We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
283
154
58
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
154
58
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline restaurant ski instructor ski room outdoor jacuzzi interconnecting rooms chef de village arriving early avoid the crowds peisey vallandry into consideration enthusiastic staff ski group grand massif ski shop on arrival dining room is children aged and years
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Upon returning from Samoens with John Semple. Reflecting back over the experience and having grown up in the ski industry over the past 48 years, I can only describe the short break as amazing on all fronts.

So much has changed with the lift system since 1998. The ski area has almost doubled in size since then making the ski area very well linked. The location of the Club Med hotel could not be better for skiing, offering ski in ski out. The boot room is a huge area to get ready for the day ahead. The ski hire shop is conveniently located in the boot room and your wrist pass locks and opens your locker making this it a pleasant experience nstead of the usual smelly wet areas we are normally used to in the ski world.

SKIING
There is a short green run down to the Chariande Express, down an easy wide blue, up another short chair Verhant, down the Grands Vans blue - again wide and easy - that brings you right into the centre of Flaine. The journey from the hotel takes about 30 minutes to the centre of Flaine which, in my opinion, offers some of the best all round skiing in the alps. We didn’t get a chance to ski down to Les Carroz, Sixt or Samoens themselves as the weather had taken its toll on the piste conditions further down the mountain - admittedly we were there 16th April 2018. We were lucky with marvellous conditions for so late in the season. It was for that reason we made our way over to Flaine each day as it was just that bit higher giving us better snow conditions, which were amazing for that time of year.

HOTEL
The hotel itself was just an amazing experience, with very smiley happy staff eager to help you if you looked lost which we did on quite a few occasions! The first night we ate in the buffet restaurant where there were several chefs at each of the seven stations, offering pizza, pasta, fresh fish/prawns, meat, salad, fruit and desserts. The choice was fantastic. Breakfast was also eaten in the buffet restaurant and again so much choice - cereal, omelettes, toast, fruit, yogurts and really too many options to mention. The a la carte restaurant was again lovely, situated on the sky line floor. Attention to detail was very impressive from the maitre d’ making sure we were meeted and greeted and that we were looked after during our meal, which consisted of an appetiser, starter, main and a dessert.

After the days skiing we made our way up to the sky line bar and sat out on the glorious terrace where the sun was still beating down in a very tranquil area of the hotel. After dinner if you wanted to party a bit longer into the night you could go down to the main bar where the staff put on a show every night. We didn’t have any children with us but the kids clubs and nursery areas looked very clean, well managed and lively.

Having never been to an all inclusive hotel whilst skiing this facility was a truly great advert for an all inclusive holiday and I will recommend it people who are looking to ski on that kind of holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerr305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear kerr305
Thank you for your thorough and kind feedback.
It's always lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that along with the skiing, the facilities and our GO team heightened the experience.
This is what we strive for, so your comments have been shared with our Chef de Village Nikolai.
We look forward to welcoming you back to another Club Med (sun?) Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This club is ideally located to explore the domain. We were lucky to have good snow and good weather so the week was very enjoyable. The ClubMed resort is brand new and has everything you need for a great stay: amazing food, good childcare, ski lessons with ESF for the whole family, good vibes from the GOs... The size of the club is its weak point: One can feel a bit lost in the corridors at time as the floorpan is a bit confusing, and the evening atmosphere isn't the warmest. But overall it works well for the whole family!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank busybeefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear busybeefamily
Thanks for your feedback on the Grand Massif.
It's always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and apologies that it got a bit confusing with the design of the hotel, and some nights were not as entertaining as others.
I do hope it didn't impact you and your family too much, and we hope to welcome you back to another Club Med in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The facilities were new and excellent. My wife, daughter and I loved the pool and the food was excellent.

I was injured skiing but the nurse named Aurora was very helpful as I required an injection and have a needle phobia but she put me at ease and helped me get over my phobia.

I strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ethan288888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi Ethan288888
Welcome back from Grand Massif.
I hope you are recovering OK and that the GO Team looked after you and put you at ease.
We always try to have the most qualified and friendly team, and hope your injury did not impact your holiday too much.
We hope you come back to another Club Med soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The staff at Club Med are great. Everyone is welcoming and super friendly. The hotel only opened this December so still has a new feel to it. The design and layout are very good and looks and feels 5* This was my first time to Club Med. I was really impressed with the shows and evening entertainment. I didn't go to ClubMed for this as it was a family ski trip but the kids really enjoyed the evenings entertainments. Great overall trip! Thank you team and staff at Samoan!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank Bwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Bwali
Thanks for the great feedback on Grand Massif, and we are thrilled you and your family enjoyed the skiing and the instruction, along with our new facilities and the activities included.
We hope to welcome you all back to another Club Med soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

My wife, almost 4-year-old son, and I had an enjoyable visit to Club Med Samoëns Morillon Grand Massif from 8 to 15 April. In fact, the holiday was one of our best as the skiing was crazy good with phenomenal scenery, excellent piste conditions, and mild temperatures. More importantly, our son was blessed to ski for the first time while still enjoying his first love—playing in the pool every day. In keeping with my TripAdvisor review style, I offer the following additional feedback:

Location. The ski-in, ski-out location is perfect—a little more than an hour from Geneva. The picturesque mountain backdrop offers photographers like me an opportunity to capture a plethora of scrapbook/Facebook shots, the gondola rides to Samoëns and Morillon present tired skiers the chance to visit charming French villages, and the lift system provides GMs easy access to the Grand Massif and awe-inspiring views of nearby Mont Blanc.

Staff Members. The GOs were nice and did a fine job with the meals, hospitality, entertainment and activities—always making us feel welcomed and appreciated. In particular, the Chief of the Village, Nicola, Erika from Mexico, and Teddy from California made us feel at home and checked in on us often, and the rest of the GOs—especially the ones at Kid Camp—were terrific.

Rooms. Our room was large, clean, and perfect for a family of three, complete with a drape between our king bed and our son’s twin. The maids did a fine job keeping it stocked with essentials. Most prominently, we woke up every day to a dream-like view of the Grand Massif and were never far away from the restaurants, pool, spa, and ski locker area as the resort is contained in one building.

Other Amenities

The pool was fine, yet small. Regardless, our son loved it. The hot tub seemed to be made for a Motel 6, not a massive all-inclusive resort. Come on, Club Med! There is plenty of space to have a bigger (and hotter) hot tub.

The spa was nice and relaxing. We enjoyed our couples massage at the end of the week, and my wife appreciated her facial.

We never made it to the gym since our workouts were on the slopes—skiing to the Flaine panoramic near Mont Blanc and back will put a hurting on anyone!

The ski shop and locker area were excellent. While my wife and I rented and picked up our gear from the nearby Mountain Ski Shop, for our son—like everyone else—we rented from the resort as it was more convenient. The Petit Club/Kid Club was next door so that made it easier for the children to hit the slopes with the GOs. There is a special ski room right outside the locker area next to the Baby Club, down the stairs. When you want to ski with your kids, you simply retrieve the gear and take it back when done. At the end of the week, you return the equipment to the ski shop. For lunch and après ski, the GOs offered snacks and drinks (including hot wine) near the resort’s ski entrance. Once inside, many GMs took advantage of the coffee/hot cocoa machine, water, and croissants.

Meals. There was always something tasty at the breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet and the late breakfast/late lunch buffet/à la carte dinner restaurant—the latter featuring an amazing terrace for photogs. All the greeters and servers were nice and professional. The pizza guy was hospitable, but he never made American-style pizzas—the audacity. Ha ha.

Drinks. There are two bars—one near reception and the other at the Mountain View Restaurant, and all the GOs were friendly and attentive. The free wine (from the Rhone Valley), beer, and planters punch were always delicious and refreshing. During our visit to Samoëns, we caught the round-trip mini “train ride” to the center of the village and bought a couple bottles of better wine (saving a few bucks, given the resort prices).

Petit Club. After the prototypical initial daily drama, our son enjoyed his time with the GOs. As always, they did an awesome job, especially during the twice-daily ski lessons. The $340 for the week at Petit Club, plus 260 euro for the skis/lessons, was definitely worth the money. They even let our son borrow a pair of goggles. He will forever say that his first time skiing was in the French Alps, and—next time we have a ski holiday planned—he’ll be pumped and ready to go. What’s more, his fellow petit club-goers got a kick out of his American accent while his Maman and Papa had worry-free times on the slopes.

Entertainment. The entertainment and shows were fun, and the GOs did a great job. French was followed by an English translation as many folks were from Great Britain—we, by the way, may have been the only American family. It was clear the GOs practiced a lot, and they went the extra mile to keep Club Med from turning into Club Dead after the shows.

Excursions. We did not buy any the pricey resort excursions, nor rent a car to visit nearby Chamonix or Annecy. The only “excursion” we took was the free gondola ride to Samoëns where the round-trip “train ride” to the center of the village was 12 euro. It’s a beautiful place and worth the trip down the mountain.

Tips. (1) Buy the airfare through Club Med—it saved us a ton of cash compared to buying it à la carte, and the package included a personal chauffeur to and from the airport. Very nice touch, Club Med! (2) Rent your skis at the nearby Mountain Ski Shop (a 5-minute walk to the bus stop, and 2-minute ride on the pink bus to the mini village). You’ll save money, and the skis/boots/poles are top-notch. (3) Brush up on basic French, but remember all the GOs speak English. (4) At the bar, request the good blonde beer in the bottle (they retrieve it from the back). (5) Ask for eggs well-done or “bien cuit”—just like beef, the French have a different standard for what completely cooked looks like. (6) Ski to Flaine, and pray it’s sunny so you can see Mont Blanc. (7) Visit Samoëns.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BillG106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear BillG106

Thanks for your extensive and thorough feedback on Grand Massif.
It only opened in December so to get this feedback is very valuable and informative.
Coincidentally I was there myself the same week as you, for my first also, and can relate to a lot of your points. I hope your wife and child also enjoyed their stay with us.
I will share this with Nikolai and his team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to another (sun? Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews