We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Super Location and Wonderful Staff!”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Chrostiana whilst visiting family in the area and I could not have been more pleased with my stay. I had been recommended the hotel by friends who has stayed there before and it far surpassed their comments.

Not only was the hotel on the edge of the slopes and second away from the main chair lift into the ski area, but the facilities on hand in the hotel were excellent with heated boot warmers and a safe storage shed for skis and boards.

Huge thanks is also due to the staff who were the most helpful and attentive of any hotel staff I have ever encountered. Having had a bad fall and ended up in hospital the manager personally collected me from the local hospital and brought me back to the hotel. Far above and beyond his call of duty and very unexpected! The rest of the team went out of their way for the rest of my stay to ensure that I was as comfortable as possible. Can not thank them more.

Excellent value, in a premium location on the slopes of one of the finest ski resorts in the Alps. Would not hesitate in returning to the Christiana and of course would recommend highly to anyone that was planning on visiting Les Gets!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Nothing was too much for any of the staff, drinks brought out to the hot tub, tea even when after afternoon tea was finished. Perfect location, beds are comfortable just what you need after a hard day on the slopes. Food was amazing too! I think the guy who left the last post was in a different hotel cause the manager went over and above to make sure my sister and I had everything we needed. Will Defo be back next year!!

Room Tip: Room 25, is a quad but we had 3 in it and was perfect size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I concur with previous reviews. This hotel is resting on its laurels and is in dire need of a good shake up.

With the exception of the evening meal, which was pretty good, everything else was a disappointment.

Our welcome at reception was sweet enough, but to arrive at 5.15 in the evening and be told that your room isn't going to be ready for another half hour didn't bode well.

Our first impression of this hotel is that it needs a good clean! From the public areas, to the reception, bar and our miniscule bedroom, everything seemed a little grubby. Our 'double room' (12) was a small queen bed, with a mattress that had seen better days. The bathroom was functional, but again, didn't look or feel particularly clean.

Whilst the staff were friendly enough, there seemed to be a bad case of 'saisonnaires fatigue' kicking around. Everyone looked a bit fed up and did their job with little enthusiasm or real concern as to whether their guests were enjoying their stay. An example: after enjoying our main course, the waitress sauntered over and said "Do you want a dessert, or something, or...". I'm presuming that the second 'or' was "....or will you just hurry up and leave so I can get back to my Facebook" (there were very few of us left in the restaurant and most employees seemed more interested in their iPhones than telling us that the bottle of wine we had requested wasn't in stock. We didn't actually get anything to drink until we we were well into our main course.

After a fairly cramped and uncomfortable night's sleep, we woke to the noise of our neighbour brushing his teeth - a good indication of the level of soundproofing between rooms. The self-service breakfast was like something out of Fawlty Towers, although I would at least give Manuel credit for trying to help his guests. The staff were on-hand, but anything we asked them for (butter, coffee, bread) was met with an indifferent response.

I wouldn't want other readers to think that I am a particularly fussy guest or difficult to please. It was clear from the outset that the fundamental problem with this hotel isn't with the staff, it is with the management. You can't blame gap year students for doing as little as they think they get away with. But you CAN blame the hotel manager who, last night, seemed more interested in socialising with a hen party, than ensuring that his hotel is run to the standard that one would expect when paying top dollar.

Apart from the near-perfect location, I'm afraid that The Christiania doesn't have much else going for it. It is a shame to see such a nice property (with so much potential) delivering so little.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 - tiny double bed and very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillNeillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Fantastic location, nice relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff, how ever let down by lack of hot water, food good but portion size a bit on small size and service a bit erratic, agree with many of other comments re getting a bit tired.
Would happily stay again though

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Excellent holiday at the Hotel Christiania. The location of the hotel is fantastic. The food was great and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The communal areas, e.g. sitting room are lovely, very homely and comfortable. Only negative is the rooms could maybe do with a lick of paint, but other than that would definitely recommend the hotel. The hot tubs outside are an added bonus!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizziealicerogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I would agree entirely with the "End of an era"review in feb 13. Whilst a great location and good food the hotel is shabby. Rooms are clean but small and very tired. The bathroom or rather shower rom was smaller with concertina doors. Sound proofing between the rooms was non existent, we were woken up by the neighbours using their bathroom each morning. We didn't use the hot tub but its location outside the kitchen and boot room made it very un appealing. Overall, it is expensive given the quality of the rooms and if travelling as part of a group, a good catered chalet would work out the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We always use and recommend the Christiana based on location, food and value for money. Sadly the latest visit found a hotel that has deteriorated since our last visit a year ago. Two sets of friends who stayed there for the second /third time, also found the same to be true.
Examples of the changes include: below average food and cold soup, where previously one thought, 'wow, impressive food'; confused front of house, unable to make decisions; poor upkeep of rooms and communal areas. The young staff try really hard, but no longer seem to have the leadership they need to provide quality and consistency.

This all, unfortunately, no longer makes it a desirable place to stay, nor good value for money. In high season a double room costs approx. 300euro a night half board, and a stay in the equally well located Alpina, with very high standards in all areas, will cost a similar amount for half board. There are many good value, high standard hotels in Les Gets, look around.

Come on Christiana - pull it together before it falls too far apart. we would love to see this previous gem shine again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ing-0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#12 of 18 in Les Gets
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: £132 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing