We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Staff et Ski Guides et Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferme De Montagne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferme De Montagne
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceptional Staff et Ski Guides et Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

What an exceptional bunch of young service staff. At first the very expensive package raised a lot of questions on my mind to choose this property. However if you can afford it, dont miss the opportunity to experience the following in this order:

- Exceptional Service by the young team of ski guides and service staff including the Chef
(Alex et Andrew - my sons favourite, I didnt get the name of the girl who served us at breakfast and sometimes at dinner - but she read my mind easily and that made a big difference)
- Skiing in Les Gets
- Pick up and drop facility
- Exceptional masseuse
- Some very unique creations on the dinner menu
- Cosy Chalet with beautiful night sky views of the stars
- Some very nice people as your neighbous during dinner and during the day

Cons

- Very Expensive (For some, maybe not)
- I had to (and so did some other guests I spoke to) had to ask for bathroom slippers:)
- Wi Fi was as good as non-functional. So be prepared for not being able to Skype or browse
easily

I will be back very simply to be amazed by the young team running this place. Its simply unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUTANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    7
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at this wonderful chalet. The team working here are amazing. Everyone happy and sincere and eager to help. Their suggestions for ski areas and restaurants really made our ski days full of great memories. The chalet is clean and comfortable and furnished to an excellent standard. Our room was a bit small but not too small. The food and wine however were fantastic, topped by the excellent service this really was the highlight. Thanks to Tom, Billy and the girls for making this a trip to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryamatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My first visit to "Les Gets" and I must say I was surprised by both the size of the village and the extensive ammount of skiing available within reach of the village. The chalet is both compact and cosy albeit the rooms are a tad on the small (cramped) size, the facilities offered by Ferme de Montagne range from a private pick up from the airport/train station,an individual ski host/guide, Sauna, outside hot tub, beauty therapist, ang gourmet food. From my own personal view point the dinning experience, with such great food and service was the highlight of my stay, the talents of Scott, Ben and John in their cooking and presentation of lovely food was excellent and the the front of house team headed by Kate and Nickie (who has an extensive knowledge of the in house wine list) and ably supported by Beth, Mel, Sam, Michael, Billy, Tom, Alex and Andrew just made the whole dinning experience more memorable, well done guys!! I guess it would be fair to say that the owners have created something a tad unique in offering this silver service five star culinary event, situated within the beautiful scenery of the French Alps!

Lastly and just to reiterate comments made by others guests, the chalet is in a good location, offers good facilities, is clean and cosy, serves lovely food, and has a great team of guys and gals that make all the wheles turn smoothly and professionally.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are the quietest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Our first time skiing anywhere, and wow we have been spoilt...

The very, very good!

- Every member of the team that you interact with. They really are super friendly, and although probably heard the same questions a million times - they still show interest! We chatted mostly to Beth because she was our guide, abut everyone was good fun!

- I am fussy eater, the menu pushes your boundaries and is fantastic. Also I don't eat fish so the substituted.

- Access to the ski resorts, super easy and if you want you can walk back or ski back (or guide will pick you up!)

- Other guests, met some lovely people - all encouraging us due to our lack of Skiing knowledge. The team + other couples make the place somewhere you want to come back to.

Good:

- Location, easy to get to and obviously transfers mean there really is no hassle for you.
- Rooms are good (not spectacular) and a bit noisy but after all it is a wooden chalet!

The not so good:

- The owners. If you are going to ask a question then at least listen to the answer? It really is rude to ask a question then be scanning the room for your "repeat guests" who are obviously more important (and perhaps rightly so).

It would have actually been better if you just left it to your team to do the chatting, that way all our interactions would have been 5 star. But because you are visible, and greeting some guests like long lost relatives and giving the others fake hellos - it becomes annoying. We are obviously not a repeat customer and not important to you.

And to be fair - it is your choice!

I would like to note, we didn't really talk to Henry but he did check us out, and that was all good.

Darren & Fliccy

P.S thanks again to the team and enjoy the rest of your season out there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I were lucky to stay just a couple of nights at this wonderful chalet in Les Gets. It is perfectly located for ski in and ski out.

The owners at the Ferme have got it so right! Everything from the food, drinks, atmosphere, attention to detail and friendly efficient service was amazing. The complimentary ski guiding is just fabulous and gave me confidence on the slopes. I didn't even have to look at the piste map once!

We really enjoyed the food especially the tasting menu which was modern, experimental but without being pretentious. The dining room is a beautiful space with a well stocked bar. The staff were happy to let us try drinks and create cocktails to our exact requests.

There is a spa downstairs where you can enjoy a lovely massage after a hard day on the slopes and it was great that a 30 minute massage was included in our package. We didn't get to try the jacuzzi.

I would say that the bedrooms are on the small side, however they are full of charm and character. We were childfree for these couple of days so this didn't bother us. The lounge area was also on the small side but lovely and cosy. We feel it would not be appropriate to bring our children as our youngest is still a toddler but we are happy to have discovered a real gem of a place for us grown ups to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

It’s with mixed emotions that my wife and I offer this review. We have many positive comments to offer about the staff who attended to all of our needs; however, we were disappointed in the failure of the owners to stand behind an event they planned on our behalf that did not come close to living up to the expectations they created.

Furthermore, we found the interactions with the owners to be a bit forced, contrived, and occasionally overwhelming. When you pay the rates that are charged by this property, you expect a bit more discretion and privacy – we certainly didn’t need or want the daily “chat” at breakfast and dinner that was thrust upon us.

Speaking of dinner, the chefs are phenomenal, bit the flexibility is minimal. If you come with children – and actually enjoy spending your meals with your children – you may want to think twice about staying here. You’re encouraged to have them eat at an earlier hour than you with any other children on the property, and they are not given a choice of meals at all, but rather presented with the chef’s kids' meal of the day. Again, not what I would expect given the premium price.

In the interest of balance, I want to once again acknowledge the staff. They are comprised mostly of 21-25 year old men and women who seem to be on break from University, in-between school and life, or more generally adventuring a bit before settling into the workforce. Almost without exception, they are earnest, enjoyable, and professional. It is they who earned the 3 stars in this review.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

3rd or 4th visit. We love this place and choose it as the venue for our 40th birthday celebrations. Everything was perfect. Fireworks, champagne all laid on as a surprise. Suzanne, Henry and their fantastic team saw to our every whim. The chef is amazing and all other 8 couples where stunned with the menu. Very inventive and exciting. The Ferme is a beautiful venue for a ski weekend with the perfect position and ski guides to allow you to make the most of every minute on the slopes. Ski shop 2 minute walk, cars on standby to ferry you about. Yes the rooms arent huge but this is typical of all ski chalets. Beds are really comfy!! The common areas are more than adequate and its really all about whats outside! We really did feel like it was a home from home for the weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.6 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme De Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme De Montagne

Property: Ferme De Montagne
Address: 1020 route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Gets
#5 Spa Hotel in Les Gets
#7 Family Hotel in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferme de Montagne is a luxurious and lovingly restored old Savoyard farmhouse nestled in the tranquil hamlet of La Turche in Les Gets with stunning views of the mountains, valley and pine forests. Conveniently located, just 1 hour from Geneva, with ski-in ski-out access to over 650km of pistes in the Portes du Soleil ski domain. Ferme de Montagne has established a reputation for outstanding food and excellent service over the last 10 years. We offer a package experience for long and short break stays within a boutique hotel setting in elegant, luxurious and beautifully-fitted, comfortable rooms with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferme De Montagne Hotel Les Gets
Ferme De Montagne Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing