We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Feb break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Feb break!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We really enjoyed our break at Chamois d'Or which exceeded our expectations all round. As a property it's a superb refurb, and clearly a large investment has been made by the owners.

The location is great, and the recommended ski hire shop at the foot of the lifts has storage so that you don't have to cart back skis to the hotel. Don't panic, it's a short amble (5 mins or so) to the slopes; but the nice thing is once you're done you can deposit your skis and then potter about the village.

The hotel staff are just lovely and we were made very welcome and looked after really well. The vibe here is relaxed and friendly.

The food is terrific - half board meant a set menu, but with flexibility around the things you didn't like which was ideal. My kids ate from the set rather than kids' menu but, given what we had each evening; I imagine that menu would also be good. Breakfast was also very good - a small buffet selection plus hot options to order.

Drinks and wine were reasonably priced but if you want to push the boat out on the wine list, there's a wide range of choices.

The games room & spa wasn't open, but we're looking forward to these being available when we go back next season - dates already booked!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mob767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Fantastic hotel with warm and friendly staff! The standard of accomodation is exceptional with fine attention to detail.
The restaurant is also well worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel - some of the best dining I have experienced on my visits to The Alps.
Will be sure to return there on my next visit to Les Gets!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriswatts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Fantastic break in a fabulous hotel . The Chamois lives up to the highest of expectations and more . A friendly , accomodating team of staff pander to your every need . Stunningly refurbished to exacting standards by the friendly welcoming owner .
I wouldnt hesitate to recommend the Chamois d'or and cant wait to revisit in a couple of weeks ..

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Massive thanks to all at the gorgeous Chamois d'or, you made our stay in Les Gets amazing. The hotel is stunning, comfy beds, thick carpets, fluffy towels, great food and all provided by the happiest staff in the Alps. Can't wait to come back

Room Tip: You can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We visited France multiple times for ski holidays and decided to try les Gets this year.

Les Gets is a really nice area and much bigger than expected. Main drawback is the bad connection with the Avoriaz region (especially for snowboarders the track is too flat). The village is very lovely and multiple bars and restaurants are very good. The hotel location is excellent.

The Chamois d’or just opened in December 2012 and is as new as it gets in Les Gets… The rooms are very nice and spacious, in a modern Savoyardic style. We stayed in two rooms.

The hotel is not finished yet, so there is no spa/sauna/hot tub/hammam. The lobby is not an area to have a relaxed time. So if you stay here: you;ve got your room and the indigo bar to go to. The bar is nice in daytime, but the very special “Indigo”blue coloring was for us the reason to go there only once.

The restaurant of Indigo is In short: very good food, average atmosphere, music is not the strongest point of this place (the same for 5 days)

The staff of Chamois d’Or is good to excellently motivated, but they will have to become more a team. Everything is new and personnel are obviously seeking for structure and routine. In time, this will come, no worries…Cleaning is average, don't look under your bed: a bit disappointing.

Staying in Chamois is not cheap and prices seem to be adjusted as if the hotel is fully running and that’s not the reality (yet).

In conclusion: a new, nice hotel in a lovely ski area with minor drawbacks. If we’ll visit it again will depend on their future reviews about the spa/restaurant and cleaning. If no good, there are a lot of other options in Les Gets.

Room Tip: Room 1 was especially made for disabled persons. Very quiet! The mirror and the shower were also ada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wLeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from along weekend having stayed in the hotels predecessor nearly 10 years ago. What a difference. The staff could not have been more helpful, food was lovely and the stay was great. There were only 2 slight issues(and this is being very picky) : the Indigo Bar is superb but the band could be clearly heard on the second floor until very late on Saturday/early Sunday and there was also something very strange going on with the plug sockets which only seemed to work when the lights were on - very strange. The WiFi also did not work on the second floor but think there was just something wrong with it that weekend. Already planning the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Recently re-furbished under new owners, the Chamois is not quite matching up to the rates it is charging at present. We just had a short 3 night stay - first and foremost the staff were very willing and capable - made us feel very welcome. We negotiated a B&B deal - though did have dinner one night - and it was an exceptional meal! Very positive feedback from other guests we spoke to re the food - and breakfast was good too - although quality and quantity seemed to vary each day.
Our only real complaints were with relatively minor things in the rooms( but they add up when you are paying circa £200 per night!). We appreciate they were only recently re-furbished so will hopefully get sorted - but - no hooks for coats/salopettes on the wall (surely a must in a ski property!?), no bedside table(or shelf) on one side - and an odd circular glass one on the other. Very strange configuration of plugs/TV lead at head height on wall - both unsightly and impractical. Also suggest some net curtains - as overlooked on two sides.No bathrobes provided - again - disappointing for costs involved, especially as many guests like us are travelling light for long weekends with carry on baggage. Their spa is due to open shortly - so hopefully another reason to sort this particular issue! We did get an untimely visit from a maid who came in and woke/shocked us early one morning without knocking - but I guess that could happen at any hotel!
Aside from those points, we do think that once addressed this is going to be an excellent property with a lot to offer. The bathroom and beds were lovely and there was good (and warm!) wardrobe space - it was just frustrating that the previous issues had not been considered - perhaps an allowance with better rates for early guests until the property is fully finished?
Either way, we enjoyed our stay and thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJohn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Property: Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Address: 826 rue du Centre, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamois d’Or Hotel is an extensively refurbished luxury boutique hotel ideally situated in the heart of Les Gets in the French Alps, only a short distance from the slopes. You will find elegant contemporary interiors, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere, making it the ideal destination for a perfect ski holiday in Les Gets, ensuring you feel at home whether by yourself, on a family ski holiday, with friends or on a short romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamois Hotel Les Gets
Chamois Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing