We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Monet, Les Gets”
Review of Chalet Monet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Monet
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chalet Monet, Les Gets”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have just returned from a great week in Les Gets and stayed at Chalet Monet.
Our party was quite large, 10 Adults, 3 Teenagers and 8 Children between 4-8 years.
Food was fantastic. Our chef Ben was brilliant and was more than happy to change some of the children's menus when we asked. The chalet staff were also great, very friendly and helpful.
The chalet itself was fine, communal areas were nice and clean, but the bedrooms are in need of a bit of TLC. Would suggest new carpets and new bathroom suites needed for next season.
Location of the chalet was just perfect, in the centre of town and just a short walk to the shops/bars/restaurants and slopes etc.
The only issue we really had was that the chalet temperature was very up and down. Bedrooms were extremely hot and we had to sleep with windows wide open, where as in the lounge / play room, it could get quite cold. However, the lounge did have a fire which soon warmed it up.
The other thing was the fire doors on every room were squeaky and could do with some oil!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Chalet Monet is a lovely large place that can hold up to 22 people. It can get very coldor very warm which is quite strange but if your cold you can put the lot fire on! The sitting room is a very big and modern place and has sky(British tv), so we were able to tune into the rugby! There is a fully functional DVD player and Xbox, and a small playroom with a tv in for the kids.

Children under 12 have to eat high tea at 5:30 which includes a maincorse and a pudding. Over 12s eat at 8pm and have an appetiser, a starter, main, pudding and tea and coffee afterwards.

The rooms are nice and the beds are comfy, all are en suits. Somebody and been sick in my room so there was a horrid stench but they called in a professional cleaner and the room smelt amazing after!

The hosts were great although two never spoke a word! The cook was great and makes cakes for when you get back from skiing!

The hot tub and sauna was nice, although would not be able to hold everyone, only 5 maybe or 6 people.

Overall an amazing week!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestripsyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just returned from this Chalet operated through Ski Total. (party of 11)

The Chalet is is a great condition and offers all the mod cons needed for a week in the snow. The house rules including no outdoor shoes means that both the lounges stay clean. With a dedicated boot room.
There are two lounges, both with large flat screen tvs, one with Sky (british channels) and an XBox. The sauna isnt the biggest (considering there could be 20+ people staying) and neither is the Hot Tub (5-6 max) but the lounges are very spacious offering lots of space to sit.

The dining room / kitchen is large enough for everyone at once.

The Bedrooms were adequate for me (solo occupency in room 9, top floor) this room has a bunk bed, wardrobe, drawers and a balcony. The shower is nice however when everyone wakes up in the morning a pressure dip can be felt.

Power outlets could be an issue for some visitors (one in each the bathroom and bedroom) so a multi way wouldnt go a miss.

The whole chalet was warm (sometimes too warm). but wasnt a too much of an issue as the balcony door could be left open overnight if it was too warm.

Dont be put off by the lack of photos (or old photos) as it now looks very modern and comfortable.

The location is pretty spot on, close enough to the Chavannes Express (5min walk) with a slightly longer walk to the Mont Chery side (15min walk) but there is a little train that circumnavigates the village for free.
The shops are within a 2 min walk and this includes everything needed (ATM, Pharmacy, Bars, Etc)

I would recommend this Chalet and if i was to visit the area again i would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: top floor rooms do have lower roofs at the edge, but can be a larger foot print and some include bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank some_room_somewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just returned from a week with Ski Total in Chalet Monet. The chalet has been completely refurbished so don't be put off by last year's reviews. There is a spacious lounge with Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a games room and separate dining room. Overall the accommodation was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floor have low beams. Room 6 on the top floor is in the centre of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enessde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

recently returned from a great week in Les Gets. I was a bit worried after reading earlier reviews, but I must put the record straight by letting people know that the chalet has been refurbished and is clean, comfortable and the staff are great. Of course, as with most skiing chalet accomodation it's basic - you get what you pay for, afterall. But we had no complaints, apart from perhaps it was rather on the warm side. (we turned the heating off and opened the window - simple!)
Thanks Millie, Jack & Tom for a great week.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelms61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just back from an excellent ski holiday in Les Gets. The chalet was fantastic, great food, nice rooms, lovely and warm. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Location is good, 5 mins walk to the chavanne lift and Slopes. The exact location is hard to find online so if anyone is looking for it, it is: chalet Monet, 32 sur le by, les gets, 74260, off route des grands alpes.

The main lounge is very comfortable, with doors out to the hot tub, the sauna is good, and the dining area is very nice. The breakfasts were great, fresh croissants and baguettes, cereal, porridge, cooked options, omelettes, eggs on toast etc. dinners were also great, roast lamb, duck, roast vegetables.

The only negatives for us were low ceilings in the eaves rooms!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the eaves have low ceilings particularly in the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I took a family trip to Chalet Monet in early February after seeing the pictures of what at the time, seemed like a cosy, friendly and beautiful chalet. Without hesitation I booked it straight away before it became full and invited all the family. What a mistake I had made. None of the accomidation met the standard of the pictures on their website, as I learnt shortly after my arrival. The couch in the so called [Games Room] was a health and safety hazard and literally falling apart! As you will see on cgg5072's review as he has picture evidence.The children are not aloud to sit at the table with the adults at meal times, and as our family being very close, this caused some tears and upset to the children if we had known it in the first place we would never have booked it! I advise never to go there and I hope this review has been of help.

Room Tip: No rooms are good never go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbiG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Les Gets hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Monet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Monet

Property: Chalet Monet
Address: Off D902, Route des Grandes Alpes, Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monet is a gem of a chalet, conveniently located right in the heart of the resort, with a superb range of facilities.The living areas are spacious and well designed, with a spacious separate lounge with small kitchenette area, ideal for afternoon tea, plus a further, separate home-cinema lounge available, so don’t forget your favourite DVDs!Bedrooms here offer en suite bath or shower and wc, and some also have a balcony, as does the attractive dining-room. The Monet also boasts its own sauna, and further après ski relaxation in the hot-tub on the terrace.The main Chavannes ski-lifts and piste and the delightful village centre are only approximately 3 minutes’ walk away, and at the end of the day you can ski back to the same point. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing