We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

A newly refurbished hotel with a fantastic chef and extremely helpful staff. We have stayed before in Les Gets and there are hotels with better locations and facilities like spas but if they continue with the same chef and staff. We will definitely be using them again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Our delicious food and standards of guest service are certainly attracting some attention this winter! Many thanks for your feedback, we've had a tonne more snow since your stay in December, fingers crossed we can tempt you back this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Chamois d'Or Hotel is a truly unique experience.
This becomes apparent immediately upon arrival as you meet the staff.
Who greet you with warm and personal welcomes, this etiquette was present through the stay. Making you feel at home with such kindness, the staff are genuinely really nice people and this shows! Not like your average travel-lodge staff that share those dull, unenthusiastic, rude nonchalant responses. These staff go out of their way to make you feel comfort and at ease.
All this makes the already wonderful setting even better!

The accommodation is modern, clean and stylish. Bedrooms are a great size with fabulous views of the snowy mountains, and are kitted out with all necessary appliances. Bathrooms are sleek and spacious, we had a bath in ours which was lovely after a hard session out of the mountain! The lobby and bar are also kitted out with lovely furniture, which is comfortable and stylish, couldn't ask for more! The Chamois d'Or Hotel has a fantastic bar which features great a setting and some special brews! I enjoyed the amazing 9% Mutzig Beer which is on tap and a must try!

Now for the food! Oh the food.
Its hard to know where to start but as an aperitif; I'd say it's safe to say, its the best food I believe I've ever had!
Now that may sound like quite a statement but put it this way, I can still taste that slow cooked Normandy Beef Cheek or the Roasted Scottish Salmon.
The food is the bomb and if you visit you wont be going out for dinner anywhere else I can assure you.

I think the following is a great sentiment to the effort this place goes to to make you feel at home:
So me and a fellow friend arrive back to the hotel, knackered from snowboarding all day, we are warmly greeted back and the staff take our snowboarding gear of us and store it away, upon entering the bar we sit down and begin to gain composure after an exhausting day. There is a selection of a hot drink and various gateaux, tarts and other delicious confectioneries available from 5PM, but we were an hour or so late and knew the chef would be now preparing dinner so didn't expect to catch in on this today.
Just a passing note, I was made aware that the fabulous kitchen staff create everything from scratch from Chocolate Gateaux's to Pear sorbet.
We were wrong however, the barman approaches us and asks us if we would like our afternoon confectioneries and a hot drink and that he would make a special request to the chef for us. Delighted, of course, we accepted and enjoyed some of the best pastries with a hot chocolate.
I believe that is a sentiment to how the staff will go very much out the way to make your stay a very special and unique, unforgettable experience.
On behalf of myself and my friend, I'd like to thank all the staff involved in making our stay, such a special one. Will defiantly be returning in the foreseeable future!
Cheers, Lawrence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Lawrence, thanks so much for your amazing feedback, the entire team are thrilled with your review! It's so nice when our guests recognise the huge lengths we go to to make a stay unique and unforgettable. Your comments can only serve to motivate the team further and improve our standards too! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscenicka Draga, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

excellent choice! great location, in the center, near ski lifts. service was perfect and restaurant is fantastic!! the chef made every dish fabolous!! everybody was very friendly and willing to help at any time. The rooms are very modern and perfectly clean.
I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaStaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for your great review! We're delighted that the Hotel Chamois d'Or met your expectations and we're looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a great time over New Year at the Chamois. The food was fantastic, best pea risotto ever! The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. It made a great start to 2014. We wish you all the very best. The Edwards family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddytyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
And a happy new year to you too Edwards family! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Alan's pea risotto is indeed delicious and our chirpy team are always happy to help our guests. We hope you'll be back at some point this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a fantastic 2 weeks over Christmas staying at the Chamois D'or...

Despite Easyjet not being able to land at Geneva and arrival some 6 hrs later than planned we were welcomed with hot beef sandwiches and hot soup by friendly staff at an unfriendly hour!

The rooms are quite funky with modern en suites and lashings of hot water...the beds are comfortable and kept amazingly clean by the housekeeping staff.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the main 6 man chair lift and is ideally placed to take take advantage of the apres ski activities on the return journey.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and most welcoming...all take the time of day to wish you a good days skiing and attend to any of your requirements.

The food is probably the best I have ever had throughout my 30 years of winter holidays..the kitchen staff work incredibly hard to deliver constant high class cuisine and the waiting staff are very attentitive...

Looking forward to my return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
What a fantastic review, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our festive celebrations. It's also great to hear that our Housekeeping team are living up to their excellent reputation! Our whole team have been extensively trained in the highest standards of customer care, we take a genuine interest in the likes and dislikes of our guests and we're really looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed with friends and children for New Year ski holiday.
Staff were well organised prior to our stay and children were made welcome too.
Food and service was faultless. Standards were maintained throughout the stay.
A great experience. I will be back! Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to look after you and your group during your New Year holiday. We're really proud of the very high standards that we're setting at the Hotel Chamois d'Or this winter, it's great to hear that you found them faultless and consistent. Please do get in touch if you'd like us to book the same bedroom selection for you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My boyfriend and I booked our first ski holiday together and we were so happy we picked The Chamois d'Or Hotel. From start to finish we were so well looked after and given lots of information about the resort which we'd both not been to before.
The room was kitted out perfectly and we slept really well especially after a long day on the slopes! Breakfast was lovely and it's great to be able to have a proper full english breakfast in the morning. Dinner was also really well prepared and there was lots of variety including regional dishes.
When we wanted to ski in Morzine the hotel offered to drop us to the lift which was hugely appreciated. It's a really short distance from Geneva Airport giving us the maximum amount of time on the slopes. We look forward to seeing the spa and pool opening soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to look after you during your first ski holiday together. We hope you found the hotel romantic! We'll keep you posted on the developments of our spa complex. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Property: Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Address: 826 rue du Centre, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamois d’Or Hotel is an extensively refurbished luxury boutique hotel ideally situated in the heart of Les Gets in the French Alps, only a short distance from the slopes. You will find elegant contemporary interiors, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere, making it the ideal destination for a perfect ski holiday in Les Gets, ensuring you feel at home whether by yourself, on a family ski holiday, with friends or on a short romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamois Hotel Les Gets
Chamois Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing