We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely owner, charming house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Brio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Brio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely owner, charming house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent in Chalet Brio one week with other four families. The house was very clean, with elegant furnishings. The evenings with view from the big window in dining room are unforgettable.

Chalet is completely equipped with everything, what you can imagine. Very funny is, that there are two dishwashers in a kitchen. :-D The children liked the pool and the cinema room downstairs.

And the best thing were the lovely owners, who crowned the fabulous week with their smile and obligingness. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a fantastic week (Sun to Sun) at Chalet Brio with some friends in Jan. An hour from Geneva airport makes it an ideal location for a short stay. Robert and Caroline (your hosts) will accommodate any length of stay starting on any day which is useful if you just want a long weekend.The Grande Massif Ski area is also suitable for any level of skier and is extensive meaning that you won't run out of skiing easily.
The Chalet itself is in a lovely location with fantastic views over the valley, and only a couple of minutes away from 3 main lifts to the slopes. Robert will happily transfer you to any in the minibus.
The day starts with a substantial choice for breakfast, including porridge and (my favourite) omelettes.After a full days skiing Robert picked us up from wherever we finished (mostly in the Dutch Bar at the bottom of the Vercland lift), taking us back for lovely fresh bread and cakes in the Chalet. We were then able to relax for an hour or more (normally in the hot-tub!) before dinner.
The menu for the week (published at the start of each week) was excellent. Caroline is a fantastic cook, and Robert always ready and waiting to top up your glass (wine included with dinner). Interesting and lively conversation over dinner with the other guests made every evening fun and relaxing.
The accommodation itself is a very high standard, there are several double rooms and family rooms, all en-suite, with excellent facilities and a separate self catering apartment for those who want to cater for themselves (although when you have sampled the food you won't want to).
Highly recommended for couples, friends, families and even solo. We will definitely be going back and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: The "penthouse" room gives the best views - but all the other rooms are a great standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Chalet Brio is beautiful. This is a catered chalet at its best, superior furnishings stunning views and a great log fire to come back to after a day on the mountain. Breakfast all the usual expected foods, plus a hot option. Afternoon cakes waiting for you on your return each day.
My only critisism,(a tiny one) as there were only 6 guests a freshly baked different cake daily was not offered which was disappointing as I love the tea and cake on returning from ski-ing. With fewer guests perhaps individual small cakes, muffins etc. would have been a better option). Dinner in the evening extremely good, 3 courses with wine and coffee to follow.
All accommodations spotless and of good size. Plenty of hot water and excellent showers. The apartment within the chalet, offers excellent accommodation, and same superior furnishings.(I did not stay in the apartment, but viewed it as an option for a family trip.)
The owners, Robert and Caroline go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay with them and are very relaxed and friendly. Robert takes you to the slopes in the morning and brings you back to the chalet in the evening from wherever you've been ski-ing, or 'having that end of the day drink'.
All in all our short break stay at Chalet Brio was great and we wanted for nothing. Would I return for another holiday, absolutely, would I recommend this chalet, most certainly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldskigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family stayed in this chalet during Christmas 2013. The chalet is of beautiful, with lovely homely spaces, the bedrooms are clean and tidy, and the showers are hot ! We all loved the addition of a hot tub is fabulous.
The hosts were fantastic. They were relaxed and very friendly. They offered good advice about the skiing and where to visit. They even joined in the eccentricity of our family. They played their part well they were not too stand offish and not too over bearing. I would definitely say they were the best.
The food was very nice, at one point we were asking each other what are favourite meal had been, i can safely say that none of us could choose one in particular as they were all excellent. I don't imagine feeding 20 at the same time is easy but they managed with ease and we were all greatly satisfied.
The area is amazing, the amount of runs available is great and we had great weather. The hosts kindly transferred us to the lift in the morning and picked us back up.

I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend to all who want a luxury stay away

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maysie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a superb three-day break at Chalet Brio at the start of the 2013/14 season. Samoens ski area was not yet open but Robert drove us to Flaine where we had wonderful skiing in bright sunshine and lovely snow, thanks to the cold weather. The accommodation is definitely superior, choice of showers or baths, lots of hot water and comfy beds. Evenings were spent by the cosy log burner and out in the hot tub breathing in mountain air! At the dining table you get stunning views of the Alps and the food was delicious and plentiful (great porridge in the morning, Robert!) My husband and our son (12) amused themselves on the table football and the Wii, also Sky TV and BBC available.
I lost my purse at Geneva and Caroline very kindly helped me report my bank cards and contacted the lost property office at the airport. They couldn't be more helpful and are very knowledgeable of the local area, both the skiing terrain and bars/restaurants.
The chalet is so near to Geneva (hour and a half max transfer), I would definitely recommend it even for a short break.
Lucy, south London

Room Tip: Specify if you would like a bath as some rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyG252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in the La Terrasse apartment within Chalet Brio. The chalet is beautiful and spacious with a lovely private garden. The views everywhere are stunning. The whole Samoens area is beautiful!! The owners Robert & Caroline made us feel really welcome.
The swimming pool was fabulous and really fun for our 3 kids ages 18,11 & 8. We barbecued some nights and ate at some fab local restaurants other nights. There is so much to do in the area we are definitely coming back to stay here again. Thanks for having us !!! Rachael & Simon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Team Lipgloss - 3 girls looking for comfort and pampering on the slopes.
In Chalet Brio, we found just that.
Spacious accommodation, extremely comfortable, with all the homely extras.
Robert and Caroline were perfect owners, and Simon and Eva were marvellous hosts.
The property was recommended to us by chalet owners from a previous year, and we really feel like we fell on our feet.
Nothing was too much trouble, and the food was utterly delicious
The hot tub was perfect for massaging the tired muscles after a perfect ski - with the deer as company. Bliss
We would definitely recommend the chalet for anyone wanting a skiing holiday where all you have to worry about is the weather :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterbox999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Palladior Morillon Grand Massif
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Brio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Brio

Property: Chalet Brio
Address: 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Samoens
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing