We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and food”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I would agree entirely with the "End of an era"review in feb 13. Whilst a great location and good food the hotel is shabby. Rooms are clean but small and very tired. The bathroom or rather shower rom was smaller with concertina doors. Sound proofing between the rooms was non existent, we were woken up by the neighbours using their bathroom each morning. We didn't use the hot tub but its location outside the kitchen and boot room made it very un appealing. Overall, it is expensive given the quality of the rooms and if travelling as part of a group, a good catered chalet would work out the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We always use and recommend the Christiana based on location, food and value for money. Sadly the latest visit found a hotel that has deteriorated since our last visit a year ago. Two sets of friends who stayed there for the second /third time, also found the same to be true.
Examples of the changes include: below average food and cold soup, where previously one thought, 'wow, impressive food'; confused front of house, unable to make decisions; poor upkeep of rooms and communal areas. The young staff try really hard, but no longer seem to have the leadership they need to provide quality and consistency.

This all, unfortunately, no longer makes it a desirable place to stay, nor good value for money. In high season a double room costs approx. 300euro a night half board, and a stay in the equally well located Alpina, with very high standards in all areas, will cost a similar amount for half board. There are many good value, high standard hotels in Les Gets, look around.

Come on Christiana - pull it together before it falls too far apart. we would love to see this previous gem shine again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ing-0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just returned from my fifth visit to the christiania in three years. Three times with my wife and friends and twice with my son. Each trip has been a fantastic holiday. Before the first trip I wasn't sure what to expect. Having returned four times and recommended it to friends as well says what I now think of the Christiania. Derek and his team run an amazing place, friendly, welcoming, next to the piste, fantastic food. I am not sure what else I would ask for.
The position alone warrents a visit and when add evrything else I doubt that I will be going elsewhere to ski for a long time. The evening meals are definitely not what you would expect from a two star hotel, interesting, delicious and beatifully presented with a choice of three starters, three main courses, two puddings and local cheese with a carefully chosen wine list with a few gems that Derek will might suggest. The staff each visit have been friendly, hard working and attentive and have helped make a wonderful holiday particularly when away with a six year old!
I would recommend the Hotel Chistiania to anyone looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel in Les Gets with fantastic food in the best location in town.
I also happen to have had great snow and weather each time although I am not sure if the hotel arranged this or not?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just had a great week with friends and our teenage children at Christiania, which seems to get better and better. What really makes the hotel is Derek and the staff who are so charming, knowledgeable and helpful - making sure we had the best table for lunch every day where we wanted on one of the busiest weeks of the season was no easy task. The food at the hotel was the best ever this year and if you are looking for a hotel that is warm, friendly and unpretentious where you ski in and out and where you can relax and feel at home from the moment you arrive, then you will love it here. Our teenage children love it too - the bars and nightlife are just a minute or two walk away, so you always know where they are. The rooms are simple but adequate and really what do you need when you are with friends and family and the slopes and long delicious lunches and dinners beckon. For the price, service and position, I certainly have never found anything better and wish we were all still there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBrowne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Great hotel.. Excellent for children. Food superb. Staff friendly and helpful. Family room great for a family with small children - would have been better with a bath rather than just a shower. Amazing location within Les Gets and good transfer from Geneva.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Top spot. 2 star on the label, but better than that. 5 star location, food and service. Ski in ski out, literally, you can put your skis on at the ski room and be on the slopes.
Food is fantastic, service excellent from all the staff especially Roxy, Zoe and Naomi as front of house, Danny the barnan and Derek the manager is just so helpful.
OK, so the rooms are a bit tired, but in my view the other bits override that.
Seen some of the other posts, most spot on, some overly critical. How many 2 star hotels have a hot tubs with slope views and you can take your drink with you. As Arnie used to say, I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP0198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Having stayed at Christiania many times, it's sad to write that what was once the Mayfair & Park lane of Les Gets due to location & great food, has now become the whitechapel & old Kent Rd.
Location obviously remains fantastic & the food is still to a good standard but everything else really has been let go & is now coasting on its laurels.
Despite high prices the rooms, decor, & general presentation were getting very tired years ago and we hoped that having taken a break in recent seasons, things might have improved. Sadly it's more tired than ever, and so disappointing given how fond we (and friends made during past visits), have become of this warm & friendly little piece of Scotland despite being English!
The young staff are bright & friendly so it's not their fault, it's just that every service has been allowed to slip. We had joke conversations with other guests who we bumped into nicking toilet roll from the public loo for private rooms! We had requested of course but nothing ever arrived. Rooms are cleaned once you know to ask for it but it doesn't happen automatically otherwise. Bathrooms are scruffy & have black mould & dirt in areas. The room decor as said is very scruffy and tired, no heating turned on for your arrival, worn out beds etc. The boot room is good but the children's area is pretty scruffy & the downstairs so called gym & sauna which doubles for guest changing after checkout, is simply horrible & frankly contemptuous. The reception is again scruffy & not at all welcoming ( it looks like a neglected accounts office) and whilst the young lady is sweet & helpful to her best, communication is difficult & causes problems ( asking for loo roll again, ski passes for the wrong number if days, expensive but we used them anyway as we felt sorry for her struggling on her own).
Evening Restaurant food remains very good, but petty things like having to turn the rad on to get some heat by your table, soup for starters, no soup spoons, teaspoons by special request. Listed House wines not available. Asking for a glass of wine to enjoy in the hot tub, understandably expecting a plastic glass but not a blue children's beaker! Wifi is available but not in rooms as it has a range of about 12ft and is incredibly slow. Probably ok when first installed but the world has moved on.
Nothing serious but all a bit fawlty towers given the rates charged.
A general refurb with some revitalised management & staff training & I'm sure this once gem of a place will start to find form again against the smart new developments happening in Les Gets. I hope so.
Christiania will always be good because of the fab location and good Chefs, so you won't be disappointed despite these well intended criticisms. It's just that if complacency was swept away, it could be great again. We'll have a look again in a few years.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#17 of 18 in Les Gets
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: £64 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing