We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Marie Stuart
Ranked #2 of 8 Samoens B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Ski Weekend”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A belated review for our weekend ski trip in March 2014.
This is our groups second visit to Caroline's chalet and I suppose that speaks for its self really. As I didn't review it the first time though I thought it only fair to do so now,
We had the use of the whole chalet and everything about this chalet is excellent - food, wine, bedrooms, hospitality etc. Caroline and her helpers really do make a great effort to make sure that your stay is as good as it possibly could be.
So very well done to Caroline and hopefully we will visiting again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent host Caroline made us really feel at home. Delicious food including catering for my wife who is vegan.
Lovely cakes at 4.30 tea time.
Beautiful area. Short walk down hill from the ski lift. You can get the free bus up in ski season if you have a ski pass.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cuthbert140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have hesitated to leave a review for chalet Marie Stuart purely for selfish reasons. We have stayed here twice for ski trips and Caroline and her staff have looked after us so well we haven't wanted to leave, but mainly because once the secret gets out the chalet will be booked up for the entire season!! Being the owner, Caroline really cares about your stay, ensuring every little detail is looked after, her cooking is amazing!! and the chalet is pristine. A real gem in a lovely ski resort. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SueD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Caroline is an excellent host and the chalet, catering and service were second to none. Samoens is a place to ski from, and there are any number of quick transfers by bubble lift up to the slopes. Ski lockers at top of lift make the start and end of day easy.
Our Host, Jonathon, was great and took great care of his guests. This was the first time I used ski weekender and it will not be the last. Good value for money, quick transfer from Geneva, comfortable accommodation, plus great food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank simon310760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A party of nine blokes were exceptionally well looked after by Caroline and her team. Always extremely pleasant and hospitable, food was fantastic and a brilliant range of cd's that are all available for own DJ'ing as long as each is put back in the box and on the shelf (rightly so!). Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our second visit to chalet Marie Stuart , warm welcome, wonderful meals, all cooked from scratch. We were lucky enough to have good snow conditions, and mainly blue skies and sunshine. Historical town of Samoens worth a visit, within walkable distance

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, Bucks, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed with Caroline in Chalet Marie Stuart 3 times during the last year - twice for skiing trips and once in the summer for walking - and can thoroughly recommend a holiday there. The area is equally attractive in winter and summer, with plenty of outdoor activities in the immediate area and further afield. Other attractions such as Annecy and Chamonix/Mt Blanc are feasible for day trips. I'd recommend having a car rather than having to rely on public transport.

Caroline is a delightful host, making her guests feel warmly welcome the minute they enter the chalet. She has a genuine interest in making you feel at home and engages with guests without being intrusive. Her crowning glory is her cooking - a splendid 3 course meal, followed by tea/coffee, is provided in the evenings and wonderful breakfasts to set you up for the day. The portions are just right - enough for healthy appetites, but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
0.8 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Marie Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marie Stuart

Property: Chalet Marie Stuart
Address: Le Petit Saix, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Marie Stuart is a traditional Savoyard chalet on the outskirts of the charming village of Samoens, in the beautiful Giffre Valley and part of the Grand Massif ski area. It is owned and operated by Caroline Morgan, an experienced chalet operator and a qualified chef. You can be certain of high standards of hospitality and a warm welcome to help you to enjoy a fantastic holiday - summer or winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing