We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent food, great service, superb ski in ski out!!!”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent food, great service, superb ski in ski out!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Highly recommended, for all ages. Run like a proper family hotel! The food is that good, there is no need to eat out, and the public and people in other chalets come to the hotel to eat...it is that good.
Management are very approachable. The hotel is great value for money and is so handy and easy for getting to the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    72
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just spent a lovely week at the Hotel Christiania. Lovely homely atmoshpere. Excellent food. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Location excellent, skied into shed where skis kept! Very friendly hotel. Highly reccommend it. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Twin bedrooms are bigger than double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

This is exactly what a ski chalet should be - intimate, friendly and cosy. The evening meals are delicious and the wine is fantastic and reasonable. Everything in Les Gets is within easy walking distance. The lifts are outside the door and the staff is very friendly. The other guests will make a difference since the chalet is so intimate. There were a lot if families so perfect for us.

We did ski lessons with ESF and Derric from the resort. Derric was much better. We also signed up our children with the ESF piou piou and ski lesson. The lessons were good but the child care was not great. I would enquire about child care at the chalet. We rented our equipment from Delavay on-line. They were great - first time I've had rentals that didn't kill my feet.

Overall, great trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kconnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed for five nights and have to say that the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. Always on hand and always very helpful.

The location of the hotel was perfect, we cols ski right back to the ski room, via the hot tub.

We were a group of three and this hotel is excellent for grops and families alike.

Will be revisiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle - upon - tyne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel Christiania is the perfect 2 star hotel for a ski holiday. It knocks the socks off the higher rated hotels in the resort for atmosphere, really excellent food and great staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Derek and the team. The bar has a good atmosphere and their own brand of white wine is simply delicious. The fires and sofas are perfect to end the day,

It is ski in ski out and has a prime central position at the bottom of the slopes. Rooms are a tad small, but who wants to spend time in a room when there so much skiing eating and soicalising to be done?!

I recommend this to families, grops and solo

Room Tip: there are family rooms and the third floor has 2 rooms only if you want you own floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Its right at the bottom of the piste so after a day's skiing you will be enjoying your afternoon tea and cakes within minutes. Staff are very helpful and pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. It is a very friendly place to stay. The small bar and lounge are very cozy with the log fire and comfy sofas. The icing on the cake is the 5* evening meal. Hard to find food like this in the big cities back home let alone a small hotel in a ski resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Another ski season - another visit to Hotel Christiana - the rooms maybe 2 stars, but that's where it stops - best location in the village over looking main slopes with ski in ski out - after a series of heavy snow falls in early December the snow conditions were excellent for a pre-season visit and the hotel had put in place a superb chef supported by excellent staff - the food was quite simply as good as gets in the Port Du Soleil area with fine wine to match - good food, fine wine, ski in /out, and perfect snow at an affordable price - what's not to like - this is as good as it gets without breaking the bank.

I return with the family in January and look forward to more of the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#13 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Nagano
Le Nagano
#9 of 18 in Les Gets
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing