We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff great location”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This small hotel is well worth a visit and though I was travelling alone the other guests and staff made me feel very comfortable. The location is superb with ski lifts so close and the all important hot tub just out the back door. Though my room was a small double it was very clean and comfortable with a view overlooking the beginners slope. Even if you don't ski, the walks and atmosphere around the town are exceptional.
I will diffinetly return.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a small double with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Another great year in Les Gets staying at the Hotel Christiana from 7th - 14th Jan 2012 - great snow cover with access to all areas by ski or board.

This was the annual boys trip - if you like your wine then you'll love Hotel Christiana.

Les Gets is a great destination for skiing with family or friends (I have done both) and Hotel Christiana enjoys one of the best locations in the village situated overlooking the beginners slope, the main access lift and within yards of the centre of the village.

The Christiana (2 star hotel) has built up a regular clientèle of keen skiers whether in parties or family groups who return year after year to enjoy good food with fine wine (half board with tea) and excellent service with easy access for all abilities to the slopes and lifts or for a quick stroll into the village.

The accommodation is basic but clean and all that is required for the keen skier or family looking for affordable access to the ski slopes.

Great hot tub especially with a glass of bubbly.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ground floor - you will be woken by staff preparing breakfast at 7am - no problem if you like to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

just got back from a weeks skiing in les gets staying at the christiana. The hotel is absolutely perfect. if you are a keen skiier the location is by far the best in the village situated 20 feet from the first 6 man chairlift. the food in the hotel considering it is a two star hotel is out of this world with amazing three course meals cooked by a very talented couple of chefs. aswell as cake and tea after a days skiing. the rooms are exactly what you need from a skiing holiday. staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. I have already booked to go back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraser c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is an attractive and comfortable ski hotel with helpful staff and management who are flexible and approachable. There is a lovely, but small, bar area with a roaring fire and great afternoon tea and cakes for when you return from the adjacent slopes. Guests mingle and chat. Restaurant serves excellent and substantial evening meals. Rooms? If this matters, they are on the small size - but then, who goes on a skiing holiday to spend time awake in the bedroom?

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have been coming to this hotel with my family for a number of years and couldn't rate it more highly for a family ski holiday. The hotel is brilliantly located both on the slopes and in the village. Children do not have to walk anywhere with skis - perfect! There is a small playroom, kids tea and staff on hand for babysitting if you need it. Our room was perfect, twin room which you walk through into an adjoining room with bunk beds, and off that a bathroom and separate toilet. The kids room looks out onto the piste and the twin room looks out to the back, again over the piste and to an adjacent apartment block, but has the advantage of being really quiet. The rooms are small, but even with a family of 5 (one in a cot) we had just enough storage space and radiator space for drying ski clothes every night - certainly no smaller than many other chalets/ apartments you might find skiing in France and the water and radiators were always hot when you needed it. The staff were as welcoming as you could hope for and the hotel has a wonderful, friendly feel and the food is far better than the 2 star classification that the hotel carries. The boot room is always heated, so there is no problem with cold wet boots in the morning - but would recommend naming your hire kit, as everyone has the same and children notorious for putting on the wrong boots! I would highly recommend this hotel and will come back again myself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowanMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was our 7th consecutive New Year family skiing holiday at the Hotel Christiania, which I think speaks for itself. The Christiania is brilliantly situated on the piste within half a minute from a baby tow which sets you up for either the Chavanne chairlift or bubble and access to the whole Port de Soleil skiing area, or to the ski school and the town itself. If it is a ski-in, ski-out experience you are looking for - this is it. Our family party comprises 12 people ranging from Grandpa at 78 years old to grandson of 2 years plus an au pair. There is something for everyone and all are catererd for with unfailing attention from the staff at the Christiana. The food is terrific, the atmosphere is intimate, warm and friendly. If it is a quiet, sophisticated ski hotel you are looking for, the Christiana is not for you. If it is a hotel where small children, teenagers, young marrieds, and grandparents can mix happily in a relaxed atmosphere, then this IS for you. The bedrooms are small, but in our alpine experience both here and in America, most skiing resort bedrooms could be bigger. The hotel has a wonderful log fire, plenty of hot water and efficient central heating. After the tows have shut at the end of the day, you can sit with a drink, or tea and home made cake while watching your children sledging down the piste outside the window. There is a good deal with a local ski shop where Christiana guests get a 20% discount and the hotel will collect your ski passes for you so that you don't miss a minute's skiing time. There is usually childcare available during the day if you have little ones, and ski guiding by arrangement. We have always been met at the airport by Christiana staff and transported the hour's journey from Geneva to the hotel by minibus. We have never experienced any transport problems. The proprietor also owns a vineyard, so guests can expect an interesting choice of fine and reasonably priced wines. The Hogmany celebrations have a distinctly Scottish flavour, pipers and reels alternating with the latest disco favourites. Great value for money. What more can I say - we hope to see you there next New Year.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. If you leave booking to the last minute you may just have to settle for wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Awful room and generally the hotel experience ruined what was otherwise a wonderful holiday in Les Gets. The trip started off on a bad note when we arrived at Geneva expecting a private transfer to the hotel only to find that we had to wait over an hour as we had to share the minibus with another family who weren't even going to the same resort. I was annoyed, not because we had to share, but because we had been led to believe we had a private transfer and were not told we would be sharing/waiting. The other family arrived on a separate, later flight hence the long delay of over and hour in the arrivals hall. Our room was billed as a 'family room' which we booked on their recommendation, but it was in the attic with limited head room, very uncomfortable beds and a shower located in a cupboard which I couldn't stand up in. The lounge is small and cramped so you will not get a seat unless you get in very early. The Sauna is in a dank basement room with broken ceiling lights. One of our party got severe food poisoning but we couldn't tell if it was the hotels fault as apparently no one else staying at the hotel got ill. On New Years Eve we had been specifically told by our waitress that our table would be free anytime from 8.30 but when we turned up we found that the owners' family was on our table. We had to wait over 40 minutes for them to finish only to be then told that the kitchen had run out of one of the two main course options which was the one were all going to order! The hotel decor is generally very tired and run down. The public rooms were not very clean. It has obviously not had any investment for some time. My advice would be to pay a bit more for a better quality hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small so be warned. Rooms 1 & 2 on ground floor are by the kitchen, next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P10001000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripchristiania, Owner at Hotel Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Feel that we have a problem here of managing a customers expectations. Personally on hand from the outset during this visit and together with my staff dealt with this guets with consideration care and care and appropriate compensation at the time.
No private transfer had been booked and there was a slight delay of 1 hour at airport before the shared transfer left . Client offered free bottle of house wine as a gesture of goodwil. in the end a 36 euro bottle of Meursault was credited to his account.
We agreed to allow guests to invite family of 4 to join them at the hotel for New Yeras Eve making it clear that they would be required to sit later once a few of the tables from the first guests had been cleared . We gave no specific time and were shocked to receive a frosty and angry approach from these guets within 2 mins of them arriving at the hotel.
We offered the guests Complimentary Champagne and Charcuterie in our fireside lounge whislt we waited for a table to be vacated..
Regrettably on the evening we were very short of Filet of Venison and Filet of Beef was offered as an alternative.
We have a variety of room types in our hotel all of which we believe are' fit for purpose'. We have an ongoing programme of re-furbishment and improvments. No reference was made to their room during their stay.
We would like to wish this client a more succesfull holiday in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#5 of 19 in Les Gets
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#2 of 19 in Les Gets
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#14 of 19 in Les Gets
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#17 of 19 in Les Gets
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#3 of 19 in Les Gets
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 19 in Les Gets
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: £70 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing