We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely return to an old favourite”
Review of Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shropshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely return to an old favourite”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We dined as a family of four on Easter Monday having the lamb shank & mashed potato which was lovely. All swilled down with an excellent savioe rouge. The service is always good. We have booked again for Friday night. We like it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good family run restaurant”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our favourite restaurant in Samoens. Always a warm welcome from Fred, who seems to know almost all his clients personally - or at least he makes you feel that way! And the food is excellent - a mixture of typical mountain fare, well prepared, and a few specials for variation when you get tired of Tartiflette and Raclette.... Best to book in advance as the restaurant is not big and is very popular. The kind of place you want to keep going back to! Very good value too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wadadlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Such good value”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

This is one of my two favourite eating places in Samoens. Very good value. Always a warm welcome. Husband and wife team who deserve to do well. Just go there if you are visiting Samoens.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good food”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I first discovered Samoens in 1988 and have visited every year since. I bought a studio apartment 10 years ago and discovered, just opposite, the Rendez Vous de la Piaz. I and my clients have been regulars ever since. The price, choice and quality of the food is excellent. Owners, Fred and his wife are always extremely welcoming and it has become my favourite restaurant whenever I am in Samoens. Try the Cassolet of Scallops ... delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paluski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

For such a small family run restaurant the price, choice and quality of the food is excellent. The management are extremely welcoming and it has become my favourite restaurant when I visit Samoens.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paluski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz also viewed

 
Samoens, Grand Massif
Samoens, Grand Massif
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing