We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in the village”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in the village”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Its right at the bottom of the piste so after a day's skiing you will be enjoying your afternoon tea and cakes within minutes. Staff are very helpful and pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. It is a very friendly place to stay. The small bar and lounge are very cozy with the log fire and comfy sofas. The icing on the cake is the 5* evening meal. Hard to find food like this in the big cities back home let alone a small hotel in a ski resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    71
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Another ski season - another visit to Hotel Christiana - the rooms maybe 2 stars, but that's where it stops - best location in the village over looking main slopes with ski in ski out - after a series of heavy snow falls in early December the snow conditions were excellent for a pre-season visit and the hotel had put in place a superb chef supported by excellent staff - the food was quite simply as good as gets in the Port Du Soleil area with fine wine to match - good food, fine wine, ski in /out, and perfect snow at an affordable price - what's not to like - this is as good as it gets without breaking the bank.

I return with the family in January and look forward to more of the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Could not fault this hotel . Very relaxed for adults and kids alike. Food was fantastic. Lifts outside the door. Ski in ski out.
Would be back in a flash !!
We were advised by the booking office to take a double with a next door room for the kids... worked ferfecty .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A really good weeks holiday, It has to be said that it was the area that made it and the facilities in the area but the Hotel was good Staff were very good (lacking a bit of direction at times) very obliging, food was good and plentiful.
The hotel itself a little jaded perhaps and could have done with a little better housekeeping.
BUT, the Holiday,Hotel & Staff did what it said on the tin! any complaits would be little niggles.
We would not hessitate to go again.

Ian and Ann

Room Tip: Ours was fine 1st floor rear, can't comment on the others, I think I would avoid the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Christiania for our week's mountain biking and hiking holiday with Alpine Elements. (This review will deal with the hotel accommodation and catering only - and not the Alpine Elements package).

All we wanted from this holiday was a good, convenient base from which to go mountain biking and hiking in Les Portes Du Soleil, with clean, comfortable accommodation and good food, and this hotel pretty much ticked the bill.

The hotel is more like a large chalet and the catering was the same as a skiing chalet holiday. The decor is a little tired and in need of a freshening up, and, well, certainly our bedroom (no 24) was very small, although we did have a balcony. The ensuite looked like it had been updated more recently than the bedroom but, again, was very small and the shower, in particular, was tiny. However, there was more than enough storage space for all of our kit and the balcony proved very useful for getting muddy kit dry on. We also had a TV on which we could watch French coverage of the Tour De France! We slept very well so it must have been comfortable and quiet enough - despite our room facing the street.

The communal areas, again, are a little tired, in the bar/lounge there is not enough seating for all the guests and the sofas/chairs are not particularly comfortable. The swimming pool was nice, but there are only half a dozen or so sunloungers and the one day I wanted to sunbathe, they were all already in use. The hot tubs were great and used every day - even in the rain.

We thought the food was very good, varied and decent sized enough portions. Meal times were consistent and the service was very good. The staff in general were all very helpful and friendly.

The hotel location was fantastic though. Right next to the main Chavanne lift up Les Gets, and just on the edge of the town centre, so everything was in walking/biking distance. The large garage underneath the hotel, where the bikes were kept, was a little chaotic and could have been bettered ordered.

Overall, though, we had a great time and, if you are looking for this kind of holiday and are not too fussy about the hotel being a little tired and the rooms small, then we would recommend it. We have rated it as 'very good' on the strength of the catering, staff and location.

Room Tip: Our room 24 was a double, on the second floor, on the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtaFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Have just been staying at the hotel and had a great holiday. All of the staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. We have to young girls and they loved going to the play room and painting etc. Lot's of really well organised activities. I think the highlight of our week though was the hog roast. Brilliant!! I think I ate half the crackling. Great value for money will be going back again next summer

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

In March this year I organised a 4 day boys trip and picked the Christiania. We were all delighted and will be making a return trip in 2013! The hotel is superbly located in the centre of town; 50 yards from the lift, 200 yards from the ski hire and 250 yards from the Black Bear. Derek met us at Geneva and in less than an hour we were signed in. Breakfast is a buffet which allows you to get fuel up and get away pronto. The hotel bar has an open fire and is a convivial spot for pre dinner drinks, supper was always excellent and the atmosphere so good we almost didn't get out into the town. We made use of the two outside hot tubs and appreciated being able to use a shower before our late departure on the Sunday. A huge thumbs up from all of us - I already have a growing list of those who want to visit The Christiania next year.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungOneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing