We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Chalet Giffre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Giffre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Chalet Giffre as we have always had a great welcome from Sam & her team. They work cheerfully hard to make our stay a pleasure especially the food at Christmas was perfect. On Christmas morning we heard on of Santa's little helpers crashing about to leave a stocking filled with gifts tailored for each of us; red wine for me how did Santa know?
Samoens is pretty low but that virtually guarantees access from Geneva. It is a working French town with markets, bakeries too many to count and friendly locals. Spoilt for choice on the selection of a restaurant on the girls night off but they are all good. The bars are also more local than apres ski but I'm happy with that.
We tried to book for a short trip later in February but fully booked but hey there is always next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi David,

Its always a pleasure having you, Eileen and your group of friends.
Hope to see you again this season.

All the best
Daryn, Dale and Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

It's with great reluctance I write this as I know it will mean we will suffer in the long run due to limited availability!! After 20+years of skiing we've finally found a chalet and ski area we know we will return to many times, I've never understood people who return to the same place year after year when there are so many other pistes, so many chalets and/or hotels to experience until now. After suffering the last 4-5 years in Austrian 4* / 5* hotels where the owners appear at best to tolerate us Brits, it's been wonderful to return to the French slopes and the hospitality of a well run chalet. From contacting David via email to enquire about availability to meeting Dale, Sam and the girls I just knew we were in good hands and had chosen the right place.

The chalet has comfortable bedrooms that are only needed for sleeping in, a very cosy living area with log burner, satellite TV, selection of DVDs and books and games available. Breakfast was good and arranged to be served at a time to suit - selection of cooked breakfast (croque madames / scrambled eggs /poached eggs different each morning) cereals, yogurts, fresh French bread and jams. Packed lunch available if needed (also good but mountain restaurants seem reasonably priced too) afternoon tea and cakes waiting for your return from the slopes and then a 3 course meal later in the evening, our package included wine and beer during the evening meal. The food was really good home-style cooking and the hosts very flexible if the menu is not quite to your liking.

Ski hire was sorted out through the chalet and was ready for us on arrival.

Lifts to and from the slopes to the Chalet were available most of the time or the 'blue' bus stopped just outside the chalet.

Lovely little village to explore.

The ski area of Flaine is within a 10-20 mins of ski-lifts (although this seemed to be packed full of '2nd week' skiers no longer needing lessons and happy to throw themselves down the mountains at any speed and not with much style). Much preferred the better maintained runs down to Les Carroz and Morillon, that appear to attract of more experienced, less manic type of skier!

If you're looking for a ski chalet that ticks all the boxes this is it - just don't book the week we want it please :)

Room Tip: Depends what you need - pictures of rooms available on their website, but you will not spend too muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
Tina, Daryn and Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay for groups of friends or families. Clean, comfortable, great food, but what really makes this the ideal venue for your ski holiday is the girls and Dale who cannot do enough to help. Need a pack up? Need a lift to the caw car? Need a coffee? Just ask and the girls do it with a smile and laugh. Perfect service!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kieransharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Daryn, Dale and Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For the first time ever we returned to a ski chalet - mainly because we knew that the wonderful Sam would still be in charge, but also because we have grown to love Samoens. The snow was not as good as we would have liked, but we still enjoyed ourselves immensely, largely because the chalet is so comfortable, and the other guests were all great.
We know there are more luxurious chalets, but as we travel as a family of 5, we think Chalet Giffre is perfect. The rooms are good, the food is great, the wine flows, the hot water supply is excellent, and the chalet host and her helpers could not do more to help.
We could probably have saved a few Euros by arranging ski hire in one of the local shops, but Dale's in-house ski hire is so good I'm prepared to pay the extra. And, he's around to sort out any problems you may have (we had none)!!!
One of the other families in the chalet were on their third visit, as were the friends we travelled with, we were on our second, and the other family are already planning to book again for next year. Need I say more - I just hope we can get in!!!

Room Tip: The first room on the first floor is the winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markjohn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Mark,
Thank you for this review and it was lovely having you stay with us again this xmas 2013.
Hope both you and Heather are keeping well
All the best
Tina, Daryn and Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at Chalet Giffre for skiing trips to the Grand Massif for 3 years now and can recommend it to anybody, young, old, family or friends. The staff are fantastic, considerate, ever helpful and uncomplaining and can't do enough for you. There is plenty of food (more than I can manage) of really good quality and the drink flows. There is plenty of hot water for all and Dale will solve any problems you may have. He will organise your ski hire and advise you about lift passes adn lessons. The staff are generous in every way. We've also been lucky with the other visitors each time we have been. We were even visited bt Santa on Christmas morning!
It is an easy walk to the lifts (or there are buses adn mini-buses if you're not keen on walking in ski boots, but is also close to the centre of Samoens which is a lovely place to spend the evening. I would happily return for a 4th visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine although I believe the one above the living area is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyYeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Nicky,
Thank you for the review was great having you, Nick and your children stay with us again this xmas, hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Tina, Daryn and Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a lovely stay this Christmas at Chalet Giffre, staff were great, food excellent and chalet cosy and warm. Going to try and fit a long weekend in before this season is over. Thanks for a great time girls !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Nick,

Thank you for the review was great having you and the family staying with us during xmas 2013 hope to see you soon again.

All the best
Tina, Daryn and Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just back from another wonderful holiday at Chalet Giffre. A real warm and friendly chalet with superb staff, headed up by the super efficient Sam. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the food is excellent.
We hired skis at the chalet which was really handy and all the equipment was very good quality. Can't find fault with anything and can highly recommend it. With all the good reviews we won't be able to get booked!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Tina, Dale and Daryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
0.3 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Giffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Giffre

Address: 24 Close du Doyen, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Samoens
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 hour from Geneva airport Skiing the Grand Massif. 5 linked villages that form the ski area are all linked via blue runs. 4th largest ski area in France In the top 5 snow sure resorts. We are situated in the picturesque alpine village of Samoens. Chalet Giffre has an excellent location located between the Gondola and town centre. We offer a fully catered service 6 out of 7 days, cooked breakfast, 3 course evening meal with bottled wines and cold beers. Before the evening meal we have a free bar in moderation. The gondola is just 400m which takes you to the midstation at 1600m. There is no walking in ski boots. We have 2 minibuses servicing the chalet which drop you off at the Gondola in under a minute. The public ski bus also stops out side the chalet We also offer collection late afternoon from 5 different lift stations in the Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing