We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of an era?”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Having stayed at Christiania many times, it's sad to write that what was once the Mayfair & Park lane of Les Gets due to location & great food, has now become the whitechapel & old Kent Rd.
Location obviously remains fantastic & the food is still to a good standard but everything else really has been let go & is now coasting on its laurels.
Despite high prices the rooms, decor, & general presentation were getting very tired years ago and we hoped that having taken a break in recent seasons, things might have improved. Sadly it's more tired than ever, and so disappointing given how fond we (and friends made during past visits), have become of this warm & friendly little piece of Scotland despite being English!
The young staff are bright & friendly so it's not their fault, it's just that every service has been allowed to slip. We had joke conversations with other guests who we bumped into nicking toilet roll from the public loo for private rooms! We had requested of course but nothing ever arrived. Rooms are cleaned once you know to ask for it but it doesn't happen automatically otherwise. Bathrooms are scruffy & have black mould & dirt in areas. The room decor as said is very scruffy and tired, no heating turned on for your arrival, worn out beds etc. The boot room is good but the children's area is pretty scruffy & the downstairs so called gym & sauna which doubles for guest changing after checkout, is simply horrible & frankly contemptuous. The reception is again scruffy & not at all welcoming ( it looks like a neglected accounts office) and whilst the young lady is sweet & helpful to her best, communication is difficult & causes problems ( asking for loo roll again, ski passes for the wrong number if days, expensive but we used them anyway as we felt sorry for her struggling on her own).
Evening Restaurant food remains very good, but petty things like having to turn the rad on to get some heat by your table, soup for starters, no soup spoons, teaspoons by special request. Listed House wines not available. Asking for a glass of wine to enjoy in the hot tub, understandably expecting a plastic glass but not a blue children's beaker! Wifi is available but not in rooms as it has a range of about 12ft and is incredibly slow. Probably ok when first installed but the world has moved on.
Nothing serious but all a bit fawlty towers given the rates charged.
A general refurb with some revitalised management & staff training & I'm sure this once gem of a place will start to find form again against the smart new developments happening in Les Gets. I hope so.
Christiania will always be good because of the fab location and good Chefs, so you won't be disappointed despite these well intended criticisms. It's just that if complacency was swept away, it could be great again. We'll have a look again in a few years.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Christiania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

This must be our fifth time in this little hotel. We appreciate the location, not far from Geneva with transfer available. It is right on the slopes in this very french village. It offers us good child care every time, it is handy for the ski school and ski hire and it's relaxed approach suits our family. We enjoy the food, wines, warm atmosphere, and cosy rooms ( room 18 is ideal for couple with one child who likes to watch the piste machines). Yes there are some aspects that could be improved , but we like it and recommend it to all our skiing pals, who have taken up the invitation to join us on several occasions and agree, it is ideal.

Room Tip: Room 18 for couple with 1 child as it interconnects and has a god view of the slopes, on first floor...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A gem of a hotel right on the ski slopeand truly ski in ski out. 1 hour from Geneva with a pick up service organised by the hotel and this is why we chose it as this was a 'sneaky wee holiday ' just for us two for once. Hotel Christiania is a cosy wee home from home - warm and welcoming with such friendly well trained staff and a very efficient reception. They will organise your ski passes for you and have them ready for your first day on the slopes. Ratings - location - 10/10, ambience - 10/10, food 15/10 - a tremendously talented chef staff. Presentation of meals and choices of menu exceeds this hotel's 2* rating. A very extensive breakfast menu with plenty to fuel a busy day on the slopes, afternoon tea at 4.30pm with delicious cake or scones and a 4 course dinner menu which includes a cheese board of local cheeses and as much bread as you require. Excellent wine list - just didn't have enough days to sample them all. Serving staff 10/10 - well presented, extremely well trained young folk who work hard yet always have a smile on their faces. This was the same when we stayed at this hotel 2 years ago so the owner has certainly maintained standards and all credit to him! Guest areas - 10/10 - the log fire creates a lovely atmosphere in the lounge and we also sat in the 2nd lounge with the TV a couple of evenings. It has all the channels you could wish for in English should you need to watch it. The TVs in the rooms do have French programmes and we occasionally found an English programme. Bedrooms - simply furnished but clean and comfortable. Perhaps the mattresses are a little lumpy but after a hard day on the slopes I would have slpet on a razor blade! Bathroom - perfect for us. We had fresh towels and toiletries when and if we needed them. There was plenty of hot water most of the time but it did cool closer to 7pm when everyone was back and showering. The heated boot room was a boon after a very long days skiing as was the convenience of the ski shed just outside. There are two hot tubs in the garden. We tried them two years ago at Easter in the sunshine but with the amount of snow that fell this year....well....we opted to have a drink by the fire instead! We also enjoyed easing our aching muscles in the sauna last time too but just didn't have enough hours in the day this year. Les Gets is a pretty little village with loads to do if you are not skiing. The hotel had a full day of activities available for those who did not want to ski. Any negatives? No none. We were here two years ago, booked to return this year and will be going back next year...think that says everything really! We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The good points:
Fantastic location (as others have said) Great resort for children to learn to ski. Great food, and friendly staff

The not so good points:
Needs a bit of money spent on it! Lumpy beds, tired bathrooms and dodgy electrics, and some of our bath towels had definately seen better days.

This is the third time we have been to this hotel. When booking we requested a certain room and received invoice confirmation of this. Upon arrival we were shown to a differant room as the original room was double booked. The alternative was not suitable for our party and we had to wait around for a couple of hours for this to be sorted out. We were offered another room but told we would need to change rooms after one night. As we were only staying for 4 nights we did not want the hassle of this. Finally we were shown to a room on the top floor that we accepted. It might have been nice to have had help with our bags after all this inconvenience. Afterall, you think repeat guests would be looked after.

This is not a cheap hotel, but I feel you are paying for it being a 'foodie' hotel, rather than any home comforts.

Once morning we came down for breakfast at about 8.30 - there were no cleared tables, no clean cups or teaspoons at the tea/coffee making point, and the buffet was not replenished despite asking. Again, not what I expect for the money we paid.

That aside - you cant beat it for location and cosiness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hotel Christiania
Easyjet to Geneva, Transfer time circa 1hour.
Booked transfer via hotel, great service no issues.

I won’t say much too about the ski resort, it is low lying but when we were there they had record snow falls, and the resort whilst slightly limited for expert and advanced skiers does offer a great variety of skiing. Any groups of mixed ability will love the whole area. The uplift is excellent and grooming was world class. With the amount of snow there in early Feb 2013, there were ample opportunities for powder days and a lot of good off piste skiing. We loved tree lined runs which, even in days of less than 100% visibility were easily skiable.

Apres ski was kind of limited but I am sure for one reason and another we didn’t get the best out of it. Bar Bush in town, together with the Irish and Canadian Bars look quite lively. Big foot at the Mont Chery end of town is also quite lively.

The Hotel: Good points
Location: 10/10 right on the slopes, due to the vast amount of snow we literally skied in and out of the hotel. The hotel is superbly located right by the main Chavannes chair or bubble which gives you immediate access to the ski area.

Staff: 10/10 All were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay a real feather in the cap for the owner and the establishment that they maintain such excellent and high standards. All knowledgeable on the area, the menus and the facilities. Rarely have we been as warmly welcomed by a hotel, they made our holiday and the hotel a real home from home. Thank you.

Food: 10/10 no complaints whatsoever on the menu, the quality and the choice of food available. Quite cheffy in presentation, composition and style. Four courses including a lovely local cheese board. We had house wine with our meals and it was very quaffable.

If there is any comment I would make in respect of the food, it is not by the way of a complaint it is only to raise awareness for those with slightly older children. There is a kids sitting at around 1730 but I believe this is for younger children. The menu being very “chefy” doesn’t entirely suit the older children I would say, ask yourself if your 10 year old would be happy sitting down to quail or sea bream as a main course. The hotel unfortunately doesn’t appear to (at least openly) cater for those kind of families (i.e. normal ones).

Afternoon tea with cake between 1600-1700 was a delight, I think the winner of the “British Bake Off” may have been there in the background and this was a welcome highlight after a full and tiring day on the excellent slopes of Les Gets and Morzine.

Room: 8/10 We always found hot water in plentiful supply and had no issues getting an excellent night’s sleep. The room was functional and comfortable, I should think there are a few on the cramped side in the hotel, however our twin room on the first floor was more than adequate for our needs.

Hot tub/ Sauna – Not used but according to some of the reports we had from other guests there at the same time, they all loved the hot tub.

Bar lounge area: 10/10 fabulously welcoming and relaxing. Beautiful open fire and a great bar service to boot...what more could you ask for really.

Bad points
If there are any, they are only very minor and please do not let any of this put you off of this fabulous hotel.

The rooms are a little tired and could do with a refresh. This is acknowledged in the hotel and I think something will be done about it in the near future.

TV? Well if that’s your thing…(you mad person), then as long as you can understand French then you will be ok, else, there are no UK channels, not even a BBC world news channel. Who comes to watch TV anyway I hear you ask? No one I hope, but I had a day of non-skiing due to illness whilst there (nothing whatsoever to do with the hotel I hasten to add!) and some kind of outside contact would have eased the pain of a full 24 hours in bed.

The Wi-Fi range in the hotel is limited for now to the reception area and the lounge, we talked to the owner however whilst there and he did suggest that they were going to resolve this and extend coverage throughout the hotel. These days iPads, iPhones, laptops etc are sadly a part of everyone’s lives be it for work or pleasure Wi-Fi coverage is for us quite essential.

We also did notice that there appeared to be no security on the skis at night it seemed as the door to the ski locker was off its hinges, our skis were fine however but it is a small point which hopefully the hotel have already rectified.

Any more bad points? Err Nope. That is it.

In summary
The Christiania is a fabulously located and well run hotel that is staffed by some of the nicest and most professional staff you will have the pleasure to meet a real credit to the owner. A true measure of any place is whether one would return. I can say categorically that I will keep returning here for many a year to come to Les Gets and more importantly to the Christiania.

Room Tip: Had a large balcony, couldnt use it really...a) too cold and b) full of lovely powder snow!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliffMitchelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The cosy atmosphere ,open fire ,good food and friendly staff more than make up for the tired bedrooms / bathrooms and occasionally erratic hot water supply .
We will go back next year
Location is perfect .
New mattresses for the beds would be good though!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jen2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Thank you to all the staff at Christiania, another excellent holiday. Food was excellent, service was faultless and all the staff charming. I love the informal atmosphere, that makes the hotel very intimate and friendly without being obtrusive. We had one of the family rooms (room 19) that would be ideal if you were travelling with kids (we weren't!) - there was a small room attached that had a door for privacy. There was a small bathroom and seperate toilet attached to this room. We did find that this room more noisy than the other room we have stayed in before as noise echoed up the stairwell and it was on the first floor. I would always recommend this hotel especially to anyone wanting a short break. Les Gets is a lovely village.

Room Tip: for value the small doubles - though they are small
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gileshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#7 of 18 in Les Gets
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: £192 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing