We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 days in Les Gets”
Review of Chalet Alouette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Alouette
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great 5 days in Les Gets”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My partner Adam and I have been coming to the PDS ski area for many years but usually stay in Morzine and Avoriaz, this was the first time we'd stayed in Les Gets and it won't be our last, had a fantastic week, the location of the chalet is excellent for getting straight out on the slopes with the bottom of the Perrier lift almost in the back garden, of which you have a great view of from the hot tub by the way, and get to avoid the queues of the main lifts and is only a 5/10 minute walk from the centre depending on how long you stay for apres! Having stayed in a few chalet's in previous years I can honestly say the food and service was outstanding and possibly the best I've had. The offer of lifts to/from morzine is also helpful and appreciated for the days when you want to head over to Switzerland and not have to rush back to catch lifts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malinhousehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent a week in Chalet Alouette (Les Gets) towards the end of March 2014 and had a fantastic week.

The chalet was very clean, with a great open communal area with enough space for everyone to sit comfortably (there were 9 people in the chalet whilst we were there). The bedrooms and bathrooms were a good size, particularly those upstairs. There were also some great extra touches in the chalet, including a hot tub, fireplace and well stocked honesty bar.

Of particular note were the friendly, helpful staff and the high quality food. Frankie (our Chalet host) went out of her way to make it a great week giving us great advice about the resort and local area. She was incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her to help us out. Lauren also helped Frankie out on the busier nights and was on hand to provide lifts to all the guest, which proved very helpful towards the end of the week when we wanted to go to Avoriaz. The quality of the food we were given every night was superb and very artistically presented – by far the best chalet food I have had in my many years of ski holidays.

All in all – a great week made all the better by the chalet and Reach4theAlps staff!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are far more spacious and include a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent from start to finish. We travelled by car and some of our party arrived by air. Airport transfers were seamless .
The chalet is situated a good ten minute walk from the main chair lifts and town centre but there is a chair lift with a red run back from just behind the chalet which gives very easy access for intermediate skiers.Reach 4 the Alps (Lauren)provide an excellent door to door transfer service by minibus from the chalet to the centre of town . Nothing was too much trouble.There is also a free bus from just below the chalet.

The chalet is comfortable,very clean and kept very clean by Frankie the host. There is plenty of seating in the living / dining area and a lovely very efficient open fire. There is a TV / free view which we didn't have time to use
All the staff but especially Frankie were friendly and gave useful friendly advice about ski schools,ski hire ( conveniently next door), good bars/ restaurants etc. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was of a very very high standard. Beautifully cooked and presented by Frankie. All the cakes were delicious. A family with a young child joined us for half the week and Frankie made special efforts to make sure the child had suitable food.
I would highly recommend this company and this chalet .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Whilst being blessed with decent snow (for late March in any case) and even better weather, our recent holiday was made all the better by the top rate service and standard of accommodation on offer at Chalet Alouette.

The chalet itself is smaller than some I have been to but is well laid out with an open plan kitchen/sitting room giving it a homely feel that other chalets I have been too lack. The sitting room area is particularly comfortable with the large stone fire place and kitsch Alpine furniture providing the perfect atmosphere for post-ski wind down. There was of course the added benefit of the hot tub overlooking the slopes and sauna and even though these are shared with the next door chalet, they were still a welcome feature.

The chalet was immaculately clean, with beds made each day (save the staff day off). Towels and dressing gowns were of a good standard and not the paper thin offering of some hotels/chalets. These were changed once in the week, which although less than some places is more than sufficient for any seasoned chalet goer.

A fire was laid out each day and there was satellite tv on offer, as well as a fully stocked honesty bar. These little touches certainly make a difference.

The two standout things though were the staff and the food.

The staff go above and beyond the call of duty, Lauren was always available for a lift to and from the town/slopes and beyond (subject to the other chalets requests) and Hazel in the next door chalet very kindly lent me her spare goggles when mine broke. Sandy was good value on the transfers and Gina the owner/manager even popped in to say hi which was a welcome touch.

Our chalet host Frankie really made our experience though - warm, friendly and organised but highly flexible with individual requirements. She was professional throughout but with a human touch and her fluency in French certainly came in handy when we had a mishap with the local authorities!

The food was probably her biggest forte, for although it was a set menu (credit to the chef/managers for choosing), every dish was cooked to perfection and delivered with a standard of presentation that I have previously paid good money for in London restaurants.

The only thing I would say to anyone considering the chalet is that it is in Perriers which is the far end of Les Gets away from the town centre. This will suit those looking for a quiet week or with young families, but for those looking for more night life it may be a concern. That said, the chalet benefits from having it's own bridge across the river to a ski lift, where each morning you aren't battling huge queues. Also there is a ski shop literally next door and has its own boot room. Plus, Reach4theAlps will give you a lift into town as and when you need and there are regular buses back so with a bit of effort you aren't really that far away from bars and shops.

All in all the experience was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend Reach4theAlps and Chalet Alouette again to anyone.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are considerably larger and are better suited to couples. The lower rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Les Gets is a really nice, relatively compact resort and Chalet Alouette is in a terrific location. Really close to one of the lifts, next door to a ski hire shop and you can ski back almost to the door. A traditional style chalet, well laid out, comfortable, plenty of space and great sized bathrooms. Then there is the cooking. Absolutely terrific. Superb presentation, top quality ingredients and each course delicious; quite an achievement for one chalet hostess, so well done Frankie, take a bow! Lauren (our driver and firelighter extraordinaire!) was always extremely reliable with lifts to and from various lifts (including Avoriaz) and, all in all, we had a great week. Would happily recommend the chalet, resort and staff to friends.

Roger & Nan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeddah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a very relaxing week at chalet alloutte.so relaxing and comfortable for skiers and non skiers.(i dont ski).food was great.everything was nice and cosy.Frankie (our host) was really good.we would like to go again.maybe this time,in springtime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidalitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have stayed in 3 hotels in Les Gets in the past and decided to spend 3 days staying here for a short ski break with my 2 grown up daughters. Very comfortable, nice decor and great service. We were well looked after by our chalet hostess, Frankie who is a good cook and flexible on food if you give her notice. As others have described, the chalet is warm, clean and comfortable. Location is a 10 min walk from the centre and uphill a little into town but we were offered a lift every day and walking back was not an issue. There is even a chair lift a few minutes walk away as well as ski hire shop next door so if you are prepared to ski down a red run then not being bang in the centre is even less of an issue. Was impressed that one of the owners took the time and trouble to come and check that we were happy. Nice easy skiing around Les Gets which is itself a nice village which is why I like to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#8 of 18 in Les Gets
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alouette

Property: Chalet Alouette
Address: Rte du front de Neige, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Alouette has 4 ensuite rooms sleeping upto 10. The open plan dining/sitting room is an exceptionally spacious room with the kitchen and dining area at one end and then lots of comfy sofas surrounding the open log fire at the other end. Floor to ceiling French doors lead out onto the large wooden terrace which overlooks the pistes of Les Perrieres and La Turche, which are floodlit at night.There is a shared outdoor hot tub & sauna in the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing