We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday - Summertime in the Alps”
Review of Chalet Virolet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Virolet
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday - Summertime in the Alps”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Chalet Virolet in Les Gets. The standard of accommodation is superb, and nothing is too much trouble for Craig and Jen, the hosts. So many things to do in the Alps there isn't enough time to fit them all in - you and your family will not have time to be bored! At the end of busy day nothing is nicer than returning to the chalet to unwind and sample the delicious food and wine on offer, while the children watch the latest movies on the giant TV or play on the X box. I was tempted not to write this as we would like to keep to ourselves, but that wouldn't be fair..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Facric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my 4th visit back to Chalet Virolet and the place and hosts are still the bees knees. To maintain the standards as they have done makes it an easy decision to keep going back - easy to get to , relaxing , great ski area and a bit of luxury ... whats not to like ? Look forward to next year. Thanks once again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I recently visited Chalet Virolet with 3 girlfriends for a girly ski weekend. We arrived to homemade cake and cups of tea on Saturday afternoon and were promptly escorted into town and the ski hire shop by chalet host, Craig. The chalet is only a short walk (5 mins) from the town and the ski shop is right at the bottom of the main lifts! They have a very handy dry room where you can leave your skis and boots over night so you don't have to walk around in ski boots or lug skis to and from the Chalet.
The Chalet it's self is very clean, comfortable and stylish. It is obvious the owners have put a lot of thought into the practicality of the facilities as well as the appearance. After a hard days skiing there is nothing better than a steam, followed by jacuzzi and glass or two of red wine. All followed up with a carefully considered menu and perfectly prepared 3 course meal. What more could you want when you are 'up the alps'. Jen even made me a special cake on our first night as the trip was to celebrate my birthday!
I can't recommend Chalet Virolet highly enough and would certainly return. Les Gets is a fabulous little resort, perfect for all standards of skiing and staying with Craig and Jen is the best way to experience it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Craig and Jen were amazing hosts right from the very first email. They responded to all of our questions, escorted us over to rent our ski gear, and took time to point out bars and other places of interest in town. Jen even made us a reservation for a night out and baked a birthday cake for our friend! We shared the common area with another family and a couple, and it was the perfect mixture for our girls weekend away. Plenty of time for the hot tub, sauna, and a even a bit of TV! (they have an extensive selection of dvd's!) Dinners were fabulous and I'm still not sure where Jen found the time to make everything she did. The rooms were clean and they had extra bathrooms in the hallway (4 girls can be bathroom chaos!) I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: This would be a great chalet to rent out for a larger group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadra16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Craig and Jen thank you so much for welcoming the four of us into your chalet and making us feel right at home. It felt like we had been friends for a long time sharing a glass of wine and dinner with the both of you. Your attention to detail, the location of the chalet, the ease concerning the ski hire, the afternoon cakes and apero just topped off the first class experience. Thank you as well for all your help in organising the weekend with two girls living in London and two in Paris your patience and experience ensured that everything went smoothly and with no stress. Jen we are all still dreaming about the mexican entrée you prepared! We will defintatly be back! Kim, Sadie, Annie and Clea x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a lovely time at Chalet Virolet. Everything exceeded our expectations in respect of chalet, food and hospitality. The attention to detail paid by our hosts Craig and Jen ensured that from the time of our arrival to the moment of our depature that we had nothing to think about except for where to ski and they even had excellent advice in that respect. Lots of snow and great skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuka-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Another year, another stay at Craig & Jen Lloyd's fabulous Chalet Virolet in Les Gets, near Geneva. All inclusive, breakfast, afternoon tea and excellent dinner with nice wines. Great town, very friendly, lots of ski shops with rental, fine restaurants and loads of green, blue, red and black runs. Amazing chalet, only a few years old in superb condition. Has a hot tub outside and a steam room inside. great log fire and hospitality. Nine Kanes and Snells had a very fine week on the piste. Snow was good too!

*****

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianKane_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.3 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Boomerang
Hotel Le Boomerang
#7 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Virolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Virolet

Property: Chalet Virolet
Address: 1600 route des Grandes Alpes, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an owner run, luxury catered ski chalet in the picturesque family ski resort of Les Gets at the heart of the Portes Du Soleil. Our aim is for you to have the most comfortable and enjoyable ski holiday possible and the luxurious chalet (with hot tub and steam room)and plentiful home cooked food will no doubt help us to achieve this aim! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing