We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“300m from the slopes - perfect if you don't want anything extremely fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fermes d'Emiguy is literally 300m from the slopes .... there is a 100m walk uphill at the start but after that it's flat and takes you directly to the Chavannes Express & ESF Ski School. You walk past the lift pass kiosk so easy to get everything done on the way to the slopes!

The apartments are an OK size but you would not want to have 2 people in the lounge as well as all the bedrooms full as space would be very crushed. You need to pre-book parking to park your car there (about 50 EUR/week) but there is also free parking close by. The car-park is very tight on the entrance/exit slope and quite low so you need to turn carefully to avoid bumping your car and watch the height carefully if you have a roofbox. The ski lockers are on the bottom level of the underground carpark (level -2) and not well signposted. The room is warm but not sufficiently to ensure the boots dry completely overnight - you may want to consider leaving them at the ski shop overnight if you are renting. Emiguy has an arrangement with ESF so they visit on a saturday afternoon directly to the residence in case you haven't booked your lessons yet or have questions. Wi-fi coverage is good; free in the main lounge by reception but you need to pay 7 EUR/24 hours to access it in your appartment. There was an issue with intermittent service when we arrived and so the wi-fi was provided free until it was fixed. The pool is a decent size with a jacuzzi next door; be warned the jacuzzi is not hot - apparently something to do with French law! The sauna & steam room booking process is haphazard. Effectively you book a time with reception but it's up to you to monitor who uses the rooms during your booking slot. They do provide a free session per appartment to try them which is worth taking. The staff speak English but if you can speak French it will make your life a lot easier with them! You can have up to 2 pets/appartment but it needs to be booked in advance and costs a small fee per week.

Towels & linen are all provided. The kitchen is well equipped - kettle, coffee maker, combined oven & microwave (it does work!), dishwasher. There's also a TV but no DVD player so bring a connection cable for your laptop if you want to watch DVDs in the evening.

Hot water - the hot water tank heats overnight and is really only sufficient for one set of of showers per day. If you use it all up, you can ask reception to turn the heating on again but it takes 4 hours to heat-up again. We managed perfectly but you need to know to manage it!

I'd recommend taking advantage of the fact that you can rent for free fondue/raclette/ reblochonnade sets. You just need to reserve one in advance with reception. Really nice high-end sets. You can get pre-prepared raclette & fondue food platters from some of the shops in the village.

Check-in - you can actually check in from 2pm now although not all the appartments had been cleaned by this time when we were there. You can park right in front of reception to check-in and unload but you are likely to get blocked in for a while as more cars arrive. They will eventually get cleared but it may take some time to get back out! Make sure you check the inventory carefully and note any issues - there were some missing mugs & a couple of chipped glasses at the back of the cupboard.

Check-out is a little bizarre - signs are posted only at reception instructing you that you need to make an appointment to complete your check-out; this is for the inspection of the apartment to ensure it is clean. The guy did not arrive on time due to the fact that there were issues with several other appartments before us not having been cleaned. Other than that, the process was very easy to complete and the deposit handed back without any issue. You can pay extra not to have to clean your appartment although you still need to clean the kitchen area. I'd recommend cleaning yourself and taking a few cleaning items with you. With four adults, it took us about 40 minutes to clean the place top to bottom

I'd stay here again - there's nowhere closer for what you pay and if you don't want anything super fancy then you will be happy.

Room Tip: Unless you are trying to fit in as many people as possible, take an appartment with sufficient bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Les gets was wonderful, fantastic family skiing. Apartments were very sub standard. We have stayed in several self catering apartments, usually mgm. Service was dreadful, took 1hour to check in, no credit card facilities for paying deposit. Apartment in eaves on 3 rd floor - arrived to find no lift working in our block, no assistance with bags up 4 flights of stairs, lift was not working till thurs which was a struggle up 2 flights from boot room with kids, boots, skis - again staff very unconcerned.
Only sufficient water for 2 small baths, hopeless when apartment designed to sleep 6 people, one shower in eaves you couldn't stand underneath.
Communal areas filthy, changing area for small pool inadequate, one door opening straight into corridor, also only 1 cold shower to wash off afterwards.
Boot room okay but no benches or anywhere to sit when putting boots on.
Outside area neglected, no path clearing, very icy and also covered in dog poo, pets are allowed with no attempt to encourage people to clean up after their dog.
Check out process similarly chaotic, you had to look round the building for the one person to check your apartment, then had about 10 people already on list, we had fully cleaned apartment and stripped beds etc - final inconvenience we even were made to take all the laundry down to the basement - evidently so they had nothing to do to prepare for next guests.
Management very understaffed and very unhelpful. No interest in dealing with issues or fixing things.
We would never use la grange again, we will always use only MGM in future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in eaves if possible - make sure lift working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

sorry its so long!

We have just returned from a fantastic skiing holiday in Les Gets, well, the resort and the skiing were wonderful. The apartment we stayed in was a different matter altogether!

We have been using self-catering apartments for our skiing holidays for around 20 years, so our experiences are wide and varied. Ferme Emiguy takes the prize for being the worst. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful new apartment complex with quality fixtures and furnishings. It’s the management and staffing that are wrong.
• We couldn’t find the apartment because there is no signage, no name anywhere to be seen and eight foot high banks of snow in front.
• As previously said by others, check-in, was mayhem.
• The apartment was not clean. When I went back to reception to complain, there were so many people complaining I gave up. We did it ourselves
• The furniture was too large for the apartment one example was the bed in the main bedroom. It was wide long and very comfortable but, with a six inch gap between the end of the bed and the wall we had to climb over the bed to get to the other side.
• Our car was too high to go in the underground car park so the receptionist recommended a car park down the road. She omitted to tell us that the car needed to be moved on a Thursday because a market took place in this car park. Any cars not moved would be towed away! We parked elsewhere.
• The coffee maker in the apartment was broken I asked for a replacement and was told they had none in stock. I insisted that they gave me one from another apartment. They didn’t want to! Eventually I got a replacement.
• After the first day of skiing my son had a shower, my wife fancied a bath, half way through filling the bath the water went cold. This was normal 1 shower and ½ a bath in the evening,or just about 3 showers, we found, then no more hot water.

• Unsupervised children in Swimming\Jacuzzi area – an accident waiting to happen
• Dirty nappy left in male changing room there for 2 days
• Dirty nappy in female changing rooms ( so my wife tells me) for 3 days.
• Pathways around the apartments were not cleared of snow making it very difficult to walk around the apartments. Later in the week ice was forming on the walkways, they were traitorous.
• There was dog mess everywhere, even outside the front door; it was there all week to greet everyone as they arrived!
• Every time we passed through reception someone was complaining.
I could probably think of more!
We will not be returning to these apartments and would not recommend them to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngrey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have been on a number of ski holidays and this was the first year we chose self catering. We had been to Les Gets before and have loved the resort. I arrived at 1pm and could not check in till after 4pm. The travel company kept my bags and not able to leave there. It took the rep over 50 mins to find the appartments. Once there the reception area was full of people trying to check in. To be blunt it was mayhem and may people were complaining. I got to the front to be advised I should come back at least 30 mins later. Finally got to check in they asked for 300 EUR cash or cheque deposit, despite all websites advised that this was to be done by credit card. Eventually I got into the room after 6pm.

The room had not been cleaned, the appartment was very small and we paid for the extra space. They ask you to complete an inventory which was a waste of my time, many items listed where not there. Addtionally the translation of items meant could not identify what I was to check.

You have to make the beds yourself, which normally is not a problem. The duvet covers were either to large or to small for the dvuets and sheets were wrong sizes for the beds. I would have gladly paid to have someone make them for me.

You are not allowed to go through with your ski boots on, catch you need to go through the building to get the ski lockers. The gym advertised was not there, just an empty room. The pool looked lovely till the pool lights popped out and were floating in the water. I complained to the reception, was advised kids pulled them them out and they would fix it but they were safe. When back several nights and the other lights were floating in the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frederiqc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank grizzly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Linda67600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Nagano
Le Nagano
#9 of 18 in Les Gets
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy

Address: Route du Front de NeigeLieu-dit le Clos, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range: £69 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing