We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's to next year!”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our third trip to Hotel Christiania and once again we were absolutely delighted. Since our trip in 2013 the hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and although not quite finished when we went in January 2014,what had been completed was well worth the effort and upheaval. The hotel still retains its cosiness and relaxed atmsophere which is what makes the Christiania so special. As always the evening meals were a delight with plenty of choice and an extensive wine cellar to satisfy everyone's tastes. Only managed afternoon tea once as the snow was amazing but what we could see from the left over crumbs each day looked delicious! Yes maybe the rooms are on the small side but on a ski holiday you don't really sit in your room all day long. What makes a huge difference are the new mattresses and beds - FANTASTIC! We struggled to hang damp ski gear in our room as hooks hadn't been put up on backs of doors and in the bathroom but I am sure this plus the outstanding work has all been completed. In answer to a reviewer wondering why the hotel has no star rating......you can't be a 3* hotel unless you have a lift in the hotel! For its unrivalled position right on the slope with such easy access onto the snow and the chair up into the ski area beyond, a truly 'home from home' cosy atmosphere, amazing food and good service you just can't fault Hotel Christiania. We WILL be back again next year and that in itself is evidence that this little gem of a hotel is doing it all right!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Christiania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Some nice upgrading works have been done to the public areas and the en suites, although not quite finished when I was there. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very informal and relaxed. The evening meals were of a fantastically high standard, although breakfast was disappointing. Some staff were better trained than others, but I'm just being picky now! It's my second holiday to this hotel and I would definitely go back. It's perfectly situated and all in all it's super value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Long weekend with friends. Location fantastic, an hour from Geneva and connecting into Portes du Soleil. Les Gets has an unspoiled large village/small town feel with great restaurants/delis etc. Hotel is close to the centre, 25m from the piste. Friendly run by Derek and his team, made to feel like a house not hotel guest. Very social bar/restaurant (beautifully refurbished), good food, interesting and fairly priced wine list. Rooms not huge but perfectly clean and comfortable. My first visit – I’ll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadyHousemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The easy, short transfer from Geneva airport was extremely smooth and meant we could get a full afternoon of skiing on our first day, even after sorting our ski hire and lift passes. My room was neat but the view from the balcony onto the village and beyond was a real bonus. Derek and his team were super helpful and eager to please - take Derek's lunchtime mountain restaurant recommendations; he won't let you down! The free wine-tasting session on the Sunday evening was an unexpected and enjoyable treat. The evening meals were good; the cheese course especially delicious.
I'd definitely recommend the hotel; unbeatable location and very genial atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent four days at Christiania with friends, very well looked after by Derek and the team. Speedy link from Geneva allowing us to be skiing by 12.30, having flown from Edinburgh that morning. Right on the slopes with easy access over to Morzine, Avoriaz and beyond, lots of skiing for all abilities and some great places to eat on the mountains which can be arranged through the hotel. Bar, dining room and bedrooms are newly refurbished (tho the rooms are a little small), set dinner menus are short but varied and of good quality, the wine list is also excellent value and Derek is always happy to recommend his favourites. Friendly atmosphere in the bar and throughout. Only minor quibble that the sauna was out of action. Great place though, and will definitely return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fifer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We head off in 5 weeks for our 3rd time staying at the Christiania, cant wait to meet the new staff, see the new rooms and have a ball!

The food is always first class and nothing is too much for the staff.

Is there anything better than sitting in the hot tub with a glass of something chilled, whilst its snowing?? I think not ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent 5 nights here with my brother-in-laws x2.
Cannot fault the whole package at this well run, cosy hotel. Staff were fantastic, and deserve a special mention, for being extremely helpful.
Food was of exceptionally high standard, night after night !
Effortless access to the slopes, and ability to ski directly back to the hotel.
Hotel was well situated within the village, which has a very family-friendly feel overall.

Consensus was that we would all gladly stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paragpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#7 of 18 in Les Gets
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: £193 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing