We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday, can highly recommend this Challet”
Review of The Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nest
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant holiday, can highly recommend this Challet”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Beautiful location and Challet, great hosts and amazing food.
Would highly recomend others and would happily go back and stay again.
Winter or summer seems to offer great holidays.
Ski area- massive so lots to do if returning.
Transfers resonably priced and lots of help from Carl and Carla for transport, ski hire and lift passes etc, also booking other food etc.
Highly recommend the Nest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Hannah,

It was great to get to know you and Steve and to hit the slopes with you despite a tremendous fall unfortunately not caught on camera.... Working on those packed lunch menus for next time you come to stay!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a fantastic find for both large groups and those who are happy to take a room or two in a big chalet. It is situated halfway between Les Gets and Morzine and whilst not directly ski in/out, it is barely a 5 minute drive straight on to the Morzine slopes and not much further to the main lifts in either resort. Karl is happy to provide transport which makes life very easy even when having to get kids to lessons in the morning. It all felt very relaxed. The Nest is extremely well appointed - beautiful living space with cosy open fire and a well stocked bar/snack area. The rooms are all a good size and well equipped (our children are now asking why we don't have White Company toiletries at home!) with bath robes, plenty of towels and cosy duvets. The food is out of this world, very tasty and exceptionally well presented locally sourced produce for great suppers - kids also ate a slightly different but equally stunning range earlier in the evening; afternoon tea was delicious and breakfasts to really set you up for a day's skiing. Most of all the welcome and attention from Karl and Cara was superb. There is a large TV and plenty of dvds for children's' downtime and a games room if you can tear yourself away from the table (and good quality wine) at night. A hot tub was also an advantage. The hosts are able to arrange ski hire and passes in advance which was a help to our group. The resorts are very traditional with a good range of bars and restaurants on and off piste and the slopes are good for all abilities - particularly with the easy option of going further afield. We will definitely be going back for more. Check out the Facebook site for live photos!

Room Tip: The four bed room has a Hollywood bathroom en suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sarah,

We so enjoyed having you to stay at The Nest, such a lovely family. We are really looking forward to you coming again next year, and seeing the kids again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have just enjoyed a ski-ing holiday with family and friends based in The Nest. Ages ranged from two and a half to adult serious skiers and boarders. Good food and a high standard of accommodation means we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billericaynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Linda,

We loved having you to stay at The Nest, having the grandchildren here made it a real treat for us, and we imagine a treat for you too. Looking forward to your next trip with the new addition!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a large group of 11 who had extra friends come to stay for meals and enjoyed every minute of it. Cara and Karl were wonderful hosts. The chalet was stunning and large enough to accommodate us all with ease. The food was delicious and menus really well thought out. Nothing we asked for was too much work for them and they were kind and thoughtful regarding our children. I thoroughly recommend this chalet to anyone wanting to be pampered and enjoy the finer things in life. The only very slight downfall is that you're not smack bang in the middle of a village. But if you like peace and quiet, and beautiful mountain scenery, then this is the place for you !!! We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Stunning family room with access to the gardens and jacuzzi. If not the duplex room is stunning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CST74140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Carole,

Thank you for this. We loved meeting you and having you all to stay for the weekend. Such a genuine, fun family and what great kids :-) We're looking forward to you coming to stay again and you're welcome to pop in anytime as you whizz by on your motorbike or Simon on his road bike this Summer!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Big comfortable chalet - extremely well looked after by Karl & Cara with cordon bleu cookery.
We were 7 adults and 8 children ranging from 4 to 15. We had a blast !
Excellent skiing in Les Gets, Morzine & Avoriaz in Pertes du Soleil ski area - even skied over to Switzerland. Access to slopes was a quick car or van ride away with the nearest access point being less than 5 mins away.

Room Tip: There was a hot tub, but no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you all to stay at Half Term. Sorry to hear you're not able to join the Mackays & Gibbs next year! You will have to book another week to come out, Karl has been perfecting his hot chocolate skills especially for Charlie!

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first visit to The Nest and I must say it was an excellent week. The rooms are excellent, cozy and stylish. The lounge is spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent.

A perfect place for a winter break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MartinSydneyDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Martin,

It was very special to spend our first Christmas and first week at The Nest with you and your family - fond memories of a fantastic week!

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Nest is in an excellent location even in the summer months. We had a fantastic stay with our young daughter with beautiful walks around the lakes, fantastic food and extremely comfortable rooms. Our daughter was too young to ski this year, but I expect to make both summer and winter trips back there in the next 12 months.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit2009ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear David,

We really enjoyed having you and your family to stay at The Nest and look forward to you coming again in the winter and teaching your daughters to ski!

Best Wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
1.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#13 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Nagano
Le Nagano
#9 of 18 in Les Gets
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest

Property: The Nest
Address: 5052 route des Grandes Alpes, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a huge detached farmhouse located in Les Gets in the Portes Du Soleil ski area. Built in 1900 the farmhouse has been lovingly renovated into a luxury catered chalet that accommodates up to 15 guests in 5 large en-suite bedrooms. There is a spacious living area with high vaulted ceilings and exposed beams, along with a TV snug a games room with American pool table and a large outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing