We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay at the Nest”
Review of The Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nest
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent a weekend at the Nest, which wasn't long enough. Great food, hospitality, lift to and from the slopes when we were ready, hot tub - brilliant! Nothing was too much trouble, even ski hire was at the chalet

Room Tip: All rooms are great, comfortable beds and good bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Will,

Thank you for this review and we hope the wedding went well and you are enjoying married life :-)

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Booked The Nest late the place looked great on the website but had a few concerns as there was little to show about he place online by way of reviews etc but the uber efficiency of Cara in answering emails soon put our mind at rest. We have visited Les Get many times and was a little conserned of the location may have been a little far from town and it is always a worry when you have to pay upfront by bank transfer rather than Credit/debit card but that is the norm in France and you can rest assured a more trustworthy couple you could not wish to meet. The location was no issue at all Karl offers pick up and drop off every day right to the lifts or even to the piste just above the Chalet and once you return back to The Nest after a day on the slopes you will not want to leave! Great cake awaits your return and an well stocked honesty bar with supermarket prices! Dinner was a highlight with Restaraunt quality food and good wine. Our 6 year old Daughter was also well looked after and gave Karl a 10 out of ten for her specially requested Yorkshire puddings?

We has room 4 which was fab but got chance to look around most of the rooms and they are all stunning.

If you are planning to visit the area the Nest is A must!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank globalbagtag_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for this. Your little girls was an absolute pleasure to have stay, and we hope we helped in some way to get her out to her ski lessons with some yorkshire pudding temptation!

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We hired out the whole of The Nest with family over the new year and had a fantastic time. The chalet itself is full of character and lovely and welcoming to come back to (the homemade cake helps!) after a day on the slopes.

Cara and Carl were excellent hosts and provided a relaxing atmosphere and mountains of excellent food.

We couldn't of asked for a nicer skiing holiday and we'll definitely be back.

Thanks so much guys!

Laura and Ryan x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malingibounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Laura,

We had such a fab time with you guys - what an absolutely lovely family. There was such a great atmosphere in The Nest all week, you are all so much fun! We really hope you do make it back to stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

P.S hope the wedding planning/wedding is going or has gone well! look forward to hearing more about that too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really nice chalet close to both Les Gets and Morzine. Complimentary lifts to and from the slopes, but if like us you like a bit of independence it is easy to catch the local bus, as bus stop is just outside. It is even possible to walk back from one of the Morzine slopes (probably not in ski boots, but fine in snowboarding boots). Friendly service and excellent food, particularly good for vegetarians. We were made to feel really welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable. Really liked the hot tub and log fire. Would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Beth,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Nest, and the veggie food too! We had a good time with you and Joe, in particular it was great getting out to Mont Cherry and hitting the snow park with you.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Nest is located a short way from the slopes at Les Gets and is very well run by Karl and Cara.
Karl provides a minibus service to and from either the local slopes or further afield to Morzine.
The food is excellent as is the accommodation.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillericayStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Steve,

We had a great week with with your grow. You might be please to hear that we are hoping to keep the mixed berry pavlova on the Menu for next Winter!

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spacious, bags of character, amazing food, ideally located, and professionally run, this place provided the ideal base for our skiiing holiday in Les Portes Du Soliel. It's in an excellent location for the slopes, and is sat in the middle of Morzine and Les Gets so it is just a few minutes away from either. We were delivered to the slopes every day within a few minutes of booting up, collected promptly at the end of our day, and there was even a bit of flexibility if we wanted to adjust times a little. I really could write buckets about this place, as I am still on a high from such a great week away. The skiing is excellent if you haven't been to this resort before, and there truly is something for everyone. Cara the Chef and her Chalet Maid Karl are really good hosts too, their menu for the week is very very good. So much so on their night off we were happy to have take away pizza rather than eat out cos we'd felt like we'd already had restaurant standard food all week! Other highlights are the well positioned Hot Tub in the garden, spacious and well thought out rooms, well presented lounge and mezzanine area with the obligatory open fire, nice views from all aspects, a wee hill for the kids to sledge on in the garden etc etc......there's also a pool table and a darts board, although this and the drying room are a little 'basic' compared to the rest, they are still perfectly adequate. The onloy other negative i could find is that the bunks although very comfortable, are not long enough for a 6 footer, but then with the mix of rooms available (it really is quite unique the way they can create different spaces depending on the types of people) this should be avoidable. On the whole, I'd recommend this to anyone that prioritises comfort, convenience, and as much skiing as possible. The price is pretty good too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Rob,

We're glad you enjoyed the holiday, we very much enjoyed having you to stay! Hope you managed to save a few ski runs for next time you come over :-)

We've taken on board that the bunk beds, though made for adults are a bit snug for tall people like yourself. The games room and boot room will be getting an update before next season.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just got back from an amazing trip to the Porte du Soleil ski area, and more specifically 7 wonderful nights at Chalet Nest. In short we had the most incredible week! Hospitality was spot on, with a warm welcome on our arrival. The food was simply delicious, so much so that the group (we had the whole chalet to ourselves) decided that on the hosts night off we'd just get take-away pizza's as there was no point going to a restaurant as the food would undoubtedly be a downgrade from that which we'd been eating at the chalet!

Whilst the Chalet is not directly on the slopes or in town, it is the perfect base for being able to ski the whole area. Equidistant between Les Gets and Morzine means that it's only a very short minibus ride (provided by the hosts) to one of 3 entry points into the lift system. If you want even more independence a hire care with winter tyres would be an option with good parking at the chalet and by the slopes.

Rooms are really well appointed and cosy with very comfortable beds, the perfect end to every adrenaline packed day on the slopes. The communal areas of the Chalet are truly stunning with an open fire and high vaulted ceiling. Hours were spent eating good food and discussing a wide range of topics round the huge dining table.

To sum up, we hadn't even arrived at Geneva airport on the way home and everyone in the group wanted to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepeaks, Owner at The Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Rich,

Thank you for this review, it means a lot coming from such a well seasoned skier. We had a fantastic week with you all, and enjoyed catching parts of your funny story telling around the table...looking forward to having you all to stay again along with your lovely wife and new addition next time we hope :-)

Best wishes,

Cara and Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
1.6 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#5 of 19 in Les Gets
305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#14 of 19 in Les Gets
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#17 of 19 in Les Gets
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chez La Fine
Chez La Fine
#14 of 38 in Les Gets
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#2 of 19 in Les Gets
203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 19 in Les Gets
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest

Address: 5052 route des Grandes Alpes, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a huge detached farmhouse located in Les Gets in the Portes Du Soleil ski area. Built in 1900 the farmhouse has been lovingly renovated into a luxury catered chalet that accommodates up to 15 guests in 5 large en-suite bedrooms. There is a spacious living area with high vaulted ceilings and exposed beams, along with a TV snug a games room with American pool table and a large outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing