We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good value, well situated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've just returned from a great week in Samoens. The apartments are in a great location and are of a good quality and clean. The reception staff were great all week! Very helpful and friendly and speak very good English. The accommodation is basic rather than luxurious, but good value for money and I would receommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have to say, having read some earlier reviews, that the reception staff we met went out of their way to be helpful. Very welcoming, and as we arrived on the second busiest day of the year I would almost have forgiven them for being short!, and they kept it up all week. I needed to print a document which they happily did for me, then they gave me an envelope and offered to post it too.
The apartment was bigger than I expected, with a pull out bed under the sofa in the sitting area, [which had an extra comfy chair], a bunk room with huge storage, and a double room upstairs with wardrobe. Downstairs bathroom with shower over, separate loo. Another loo upstairs. Big cupboard next to boiler where we hung salopettes.
Cleaning at the end of the stay wasn't a problem [and we were staying with our labrador] - you have to sweep and mop, clean the fridge, kitchen and bathrooms, and replace the bedcovers having stripped the beds and put the bedding in the cupboards. In fact, the bedding was our only issue - lumpiest pillows I have ever encountered! Think a cheap IKEA one, washed and tumble dried to the consistency of a sack of spuds!
Ski bus stop is just outside the property, free bus goes about every 15mins to the gondola.
We would definitely return here, with our own pillows.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Whilst what other reviewers have said is true (reception opening hours, etc) we really enjoyed our stay at Les Fermes and found it a good base for a family holiday. The price (€852 for 7 nights in peak season) seemed pretty reasonable for our chalet (E5) which had two double bedrooms (double beds not twin), one bunk-bed room and a sofa which could be turned into another double/twin, a shower room and a bathroom and downstairs toilet. The living area was adequate but not big and only one sofa so not enough for everyone to sit around in the evening except on the wooden bench or dining room chairs. Not a lot of storage for clothes as only the main bedroom had a wardrobe. This was supplemented by a fitted wardrobe in the hall both upstairs and downstairs. Kitchen was well equipped. It was clean, well heated and comfortable. You are supplied with sheets, towels and one dishcloth on arrival but you make and unmake the beds yourself and are expected to do a basic clean when you leave. You may want to bring some basic initial supplies (sponge for dishes, washing up liquid, breakfast provisions....) There is a small indoor pool - yes, very small - hammam and sauna in the main building and an attractive communal lounge area upstairs where the children enjoyed going to play pool or sit and catch up with their friends on Facebook as they provide a free wi-fi connection there. They also has plenty of books, magazines and free coffee/tea which was nice. Personally, I found the staff very friendly but the opening hours of the reception are admittedly a potential issue. Les Fermes is within walking distance of the village which is really lovely. It is also very close to the ski lifts so very practical for the skiing. We were offered a discount of ski rental with our package. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadadlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I went there this year for a stay of one week. Firstly we nearly risked sleeping outside in the cold, as the reception closes at 8pm and it was so dark it was impossible to find the building.
The staff are extremely unwelcoming; there are so many rules and regulations which make you feel like its not a holiday. And say that they were rude is an understatement.
They charged a ridiculous amount to clean the appartment, so on the last day we had to clean the whole place out which wasn't at all nice.
The noise at night is terrible, children are playing about and shouting til past midnight.
There is not safe.
Despite this being a small problem, there is no walkway, I have no idea how a pram would work there, and this meant that you had to walk into puddles jusr to get out of the residence.
The swimming pool tiny, its big enough for three people in my opinion.
The only good thing is that the town was lovely. But I will NEVER go there again and I am writing this to save anybody else from my experience.

Room Tip: No tips that would make this hotel any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W0rldTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This place needs help. Poor attitude. Take extra money (70 Euros) off you to clean up after you then give you a list of all you have to do to clean up before they start the cleaning. The public facilities are always closed when you need them and -- if you don't arrive by 8:00 in the evening you find reception closed and if you haven't made prior arrangements to collect your key you could end up spending at least one of your seven nights sleeping in the car in winter! Great (not)!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank hughdini_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Pretty basic accommodation, but bigger than expected and everything we needed. After 6 hours on the slopes, we were too tired to go out to eat, but the kitchen was more than adequate. Small, but powerful oven/grill and 4 efficient hob rings. A great pizza take away nearby, but they make fresh to order so it was a 45min wait.(Near enough to pop back for a shower while they cook)! Staff friendly and efficient on arrival. Yes, the pool is small but it was a bonus all the same and the kids enjoyed it. Remember to pre-book your freebie sauna.
A 5-10 minute walk to town, where we stocked up in the small supermarket; there's also a great boulangerie which has amazing bread/quiche/pastries etc
To get to the slopes, the shuttle goes every 15mins from outside the accommodation and takes 5 mins. It drops you right at the cable cars which then take 7mins. Great skiing all round. We had group lessons with ESF and they were excellent. bilingual and great with the kids too. Several cafes/restaurants on the slopes but the food was hideously expensive and the staff unfriendly so we took our own baguettes.
Check-out felt a bit military; we had to pre-book an inspection and then found that despite paying e74 for cleaning, we had to empty all bins, strip all beds, fold blankets, defrost the fridge and clean the kitchen ourselves - rip off!!!
All in all, a great base for some great skiing - looking to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

...Les Fermes. Which is a real shame really as Samoens is a beautiful traditional market town, the skiing is excellent and Les Fermes is a great chalet complex perfectly placed just 10mins walk from the town centre with good facilities and amenities. But the beds and pillows were just the pits and made for a very long and uncomfortable week's sleep. And after a hard day's skiing you really need a good night's sleep! It is a no frills chalet complex in a great location but they really need to get some new pillows and mattresses! Oh, and don't be fooled by the swimming pool...it's the size of a postage stamp.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.8 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 7 in Samoens
230 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#6 of 7 in Samoens
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#5 of 6 in Morillon
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nemea Domaine du Grand Tetras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens

Address: 347 Chemin de sur la Ville | Chemin Rural des Beules, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Samoens
Price Range: £51 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ski Planet, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Fermes De Sameons Hotel Samoens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing