sat down with manager after day 3 and told her of our frustration and it was taken onboard and she admitted that they did have a problem with the Chef and would be rectifying the problem from that point forward. The manager kept her word and there was a vast improvement in the main meal and on the last night we had some of the best sirloin steak i have tasted. Taking all this into consideration I would stay here again and I believe the Chef was only there for the beginning of the season and has now moved on as they don't cater for evening meals again until Feb half term weeks. Alec

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed as a group in January 2013, and we were impressed with the cleanliness and general state of the Hotel and the rooms. They were clean, tidy and the whole hotel was well presented. The rooms were typically small with no TV's. However, there was a problem with the Chef. Offering evening meals for a limited period primarily over Christmas/New Year and Easter, the Chef was not presenting acceptable main courses. This spoilt what was overall a great holiday and stay. The bar below the hotel was great, offering a great curry for about 13.50 euro's. Located in the centre of the resort, it is well placed. Overall a great hotel spoilt by staff problems.

Room Tip: Choice one away from the road and the noisy 'Polar Bear bar' at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowserUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is in the dead centre of town so brilliant location. Fair size rooms and a bar below. Staff were friendly and keen to help. Great food and a really good holiday. Stayed here two years in a row we liked it that much.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie-Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at this fine establishment. The rooms were a good size, bright and clean. The owner was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good too. So much to do in Les Deux Alp in the summer apart from glacier skiing! I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a great place to stay and I suspect in the winter when it is buzzing with people it will be a fairly lively location too, close to the slopes and on the main shopping street too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Count_colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Great value hotel. Stayed here before La Marmotte cycle ride. Rooms are basic but clean and spacious enough with great views. Staff are friendly and helpful. Secure room for bikes/skis. Lovely little dog in reception. More than adequate breakfast. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanubles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Aalborg Hotel
Aalborg Hotel
#10 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#5 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#8 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brunerie Hotel
Brunerie Hotel
#11 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cret

Property: Hotel Le Cret
Address: 95 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#8 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cret 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Summer* Hotel Le Cret is an Italian family owned and run hotel in the centre of Les Deux Alpes. The half board package includes continental breakfast, afternoon tea, 3 course meal prepared by our Italian chef including house wine. The hotel has been fully refurbished over the last 10 years, it is bright and modern. All the bedrooms are en-suite and have new double glazed windows, and most have south facing balconies. *Winter* During the winter months, Hotel Le Cret is run by Neilson Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cret Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing