We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely chalet, great service”
Review of The Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nest
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely chalet, great service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really nice chalet close to both Les Gets and Morzine. Complimentary lifts to and from the slopes, but if like us you like a bit of independence it is easy to catch the local bus, as bus stop is just outside. It is even possible to walk back from one of the Morzine slopes (probably not in ski boots, but fine in snowboarding boots). Friendly service and excellent food, particularly good for vegetarians. We were made to feel really welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable. Really liked the hot tub and log fire. Would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Beth,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Nest, and the veggie food too! We had a good time with you and Joe, in particular it was great getting out to Mont Cherry and hitting the snow park with you.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Nest is located a short way from the slopes at Les Gets and is very well run by Karl and Cara.
Karl provides a minibus service to and from either the local slopes or further afield to Morzine.
The food is excellent as is the accommodation.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillericayStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Steve,

We had a great week with with your grow. You might be please to hear that we are hoping to keep the mixed berry pavlova on the Menu for next Winter!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spacious, bags of character, amazing food, ideally located, and professionally run, this place provided the ideal base for our skiiing holiday in Les Portes Du Soliel. It's in an excellent location for the slopes, and is sat in the middle of Morzine and Les Gets so it is just a few minutes away from either. We were delivered to the slopes every day within a few minutes of booting up, collected promptly at the end of our day, and there was even a bit of flexibility if we wanted to adjust times a little. I really could write buckets about this place, as I am still on a high from such a great week away. The skiing is excellent if you haven't been to this resort before, and there truly is something for everyone. Cara the Chef and her Chalet Maid Karl are really good hosts too, their menu for the week is very very good. So much so on their night off we were happy to have take away pizza rather than eat out cos we'd felt like we'd already had restaurant standard food all week! Other highlights are the well positioned Hot Tub in the garden, spacious and well thought out rooms, well presented lounge and mezzanine area with the obligatory open fire, nice views from all aspects, a wee hill for the kids to sledge on in the garden etc etc......there's also a pool table and a darts board, although this and the drying room are a little 'basic' compared to the rest, they are still perfectly adequate. The onloy other negative i could find is that the bunks although very comfortable, are not long enough for a 6 footer, but then with the mix of rooms available (it really is quite unique the way they can create different spaces depending on the types of people) this should be avoidable. On the whole, I'd recommend this to anyone that prioritises comfort, convenience, and as much skiing as possible. The price is pretty good too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Rob,

We're glad you enjoyed the holiday, we very much enjoyed having you to stay! Hope you managed to save a few ski runs for next time you come over :-)

We've taken on board that the bunk beds, though made for adults are a bit snug for tall people like yourself. The games room and boot room will be getting an update before next season.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just got back from an amazing trip to the Porte du Soleil ski area, and more specifically 7 wonderful nights at Chalet Nest. In short we had the most incredible week! Hospitality was spot on, with a warm welcome on our arrival. The food was simply delicious, so much so that the group (we had the whole chalet to ourselves) decided that on the hosts night off we'd just get take-away pizza's as there was no point going to a restaurant as the food would undoubtedly be a downgrade from that which we'd been eating at the chalet!

Whilst the Chalet is not directly on the slopes or in town, it is the perfect base for being able to ski the whole area. Equidistant between Les Gets and Morzine means that it's only a very short minibus ride (provided by the hosts) to one of 3 entry points into the lift system. If you want even more independence a hire care with winter tyres would be an option with good parking at the chalet and by the slopes.

Rooms are really well appointed and cosy with very comfortable beds, the perfect end to every adrenaline packed day on the slopes. The communal areas of the Chalet are truly stunning with an open fire and high vaulted ceiling. Hours were spent eating good food and discussing a wide range of topics round the huge dining table.

To sum up, we hadn't even arrived at Geneva airport on the way home and everyone in the group wanted to go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Rich,

Thank you for this review, it means a lot coming from such a well seasoned skier. We had a fantastic week with you all, and enjoyed catching parts of your funny story telling around the table...looking forward to having you all to stay again along with your lovely wife and new addition next time we hope :-)

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Beautiful location and Challet, great hosts and amazing food.
Would highly recomend others and would happily go back and stay again.
Winter or summer seems to offer great holidays.
Ski area- massive so lots to do if returning.
Transfers resonably priced and lots of help from Carl and Carla for transport, ski hire and lift passes etc, also booking other food etc.
Highly recommend the Nest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Hannah,

It was great to get to know you and Steve and to hit the slopes with you despite a tremendous fall unfortunately not caught on camera.... Working on those packed lunch menus for next time you come to stay!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a fantastic find for both large groups and those who are happy to take a room or two in a big chalet. It is situated halfway between Les Gets and Morzine and whilst not directly ski in/out, it is barely a 5 minute drive straight on to the Morzine slopes and not much further to the main lifts in either resort. Karl is happy to provide transport which makes life very easy even when having to get kids to lessons in the morning. It all felt very relaxed. The Nest is extremely well appointed - beautiful living space with cosy open fire and a well stocked bar/snack area. The rooms are all a good size and well equipped (our children are now asking why we don't have White Company toiletries at home!) with bath robes, plenty of towels and cosy duvets. The food is out of this world, very tasty and exceptionally well presented locally sourced produce for great suppers - kids also ate a slightly different but equally stunning range earlier in the evening; afternoon tea was delicious and breakfasts to really set you up for a day's skiing. Most of all the welcome and attention from Karl and Cara was superb. There is a large TV and plenty of dvds for children's' downtime and a games room if you can tear yourself away from the table (and good quality wine) at night. A hot tub was also an advantage. The hosts are able to arrange ski hire and passes in advance which was a help to our group. The resorts are very traditional with a good range of bars and restaurants on and off piste and the slopes are good for all abilities - particularly with the easy option of going further afield. We will definitely be going back for more. Check out the Facebook site for live photos!

Room Tip: The four bed room has a Hollywood bathroom en suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sarah,

We so enjoyed having you to stay at The Nest, such a lovely family. We are really looking forward to you coming again next year, and seeing the kids again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have just enjoyed a ski-ing holiday with family and friends based in The Nest. Ages ranged from two and a half to adult serious skiers and boarders. Good food and a high standard of accommodation means we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billericaynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Linda,

We loved having you to stay at The Nest, having the grandchildren here made it a real treat for us, and we imagine a treat for you too. Looking forward to your next trip with the new addition!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.7 mi away
Chalet Bluebell Les Gets
Chalet Bluebell Les Gets
#3 of 36 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalet Aventure
Chalet Aventure
#2 of 36 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#12 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest

Property: The Nest
Address: 5052 route des Grandes Alpes, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a huge detached farmhouse located in Les Gets in the Portes Du Soleil ski area. Built in 1900 the farmhouse has been lovingly renovated into a luxury catered chalet that accommodates up to 15 guests in 5 large en-suite bedrooms. There is a spacious living area with high vaulted ceilings and exposed beams, along with a TV snug a games room with American pool table and a large outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing