We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was pretty grubby and tatty, pay for better if you can”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel was pretty grubby and tatty, pay for better if you can”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the Christiana in August 2011 for a summer family holiday with Alpine Elements. Although it was well located, I was disappointed with the hotel - even though we knew it was only 2* I expected it to be a bit better than it was. Our double room was tiny with almost no storage space and only a very tatty old table to put things on. The bathroom was ok though the toilet seat was broken. When we moved a small chest in the kids room to look for something we were horrified by the filth underneath - a season's worth of dirty tissues, dust, even old socks. The Alpine Elements staff were friendly but not very helpful as they didn't seem to know much about the resort and were unable to answer queries and did not offer to help us find out the answers. Overall I wouldn't come back to the Christiana but I would revisit Les Gets which was lovely. I would pay a bit more for a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windymillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripchristiania, Owner at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
I was so saddened to read your recent review on our lovely hotel . We have for a number of years now let our hotel during the summer months to an Activity operator and sadly they do not have the same attention to detail nor indeed the same levels of comfort and high levels of cuisine that we are so proud of over the winter months. Our small doubles are described as such on our web-site and the 40 euros per day discount on these rooms is much appreciated by our regular visitors. I do apologise for the lack of general maintenance by our tennants and for their appauling standard of dusting and cleaning during your visit . I am pleased to say that the majority of reviews here on Tripadvisor better reflect the standard of our hotel that that which you experienced during your stay. If you can travel at short notice and are a skier I would be happy to to welcome you to the hotel as our guest for a day or two to allow you to enjoy the Hotel Christiania as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    71
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just retured from an Alpine Elements package holiday staying at Hotel Christiania in Les Gets, France. We stayed in room 19 which is a great size for 3 people with a massive balcony overlooking the slope and pool. The room was of a 2 star standard but we didn't need to spend much time in there! The staff were fantastic, always smiling and happy to help. The kitchen staff made the most wonderful 3 course meals every night and catered for any dietry requirements needed. Bikes were included for 3 days and we stuck to the cross country routes as the downhill was extreme. The white water rafting was also great. Altogether a great family holiday. Resort could not be faulted and we would love to go back and see it in the snow. France just expensive to eat and drink out.

Room Tip: Room 19 smallish but was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Christiania with Alpine Elements. The hotel itself is in need of a bit of sprucing up, it is a little ragged round the edges and the rooms are really quite small, which was disappointing. There were other issues like the downstairs general loo was Out of Order all week (being opposite our room this meant my husband got up in the night to stop the constant flow) and the plumbing was a little slow to drain. Rooms 2 and 3, which were the ones we had, were next to the kitchen, opposite the bar and looking onto the pool - all this meant that they were quite noisy and, as we specifically requested quiet rooms because we had children, this was irritating from the off. However, this could be an issue with booking by Alpine Elements and Emily, the chalet manager, apologised and was a little surprised that kids were in these rooms as they suggested they should not be put into them. Also the beds were the most uncomfortable I have ever tried to sleep in, like sleeping on a pebble beach.
However, on the positive side, the atmosphere in the Hotel was good and the staff were friendly and made everyone feel very welcome. The Kids' Club staff were great and they really tried to give the kids great things to do. The Hotel is right in the centre of Les Gets and close to everything you would need in the town. The food was very good and I do thank the chef for adapting as best he could to my rather difficult needs.
Generally, however, more information could have been provided to those that didn't want to or couldn't fling themselves down the mountin on a bike. It took us some time and effort (as well as some frustration) to find out simple things such as exactly where the bus stop was in Les Gets, when the ice ring opened and how much it was, what the multipass actually covered, where the less steep bike routes were, what younger kids could actually do on their bikes and good walking routes. This type of simple information would enable people to make more use of the week, it took us more than 2 days to sort things out.
However, we did go on the 4 hour walk with James and found that a really good experience.
The real bonus is Les Gets is in a stunning area, fantastic views and we had great weather.
My kids said the food was really good, the hotel was ok but it was very noisy in their room.
The outdoor pool was a great bonus in the stunningly hot weather we had.
I would like to add though that when I booked an operative called Gary said that he had been to the same hotel and that there was sailing and windsurfing at the lake there as well, which made it a good choice over Tignes (the resort we were considering). He went into great detail about a platform in the lake to swim out to and everything. In fact, none of this sort of activity was available on the lake, which was actually more like a pond and this made it very different to the holiday we thought we had booked. So be aware, in the summer, if you don't want to downhill mountain bike you have to work to do a lot of the activities advertised by Alpine Elements. We were really quite disappointed by this and thus would give Alpine Elements a low score as a company. My husband felt we were 'sold a pup' and it was hard to argue that.

Room Tip: Don't have rooms 2 or 3 and room 1 would probably also be similarly noisy. Particularly bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripchristiania, Owner at Hotel Christiania, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback on our hotel . We let our hotel to an activity operator over the summer months and it is most regrettable that it took them so long to effect a repair to the downstairs toilet.

We do accept that some of rooms are small however in winter we create a very warm , friendly and cosy environment for our guests in the main areas of the hotel which compensates somewhat for the size of the bedrooms. Our occitaine toiletries are enjoyed in winter by all our guests

Rooms 2 & 3 are twins with Bath & wc and in winter we ensure that there are no noise issue on t he ground Floor. Kitchen and Bar activity is strictly controlled to ensure that guests enjoy a peaceful stay with us.

Your feedback on the uncomfortable beds will be looked into immediately and mattresses changed.

Although only a 2 star hotel we confidently deliver to a much higher level over the winter months with a completely different feel . Soft furnishings are added , Xmas lights abound. Choice of meals in the restaurant. Amuse bouche or canape served each evening and an 80 bin wine list all help to set an extremely high standard of cuisine and service.

Perhaps you might like to visit for a skiing holiday one day .

So sorry to learn that you felt misled this summer . The majority of reviews on Tripadvisor better reflect the Hotel Chrsitiania I can assure you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Myself and my 3 friends wanted a action packed mountain biking holiday. Being aged 19- 26 we were also looking for good nightlife, luckily Les Gets offered us all of this.

We stayed at the hotel Christiania with Alpine Elements last week and i have to say that we had a fantastic time. While our room was not as big as we hoped, the staff were amazing. Despite some of them being younger than us, they were fantastic. Our Rep Jessica was helpful and friendly. The Mechanics that looked after our bikes offered to help me with my own bike out of hours (Peter) so that we could be on first lifts for the next day. The general staff, such as Charlotte and Amy were lovely and made our stay fantastic.
We did have an issue with our room, as i mentioned, (due to size) but the managers, (Georgie and Emily) could not go more out of there way to help us!
The food was also of a very good standard, on chef night off, we went to the BBQ organised by the bar staff, which, despite the rain was really a great laugh!

The hotel is in a great location with stepping distance from lifts and the main center, I honestly have to say that i would recommend the Christiania!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I returned to the Christiania and Les Gets late this ski season and by the 2nd week in April Les Gets had closed for the season however the hotel and resort were offering free transfers to Avoriaz where it was possible to ski all day. The food was its usual high standard and the staff were very friendly and efficient in all they did for us. I cannot wait to go back next winter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Great food, friendly staff who are always welcome to help.

Good location to slopes and shops to hire equipment.

Will consider going back for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLochhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel. It has a perfect location, ski to door! The bedrooms are quite small, and could do with sprucing up, but they are nice and clean, which always scores points with me. We could not fault the food, even me as a vegetarian. The staff were very welcoming, and interacted with the children which was nice. We definately plan to return next year.
Les Gets itself is very pretty and quaint. The only downer on our break was the lack of snow, it was disappearing on a daily basis - but thats outside of anyones control.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing