We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you were a chicken you may not get your own perch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If you were a chicken you may not get your own perch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I liked this place. Why? Well, it was a 5 minute level walk into the centre of Les Gets. The check in was fine. The French like to talk, unlike the British when you check into a hotel where, if you get information about which floor you are on and when the restaurant opens, you are doing well. So, if there are 4-5 groups waiting to check in, be prepared to wait. Three receptionists were on check in when we were there all dealing with customers. The place was well furnished; lovely big double bed and very comfortable; two children in good bunks although the ceiling was a little low for the top bunk. Two bathrooms; good showers. Well equipped re the kitchen. Warm and easy to adjust electric heating and warm towel rails. Excellent swimming pool; small but clean and warm. Great, huge jacuzzi. Towels provided. Some improvements / suggestions? No British channels on the TV e.g. childrens channel + news would be good. Water was dangerously hot so beware. Whilst the kitchen was well equipped, it was impossible to use kettle; coffee machine and toaster at once. Very tight for space. Remember to take a dish cloth. Towel change half way through the week would be good. And, as some others have said, if there were 6 of you a note on the front door along the lines of 'The humans were accommdated with no room to room and did not have access to their own perch' would have been fitting. But for a family of four (or even 5) with yound children, it was fine. Unlimited access to sauna and free wi-fi would be nice. And if somewhere offers free coffee and tea in the lounge, at least give us the basics to make it with. But overall, very good. Les Gets for ski-ing? Book ESI ski school. Smaller groups and English speaking. Book skis at Ski Fun shop next door to ESI and get 20% discount on hire. You can leave all your gear overnight and therefore not have to take it back to the accommodation. And, they are right across the street from the ski school meeting place - literally 20 metres up half a dozen steps and across a zebra. As good as it gets really for me. Absolutely first time I've ever skied in a resort and NOT had to queue anywhere. Given it was Easter week, this was amazing. Very friendly everywhere - shops; restaurants; hotels etc. Will definitely consider going back. We had young family in ski school each morning. Plenty of reds and blues to keep you going. Probably not for Black run experts, although access to Porte du Soleil would probably open up these opportunities for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    21
    17
    11
See reviews for
72
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have to say after booking the residence fermes d'emiguy, and then reading some of the reviews i was a little worried at what to expect. I have felt the need, however, to write my first ever review as I strongly feel the reviews are far to critical. I can only say we had an excellent experience. The residence was clean and well run, the staff very friendly and the facilites were excellent. The appartments were spotless, and well equipped, spacious and more than adequate for a family ski holiday. The pool was great, the kids loved it and even I had a dip in it. It isn t the biggest pool, but it is fine. The Jacuzzi is really really warm, like a hot bath, and although it can get a bit crowded from time to time I never felt I had to wait my turn to get in. The only criticism is the dumb booking procedure for the steam room and sauna. You get one free go per appartment. They are hardly used, and im sure it would serve the residence well to open it up for free use for all residence. They are large enough to cope with a few people in, and it seems a waste having them empty all the time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have just read last review and we too were at the Les Fermes d Emiguy between the 26th Jan and 02 Feb 2013. I agree with most of the last comments. There were four of us sharing a six bed apartment and would not advise six people to do so. The itinerary and having to clean apartment were a bit of a pain but not off putting. We have got used to 4/5 star accommodation as we get older and although the apartments (especially bedrooms) were a little small (not bijout though) they were clean and practical.

As we only paid just over £500 for the apartment for the week I must say it was great value. This was our first time at Les Gets and we will definitely return due to what the resort has to offer, the convenience of location of apartment and the Portes du Soleil range. The best accolade we could give is that we would use these apartments again if travelling as a party of four. If just the two of us visiting we would consider one of the hotels as some looked very nice.

I would place our rating at 3.5-4.0/5.0 for the accommodation and a big 5.0/5.0 for Les Gets itself (No smoking in all bars is a big plus, sorry to smokers nothing personal).

If you fancy a good value, filling snack, then you must visit Le 412 on the high street. "The American" baguette is a real bargain and excellent taste with all fresh ingredients (so good we visited twice). The Gentleman preparing the food is a fountain of knowledge and made a good recommend for a restaurant - Le Copeaux (food was great) - Sorry I have forgotten his name, but well worth a visit after a beer or two in the Ba Bar.

ONE BIG WARNING - If you are thinking of using Morz-Express as your transfer agent please read the reviews of this company on Trip Advisor first !!!

All in all you get what you pay for with the apartments, we are house proud people and would happily use again if travelling as a party of more than two or three.

Room Tip: Keep on at the staff for your key although generally wont release before allotted time (5pm in a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJB196264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have just literally returned from a week's stay at Les Fermes apartments, and wanted to write a review of the accommodation, whilst it is still fresh in my mind. There were 4 adults in our party, the apartment we stayed in was supposedly suitable for 6-8 people, but there is absolutely no way 6 to 8 people would be able to fit in e.g. the two bedrooms were very tiny, so small you could not even walk around the end of the beds. If you were the other side of the bed you had to crawl across your partner in the night to go to the toilet! There was very little storage in the bedrooms, and no storage for luggage anywhere in the apartment, and we had tons! Fortunately we were able to use one of the bunk beds in the hallway (yes the hallway) to store our bags on. The overly large dining table (+ 8 chairs) took up a considerable amount of the not overly large lounge/kitchen area. The sofa could only sit 4 people at a push so anyone else (if there were 6-8 people) would have to spend the evening sitting on a hard chair!

There was no Sky or any English channels, and not even a DVD player, and no wi-fi connection at all. We were shocked to discover that neither the en-suite bathroom or the shower room had a toilet (?). There was a separate toilet, which meant that there was one toilet for supposedly 6-8 people. Interestingly you could sit on the toilet and have a chat with your friends in the lounge, as the apartment was so compact and the walls were so thin.

Although our paper work and adverts for this accommodation stated you could have entry to your apartment by 3.00 (which we already thought was rather late!), we were told upon arrival that we could not get into our apartment until 5.00. I do not understand why as all occupiers are required to clean their apartment before they vacate, and to vacate by 10.00! So what happens in the 7 hours between 10.00 and 5.00 if the apartments are already clean?!!

But on the plus side the reception staff were lovely and extremely helpful. The apartments were clean, and we had plenty of hot water because a previous occupier had jammed a match stick in, turning the water heater off automatic, so we had plenty of hot water (by default).

The best thing I can stay about these apartments is that they are in a good location for the main lifts, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived at Les Fermes Emiguy Residence at around midday on a Saturday in August 2012. We'd been very kindly given a lift there by the owner of The Rhodos Hotel in Morzine on his way to the airport but discovered on arrival that the reception was closed until 2:00pm. No matter; we hung around reception, drank a little coffee, mooched around outside, had a cigarette or two, and precisely on-time the two receptionists arrived.
The male of the duo, who was extremely efficient took our details etc., filled us in with everything on offer, including a morning bread/croissant delivery service which can be ordered up until 7:00pm the night before, gave us a pair of keys - one with a magnetic keyring to enter security doors - and showed us to our apartment.
Speaking of security doors, please don't let them slam shut, it can get a bit wearing after a while!
Once inside, the apartment felt a little cramped at first, but everything does when you're used to a house and once we'd sorted ourselves out and grabbed a little shopping from Carrefour just up the road, we quickly began to feel at home.
There were one or two things missing from the apartment like sheets and towels for a short while but we immediately told the good folks at reception and they gave us everything we needed within an hour or so.
You'll have to make your own bed, but so what? Everything you might need was there and in perfect working order; including coffee machine, kettle, microwave and dishwasher.
The view from our ground-floor apartment patio - where, being smokers we spent rather a lot of time - was lovely apart from the two wholly unloved dogs across the car park that spent most of there lives tied up in the pouring rain without adequate facilities. One of them got out one day though and came over and made friends, as did a beautiful, big, smoky grey cat one night. Send them our love!
We didn't visit Les Gets for anything other than relaxation, pleasant views and a little light walking, which is a pity because the whole place seems to be entirely dedicated to the sport of mountain biking. The chair lifts (or flying sofas, as I call them) in the centre only went up and not down! They just ferried cycles and cyclists to the top so they could hurl themselves down again - and again, and again.
Anyhoo, our stay at Les Fermes Emiguy Residence was a very pleasant one, it rained most days but we live in a hot, dry country and so it made a nice change for a week. The reception staff were excellent, spoke perfect English and helped us in any way they could. There's even free coffee in the lounge area!
They also have an outdoor pool, an indoor pool and even one disguised as a table. Pools everywhere!
It's nice, you'll like it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, just behind reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here in January with my partner and we thought the apartment was gorgeous. We had problems through the company we booked with and were upgraded to a larger apartment which was a bonus, so I didn't see the smaller ones. It was really clean and modern, 2 bathrooms, great kitchen facilities.
The main ski lift was a bit of a walk, especially carrying skis etc with you, but it wasn't a huge problem. We did find the paths around the outside of the hotel very icy, but we didn't particularly mind. Our room had some very low beams in it which meant that if you needed the loo in the night, you either needed to stoop to get the bathroom or turn the light on. I did have a few knocks, but again, the beam added a nice touch to the room!
My partners' family also stayed here but their experience was almost the complete opposite of ours and they vowed never to stay again. I on the other hand had a pleasant stay and with such lovely rooms, I would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloverUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having read all of the reviews prior to arrival we were pleasantly surprised. Reception area is really nice.
Check-in was swift and the receptionist was very helpful. We had arranged for Ski passes to be delivered to the chalet and these were given to us when we checked in, we were able to arrange for wifi for the week also.
We were a family of six adults staying in a 8 person apartment which was adequate for our needs. The kitchen was well equipped and enabled us to cook various meals easily which we were able to eat at the huge dining table. The sofa was not the most comfortable and the TV lacked any english channels or ways of connecting devices such as ipods.
The highlighted problem about insufficient hot water is evident but we spoke to the reception and they came up to our apartment and showed us how to boost the water heater, which enabled us to have baths in the evening when we returned from skiing.
We had a apartment with two floors, the bathroom upstairs was in the eaves and the shower is ideal for for anyone under 5ft not 6ft adults, the bathroom is spacious though. The bedrooms were an adequate size with very good storage and hanging space. There needs to be some way to open the skylight window as you need to stand on the bed and be quite tall.
Filling out the itinery was a pain but it only takes about 15mins, you have until the Monday to do this.
Bread Croissants and pain au chocolat can be ordered each evening for breakfast.
The brown carpets in the bedrooms are not suitable as they show up every bit of dirt and fluff.
The swimming pool area is very nice, you need to pre book use of sauna at reception.
The ski lockers in the basement were very well heated, no wet boots in the morning. There are no benches in the ski room so putting on boots is a pain. Leaving the complex in the morning was mainly via the reception even though signs stated not to, as there was no other option. It is a 10 minute walk to the nearest chair lift (Chavannes Express)
Checking out requires you to book a room inspection for the morning of departure, this is done the night before. You have to leave at 10am but you are able to leave your luggage and skis in the luggage room in reception.

Room Tip: Go for a larger size room than your party. Rooms over the front of complex get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#12 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy

Property: Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy
Address: Route du Front de NeigeLieu-dit le Clos, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet and Priceline so you can book your Lagrange Prestige Residence Les Fermes d'Emiguy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing