We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Le Chinfrey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Chinfrey
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Les Gets
Reviewed 28 January 2008

A great hotel for those who want to experience France. The hotel decor is fabulously retro - 70's bright orange floral wallpaper in the bedrooms, balcony in every room, good solid furniture. It is spotlessly clean. Wonderfully quiet inside the rooms compared to some scandi chalets I've stayed in. Be prepared to use your pigeon french - English is not spoken here, but they are very understanding of hand waving and pointing! Breakfast is fresh french bread and jam, but you can order croissant the day before. Everyone is friendly, helpful, accommodating and we had everything we needed. The bar was busy apres-ski with locals and tourists alike. This is a popular place with good reason. Across the road from the ski lift and bus stop and a few minutes from a great ski hire shop. We had a great WAGs weekend and would happily go back.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Wagskiier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2007

This place is dark and dingy, albeit clean. We stayed 6 nights and were the only guests. Breakfast was orange juice,coffee, french bread and butter. For €7 each per day! We did not dare eat dinner and were keen to leave straight after breakfast and not return until bedtime. Would not go back if it was free of charge!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We booked thru PLANIGO, looking for a hotel that would put us up for less than a week in the Feb half-term (these are extremely hard to come by so we took this hotel with little choice of anything else). They did state on their e-mail to us to contact the hotel if you are turning up after 19:30. However when you book in July for a Feb holiday the small print can get overlooked. Turned up at 23:10 and the place was completely shut with no lights and no sign of life. There was no phone number to ring, or doorbell to push, or alternative accommodation to stay in. So with two young children, outside in the freezing cold we started to bang on all the windows and doors, gently at first and then loudly. A woman appeared on the first floor - told us they were shut, went back inside and turned her light off. After lots more banging and shouting an English lady guest appeared on the balcony and was kind enough to come and let us in. There being no reception or contact details we found our way to the Salon, found some mattresses in a cupboard and all 8 of us slept in their lounge area. The next day the lady owner offered no apology, and was quite angry at us using the mattresses - no attempt at english was forthcoming so even if I had phoned her to tell her we would be arriving late I would have struggled with relaying this in french.
The rooms were unbelievably dated and the shower did not work. The beds were comfy tho.
The breakfast was simply bread and coffee/hot chocolate - so we made a point of buying our Croissants and pain au Chocolate from the little supermarket nearby and taking them down to breakfast with us.
The evening meals were surprisingly nice tho.
The bar was very french so unless you're fluent don't bother going there.
There are no nearby bars to escape to and only one restaurant.
The Perrieres chairlift was just a short walk so was convenient.
The ski area is good too and has a good variety of easy to difficult slopes.

Overall we had a good holiday but the 155euros per night per double room was way too expensive for the quality of the hotel and if you're used to going more upmarket (like myself) then avoid this place!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zabadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

We are a polite respectable group of 7 women who spent 5 nights at this hotel. I have never felt the need to write a review before but here goes...
The woman who ran the place and the main waitress were rude and sullen and totally unhelpful which was unusual as we had a very good experience elsewhere in the resort.
Breakfast costs 7 euros extra and was basic which would have been fine if it had been delivered within a reasonable time scale and with a smile. As it was we always had to locate the waitress and ask sometimes several times before we eventually recieved it begrudgingly with lots of eye rolling and tutting. We ate dinner once in the Hotel on our first night and then took our business elswhere!
We were given two bath towels in a room for four and were ignored when we asked for one each. The rooms are shabby 70s decor and are very small - swinging a cat is not an option!!
The hotel in general is clean but has an unpleasant smell and the bar is horribly smokey - the dining room is no smoking but its proximity to the bar means that particualrly in the eveneng the smoke effects this eating area badly.
The hotel is on a busy roundabout and as a result the rooms are very noisy especially when the road is wet.
Plus points - The bar man and the cleaner were friendly, the ski lift is close and there was plenty of hot water at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank spfiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Just spent 4 nights here on a long weekend ski break. The hotel is traditional and a little old fashioned, but the staff and service are good. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are a vision of 70's chic - with fantastic orange flower patterned wallpaper, matching candlewick bedspreads and curtains. Rooms are basic, somewhat worn, but very clean and spacious. For our short break, it was affordable and perfectly adequate.

We didn't eat at the hotel and only had breakfast once. It's not really worth paying extra for something really basic and we preferred to pick up a fresh croissant in the village. The bar seems a favourite with locals, which is always a good sign and there's a good atmosphere, (though a lot of smoking). We recommend La Tanniere in the village for good food and La Fruieterie des Perrieres (the village dairy) has a fantastic restaurant only 5 mins from the hotel.

The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre of the village and there is a bus. For skiing it's a good location for the Perrieres lift (if there is enough snow).

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: pas de vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank csilla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 6 coté parking, un peu plus calme que coté rond-point
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupdecoeurdenoemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#4 of 19 in Les Gets
313 reviews
1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#5 of 19 in Les Gets
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferme De Montagne
Ferme De Montagne
#11 of 19 in Les Gets
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 19 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#2 of 19 in Les Gets
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chinfrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chinfrey

Address: Les Perrieres, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Le Chinfrey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing