We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Perfect….just perfect!

I can't remember why we chose the Chamois d'Or in Les Gets but I am so glad we did! It is like Mary Poppins "Practically perfect in every way!"

What makes the Chamois d'Or stand out from the other hotels we have stayed at is the exceptional team of people they have assembled to look after and cater for your every need. From reception to the restaurant and bar, kitchen to housekeeping the team all work so well together to make this one of the most exceptional holidays we have experienced. Normally there is a weak link in a team…..but we failed to notice it!

The rooms are great…we chose a 'classic' …. just because we didn't intend to spend too long in there! It was perfectly cleaned and presented, small …. but ideal for what we wanted, the bed was supremely comfortable. The restaurant has a fantastic atmosphere when busy…not too quiet and not too noisy…but the food is definitely fine dining! The chef is very creative …. classic dishes with a modern twist. The bar is the perfect place for some apres ski and/or a pre/post dinner drink….and you know what? … you can actually chat and hold a conversation with fellow skiers, guests, your partner and the bar staff.

The welcome at reception was perfect …. a welcoming and inviting smile with personal attention to detail make you feel instantly at home, introducing you to everything the hotel and the area has to offer, if you need more info just ask!

Couple of minor gripes are the lack of a roomy ski locker area (its currently a very small cupboard to the right of reception) … and … the website says its a 'Spa'…currently its not! But neither these items detract from the quality of the Chamois d'Or and the fantastic team!

We loved our stay and recommend the Chamois d'Or to travellers who want a first-class relaxing stay in Les Gets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks so much for your very lovely review, we're delighted that we've inspired a Mary Poppins moment! Feedback that praises our team and their attention to detail is music to our ears as everyone has been trained to an exceptionally high standard. It's great to hear that everyone worked hard to make sure your stay was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (sorry, I couldn't help myself!).

As for your gripes, please be assured that they are ours too! Our on-site spa didn't open on time as planned due to rather huge unforeseen building problems but everything is being done to open the spa as quickly as possible. The new facilities will also include a larger boot storage area. We really hope we can welcome you back again to see both areas in all their glory.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We enjoyed staying at the hotel, it's quite a good spec (refurbished 2 years ago), comfy(firm) bed, nespresso in room, good shower, lovely restaurant with fantastic food (set menu, limited choices but all good - not too far short of Michelin star quality IMO), staff all friendly( mostly British seasonaires). Not too far from the ski lifts, maybe 5 mins at a decent pace. Would stay again (-:

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staycationer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Chamois d'Or. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We (couple and teenaged daughter) enjoyed a fabulous one week long ski holiday based in Chamois d'Or in February 2014. The hotel surpassed all our expectations with its high quality friendly service and amazing dining experience. We would have no hesitation in recommending it during the ski season and it would undoubtedly make a great place to stay at any time of the year - there is lots to do around Les Gets even when the snow disappears.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

That's a really lovely review, thanks so much for your feedback! it was a real pleasure to look after you and your family during your stay with us and we're delighted to hear that you'll recommend the hotel. Les Gets does indeed have some excellent summer facilities and activities on offer, it's our favorite time of year! We'd love to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thankyou to all the fabulous staff for making it a most enjoyable stay. Delicious food, great wine, fabulous cocktails, perfect location, very good shower...a great hotel & yes I can't wait for the spa facilities & ill be back 100%.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AnnabelsCabaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us and also for the delightful pictures you took of your meals! Hopefully they'll give other travellers a really good idea of our high standards. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I and another couple spent 3 fantastic nights at this great hotel. Extremely hospitable and welcoming staff, great location, delicious food and far too much sambucca in the bar! From the moment we walked through the door to the second we left we were treated unbelievably well. I would recommend this place now and when the spa is completed it will be a gold mine. One to put on anyone's list for a great holiday. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review Jonathan, needless to say we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All members of our team have been trained in very high standards, but at the same time they've got the kind of personalities and characters that want to engage and look after people. They'll even take responsibility for your Sambucca consumption if you ask nicely! We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay for 4 nights at this hotel in the centre of Les Gets. Great location close to the slopes and the shops yet very peaceful rooms. We had our two year old with us and the staff were excellent at entertaining him, preparing delicious meals and providing him with toys.
Super restaurant with michelin standard meals, huge breakfast, friendly bar, great staff, stylish rooms. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellowmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent short break with us - because the hotel is just 1 hour from Geneva airport, we're becoming quite a convenient destination for short ski breaks! I'm really delighted that our team went the extra mile to make sure you had a comfortable and relaxing break, please come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The food is fantastic, Alan the Head Chef knows how to prepare a Michelin star standard of food without all the fuss. Great attention to detail by both the kitchen and front of house make this the place to eat in Les Gets. The atmosphere in the bar after had a great vibe, the bonus was seeing the end of Wales thrash France on the large screens. Loved the furniture from the Dorchester hotel (when it was refurbished) all in all the place to be seen this season. Great to hear its open all summer too, will be popping in for a beer or two and deco for dinner! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Book early as its selling out fast for rooms and dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Indeed, Alan's food is receiving some serious acclaim this season! Many thanks for your lovely review, and it was our pleasure to pop the end of the rugby on for you. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Address: 826 rue du Centre, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range: £103 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamois d’Or Hotel is an extensively refurbished luxury boutique hotel ideally situated in the heart of Les Gets in the French Alps, only a short distance from the slopes. You will find elegant contemporary interiors, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere, making it the ideal destination for a perfect ski holiday in Les Gets, ensuring you feel at home whether by yourself, on a family ski holiday, with friends or on a short romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamois Hotel Les Gets
Chamois Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing