We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We have returned there yet again this year. The menu has improved but is still great value. Another good addition is a house wine again at a very reasonable cost. The owners are always friendly and helpfully.Well used by locals which is always a good sign. Always a great place to visit

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendliest People You Could wish To Meet”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Fantastic unassuming little restaurant with some outside seating on the roadside, perfect for the great weather we experienced whilst visiting Samoens in Aug 2012. Set menus were great value at 16 and 22 euros, meats, local sausage (Diot) and polenta, apple tart, etc . Wine was local and chilled which was very welcome in 36 degrees!! owner was exceptionally accommodating, especially as we had a 2 year old who wanted some attention!, offered a child seat, served a smaller version of the lovely Tartiflette and even washed our own child's bowl for us which was a great touch, service was quick and the food cooked to order. Our 2 year old was exstatic when the ice cream dessert arrived with a mini model snow rabbit perched on the top! Very friendly, good value and authentic local food. *****5 Star, made for a great lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value, quality and service”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have visited Samoens regularly in the summer over the last few years and always return to this simple and friendly restaurant. This year we had the menu @ 22 Euros which was terrific - a really well cooked and presented meal. The house wine is good and inexopensive, but the owner always had a small but interesting selection of other wines available. Can't fault it - a great little restaurant well used by locals and vistors alike.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Welcoming, helpful and positive”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the end of Sunday lunchtime service, yet the owner happily took our order for a family of four. Good food at reasonable prices with welcoming and attentive service - a pleasant contrast with pricier restaurants in a town where it seems many restaurateurs do not feel the need to try.

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and good Savoyard food”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very friendly host, prompt service and good honest local food! I will surely go back on my next trip to Samoens.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz also viewed

 
Samoens, Grand Massif
Samoens, Grand Massif
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing