We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Skiing, April '12”
Review of Hotel Spa Crychar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Spa Crychar
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Skiing, April '12”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Can't fault it, the host Celine is very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in was excellent, overlooking the piste. It had recently been re-furbished to a high standard and the fixtures & fittings were top class. The children's room was above ours, accessed from some cute steps in the corner of our room - they found it quite an exciting area to be in.

The food standard was very high, and my wife and I loved it. However it was in fact a little too high for our two children (9 & 12) who weren't over keen on the likes of "avocado mousse on as bed of shredded salmon", so we ended up eating out most evenings in the town - where there is plenty of variety.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a great little hotel. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with true hospitality and thoughtfulness. Nothing seems to be a problem. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable with all of today's amenities while still keeping the charm of a mountain retreat. Food from a very well stocked breakfast buffet to the lovely dinners is excellent. The hotel really take great care of kids with a very nice play room and has arranged it so that even couples without small children feel at ease. The location is second to none with easy road access, ski in/out, central in the village yet very quiet at night. No wonder it is hard to find availabilty in this little gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleon1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabran, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed for a week in 2 rooms. The service was superb and the staff reallly went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after. Nothing was ever a problem. The food was very good and were all extremely well fed - almost too well fed! The rooms a little small and the bathrooms are very tight but they were clean and comfortable. The location was good, you could easily ski to it and it was a little way up the hill from the village which meant that it felt tranquil with lovely views from your door but if you wanted to get to the village you could easily ski/walk down. The children were made very welcome but at no time did this lower the standard of service/care provided to the adults. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrightsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the Crychar for a week in late August. We are a family of three with a 7 year old child. Les Gets is a pretty Alpine village - relatively small but with enough facilities (supermarket, bakery, launderette) to make it functional. It is pretty touristy, but pretty with Alpine Chalet style buildings lining the streets. There is great access to the mountains via three ski-chair lifts in the town and easy drive or bus ride to Avorez where there are even more things to do. Lots of activities for an adventurous family. They do a 1euro a day pass which allows you to use the ski chair lifts (one way!) and a little tourist train. There is a nice lake for a swim (man made) an adventure park (for the over 8s I think) and a luge run in Avorez.
The Crychar is well sited, pretty much in the centre of town, although up a bit of a hill which gets the leg muscles going! It is very quiet and attractive. There had been a bit of a mix up with our booking (not the hotel's fault, but the internet booking service we used) and so we ended up in a smaller room than we'd planned for. Our daughter had a bed up in a mezzanine above the main bedroom. It had very low ceiling height above her bed and although she liked it, it wasn't somewhere she could really play - just sleep. The bedroom below had a lovely view over the mountains and pool, and the bathroom was very well appointed and clean. The room felt very small though. There were too small built in wardrobes but that was it - not very much space when you are there for a week. My husband needed to do some computer based work while we were there so it wasn't ideal, but having said this it worked out fine for us.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was very good - but they only offered a set, 4 course meal, which was far more than we wanted to eat every night, and also quite expensive (worth it for a one off but not something we'd like to pay every night). There were lots of nice little restaurants in the town though so it wasn't too much of a hardship to wander out each evening for a meal. Breakfast was also quite expensive - probably worth it if you eat a big breakfast but we really just have a croissant and a coffee, so we wandered down to a bakery for breakfast each day.
The best things about this place, though, are the pool, which is lovely and pretty warm considering the location, the lovely bar area (with newspapers etc) and the children's games room which was pretty and well stocked with toys and books.
This hotel would make a lovely escape for a weekend, and if you have the budget to eat in house, perhaps for longer. The staff were very friendly and the surroundings very comfortable. Just a little bit small rooms for a family and a little bit more choice on having cheaper and smaller meals would have made it great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spodling
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel is a hidden gem, warmth of staff genuine and not over bearing. Really, just the perfect balance. Great breakfast and very tasty dinners (not homely mountain food, more fine dining).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spodling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We are a family of four with 2 young children (3 + 5) and spent 5 nights in July at the Crychar. The weather was not great and so the hotel was pretty important ....! We could not have chosen a better hotel for a family holiday: Celine and her team were so helpful and friendly (and made such an effort with our children); the food was excellent (do not bother to eat in town as the Crychar food is superb) - and despite the set menu they were more than happy to serve something else if you asked; the hotel is very comfortable and tastefully decorated; the pool and playroom were brilliant for the children....I could go on and on...... It was also very good value (although I'm sure the ski season would be quite a lot more expensive). As Alpine hotels go, we think this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE55186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Greg and Celine were the best hosts one could expect. Celine made sure we, especially our 2 young children (3 and 7) were splendidly cared for and Greg, who was also the master chef, was responsible for the extra weight we put on! We've never eaten so well, ever. Don't even consider having breakfast or dinner outside, it will be your biggest mistake. Greg and Celine made sure we ate like Lords. And the beef roasted over an open fire ... ooooh! And not to forget Julian, he was attentive to our dining preferences and made sure we were more than happy during meals and was great with children.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. Literally ski-in-ski-out. It avails itself to a huge slope which somehow seems private as skiiers pass by the top and left toward the base slope but never down toward the hotel making the 100m slope virtually private. The kids had hours of uninterrupted fun building igloos, as per the photo, in between their skiing lessons.

I could say a lot more, but my 7 year old has already decided that she enjoyed her 7th birthday there so much that she will celebrate her 8th there as well. Need I say more?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAM_FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Crychar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Crychar

Property: Hotel Spa Crychar
Address: 136 impasse de la Grange Neuve | Hôtel- Spa CRYCHAR, 74260 Les Gets, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#1 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Spa Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Crychar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spa Crychar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Crychar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing