We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, superb location”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, superb location”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

In March this year I organised a 4 day boys trip and picked the Christiania. We were all delighted and will be making a return trip in 2013! The hotel is superbly located in the centre of town; 50 yards from the lift, 200 yards from the ski hire and 250 yards from the Black Bear. Derek met us at Geneva and in less than an hour we were signed in. Breakfast is a buffet which allows you to get fuel up and get away pronto. The hotel bar has an open fire and is a convivial spot for pre dinner drinks, supper was always excellent and the atmosphere so good we almost didn't get out into the town. We made use of the two outside hot tubs and appreciated being able to use a shower before our late departure on the Sunday. A huge thumbs up from all of us - I already have a growing list of those who want to visit The Christiania next year.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungOneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    72
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I enjoyed 7 fabulous nights in the Christiania on the last week of the season.

Staff were superb, especially considering they no doubt had a long hard winter which was nearing and end.

The food was of the highest standard. Especially the 4 course meal in the evenings in a great atmosphere.

Good facilities for equipment and two great jacuzzi's to help the legs recover.

I recommend this to anyone looking for a ski holiday of a high standard, with great staff, great facilities and right next to the slopes.

I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

With the great late snow this year we decided to return to the Christiania for the 3rd year in a row. Derek and his team could not have looked after us any better. With the great conditions it was still possible to sky to the door on the last day of the season, when the snow was still falling.
As we booked late we did not have a choice of room and room 14 was a bit on the small side,especially compared to room 15 which we had a look at as we left the hotel but we only used the room to sleep in spending the rest of the time on the mountain or by the fire side at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a lot smaller than room 15, but room 14 does have a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our second trip to Hotel Christiania, and if the last two have been anything to go on, it was the second of many. We love it here. The skiing is wonderful, but the hotel makes the holiday. Its right on the slopes and in the centre of Les Gets, so its really handy for everything in the resort. The atmosphere at the hotel is what makes it so special though and that is down to the work of Derek and his staff. They never stop but are always smiling, which is something that rubs off on us guests. Great to have a choice of a cooked breakfast in the morning, really sets you up for the day, and tea and homemade cake when you get in after a days skiing is really appreciated. The hotel really comes alive in the evening, with everybody in the lounge beforehand having a drink and reminiscing on the days skiing. Its such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere here, that you don't think of yourself as a guest, its more like being a member of an exclusive club. The dinners are excellent, with a great wine list to accompany the five courses. Best experience of this trip - Sitting on the sun terrace in our shorts at the end of a days skiing, with a bottle of wine chilling in the snow beside us. Looking forward to my next trip already!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shintysticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Christiania and we can't thank Derek and the staff enough. We had a fabulous 4 days skiing, the service and food was faultless, and we came away feeling relaxed and recharged. Please don't change anything, we love the availability of rooms for short breaks, the relaxed, put your feet up atmosphere and the great value that you offer. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 23 twice and although small it is comfortable, quiet and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gileshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent two trips here this year. One with my teenage son and the other with a friend. Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere and twith the snow this year was truly ski in and ski out. Great fill you up breakfasts, tea and cake around 4pm blazing log fire and comfy tartan-rugged sofas in the bar area. Evening meal really good and fantastic cheese board each might and great, good value wine list. Rooms are tight on space but adequate given all you do is sleep there and reflect the star rating but the food is more four star than two star. If you want four or five star luxury do not stay here but if you want a great friendly hotel with great background music in the bar - I did not hear the same track in the 6 days I stayed there in total and everyone was great. You feeel really at home here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonChristopher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have been going to Hotel Christiania for the last 8 years and cannot recommend it highly enough. A family owned hotel it offers 4 star food and service at 2 star prices located in an authentic French village. It is located on the piste at Les Gets meaning ski in and ski out. Breakfast offers a choice of hot and cold food every day with lots of delicious pastries and bread. Afternoon tea is also provided when you get back from the slopes and dinner is a 4 course delight with a fantastic selection on the wine list to accompany the great cheese board. More than that, the staff are friendly and welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. A cosy bar and lounge area add to the home from home feel of the place. It is definitely a family oriented hotel with a play room for children and occasionally it can be a wee bit noisy but that is not something that has ever put me off. I would recommend anyone to stay at the hotel whether it be for a weekend or a week. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#13 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Nagano
Le Nagano
#9 of 18 in Les Gets
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing