We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy but not posh”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
1 review
“Cosy but not posh”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

The cosy atmosphere ,open fire ,good food and friendly staff more than make up for the tired bedrooms / bathrooms and occasionally erratic hot water supply .
We will go back next year
Location is perfect .
New mattresses for the beds would be good though!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jen2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    72
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Thank you to all the staff at Christiania, another excellent holiday. Food was excellent, service was faultless and all the staff charming. I love the informal atmosphere, that makes the hotel very intimate and friendly without being obtrusive. We had one of the family rooms (room 19) that would be ideal if you were travelling with kids (we weren't!) - there was a small room attached that had a door for privacy. There was a small bathroom and seperate toilet attached to this room. We did find that this room more noisy than the other room we have stayed in before as noise echoed up the stairwell and it was on the first floor. I would always recommend this hotel especially to anyone wanting a short break. Les Gets is a lovely village.

Room Tip: for value the small doubles - though they are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gileshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Lovely hotel, ski in ski out, fantastic food, relaxed feel. One hour transfer from Geneva so perfect for short stays. We have been 3 years running now and will go back - it's such good value for short breaks.

The rooms are a little dated, but are clean and some have lovely slope views: the standard of the room is the compromise with this hotel, and is why it is affordable. For those who will be out skiing all day, then having tea and cake by the fire, then lounging in the hot tub, it doesn't really matter that that the rooms aren't state of the art.

Les Gets is a much nicer resort than neighbouring Morzine, with the better ski slopes.

Room Tip: Choose first or second floor, slope view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

After reading the positive reviews of Hotel Christiania on Tripadvisor, we were a quite disappointed with this hotel. The rooms were clean, but the doors (especially on the ground floor) could do with a scrub or a lick of paint. We stayed in two different rooms (they had double booked the room we had originally booked) and in the first room one of the lights in the bathroom had just the wire coming down, no light. In the other room there was a naked light bulb in the bathroom. In the dining room, the windows could definitely do with a clean. These thints made the hotel feel very ‘budget’, but this is not a particularly cheap hotel.

The staff were very bubbly and friendly, but seemed inexperienced, and we were frustrated by the lack of information on arrival, for example what the door code was, why our safety box couldn’t be opened, how to inform the staff you want your room cleaned (apparently we were supposed to put our room key in a basket – we weren’t told that until our last day…but to be fair our room was cleaned almost every day anyway…).

The atmosphere were very informal. We saw families coming down to breakfast in their pajamas…. So if that is how you roll, then maybe this is a hotel in your taste.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are preferred from rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projects_linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnesswood, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Best skiing hotel. Great for families or just on your own. Been lots of times and still going back again. Confortable cosy and friendly people and staff. Great ski-out a couple of skates and your on the lift then ski in at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Been here so many times and just about to head there again for the 2nd visit of the year. The location is the best in the village right next to the main ski lifts and the main shopping streets. The food is great as is the wine selection, but the stand-out feature has always been the quality of service and friendliness.

Feels like a 2nd home now and I can not think of a better all round place to spend a few days/weeks in the mountains!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesSt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Excellent, top ratings for:
- Location - 50m from ski lifts, literally next to the piste so you can (almost) ski to the boot room
- Easy to get to - 1 hour from Geneva airport
- Very friendly and helpful staff, absolutely could not fault them
- Very good dinners - choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, 2 desserts and/or cheeseboard each night

Not so great:
- Very dated rooms. Everything is clean so no complaints there but when we go on holiday we prefer a bit luxury or accommodation to be at least as nice as at home. The furniture is very tired and the bathroom needed updating years ago. The floor gets all wet when you have a shower.
- Sauna was not working but in any case, it is in a very strange bedroom in the basement.
- Breakfast is bits of a full English (bacon and eggs one day, baked beans and sausages the next), croissants, yoghurt and cereal. Gets a bit boring after a couple of days.

We paid a off season rate of EUR95pppn for half board. Last year we stayed in a much nicer chalet in Meribel (you need a group of friends to do this of-course) with a private hot tub and a fantastic chef exclusively for our chalet (Fish and Pips), min 1 week stay, half board, alcohol included and paid EUR 120pppn.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#13 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Nagano
Le Nagano
#9 of 18 in Les Gets
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing