We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay - excellent location & value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay - excellent location & value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Just got back from a very enjoyable stay with a group of around a dozen friends. Have skiied in Les Gets for years and have previously been in apartments & chalets, but decided to do the hotel thing this year. We all enjoyed it so much we will be booking again for next year. Hotel Christiania is in an excellent position - ski in & out, & close to the lifts and village. Food was generally good, hot tubs were very welcome at the end of the day. Cosy lounge/bar area with lovely real fire. Staff very welcoming. Rooms were clean - if a bit small (but you only really spleep in there!) and the breakfast buffet had pretty much everything covered. Only one small criticism - a mirror & reachable electric socket in the bedroom for hairdrying would be appreciated. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and I will be happy to go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    71
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

A group of 17 of us stayed in jan 2011, staff were really friendly and genuinely nothing was too much trouble, their team consists of a great mix of English and Scottish and we were treated to a Burn's Night Supper with Ode to the haggis; to boot! Ski in/out fab location, great food and afternoon cakes - more tea vicar? Next to a roaring log fire if you don't feel like facing the slopes, great TV room to watch your own DVD's or knock out a bit of tapestry - whatever floats!! Outdoor hot tubs after a hard days skiing was great too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Julianuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have stayed in a number of hotels including many in ski resorts and this has to be one of the better ones. It is not the swankiest hotel in town but if you are looking for a hotel that is well placed with excellent staff, then you wont find one much better. The rooms on the ground floor are probably last choice because you will get some noise coming the kitchens and being next to the ski lock up - but not too bad. The rooms have seen better years, the rooms were very clean and the bedding was recent and with fresh clean linen,the bathroom was older but very clean. We have stayed in a hotels that have the badge saying they provide good food - this one may not have the badege but the food was fantastic - some of the best food I have had in any restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Myself and a friend went here for a week long trip in Jan 2011. The hotel is in a fantastic location, you just can't beat it - right on the slopes, ski out and in, brilliant! The staff are English and very very friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. They even organise to get your ski passes when you arrive which is a nice touch. However some little things let it down - it is very laid back which can be a bonus, but we had a radiator that you couldn't turn down and it took 5 days to get that sorted, which was a shame as we had to open our windows at night. Apparently their new boiler is extra good so it is a very warm hotel! Rooms are also very small. However the location and friendliness of the staff made up for some issues we had. The food is really tasty - and as a vegetarian, the chef was happy to whip up something for me if there wasn't anything on the menu (if there was a vege starter they don't mind making it main size). The bar is well stocked and the fire blazes all afternoon which is really cozy. I loved the 4pm afternoon tea as everyone would enjoy a cuppa and share stories of the days events.
The ski hire at Delavay was very good, both my friend and I were given new boots and skis and I felt is was reasonably priced (6 days for me with short skis was €64, my friends longer skis were €86) - the hotel will give you a 20% discount voucher.
La Pela is a nice place to have a fondue - €17. Their carafes of wine are really good value and it's nice wine.
The Irish pub below the Canadian bar is great - sit at the bar and the boys behind the bar are very chatty, good way to spend an evening.
I think I would go back based on location and how lovely the staff were.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

3 girlfriends and I were luck enough to enjoy a 3 night stay at Hotel Christiania in mid December. Our room was cosy with 3 singles and one double bed (more mirrors for the girls please) with an amazing view to the mountains. Staff are friendly and helpful, food was great and the roaring log fire and bar area a great welcome after a full day's skiing. Two hot tubs and sauna helped too! We skied Avoriaz, Morzine and Les Gets. The staff are very knoweldgeable about the best places to ski, along with some great restaurant suggestions on the mountains for lunch. (Transport when needed readily available). The snow was amazing (get there mid December) and being able to walk to the ski lift and also into town was superb! Highly recommended - I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

this small hotel is situated idealy for the 6 person chair only 20 mtrs from the front door. the rooms are small but the public rooms, lounge, bar and dinning room are cosy and inviting. the standard of food provided is of a very reasonabe quality and the service is outstanding. the atmosphere is one of a relaxed and homely retreat with friendly staff. the hot tubs, boot room etc are all of a high standard. the christiana punches well ubove its weight and provides great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithgeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

We had a great stay! right beside the Piste and the hotel organises transport to other ski areas as part of service. The staff are so friendly and really keen to please and add value to your stay. An intimate hotel with a fab log fire to heat you up after these sub zero temperatures! The food was excellent and much more than 3 star. Superb wine list - check out the Pouilly Fuisse form the owners wine estate - top class! The rooms are functional and cosy - a really nice friendly hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing