We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job.”
Review of Hotel Neige Et Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Friendly staff, clean, bright and spacious.

When we visited, there was building work going on next door so it was a bit noisy.

The restaurant is large and bright, but lacking in atmosphere. Breakfasts were good, but we decided to seek dinner in more traditional surroundings. If you want efficient modern hotel with an alpine chalet style wrapper, this is the place. If you want true alpine village atmosphere,, Neige et Roc doesn't quite do it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

I booked the hotel for a family christmas on the strength of the reviews and the website. We arrived and were instantly disappointed by the area of Samoens which is very lacking in charm. The hotel itself is more motel in style and quite banal. The rooms we were shown were both very small and unprepossessing. This is not by any stretch of the imagination a luxury hotel. I spoke to the owner who was charming and did what he could which was to keep our deposit and not charge us for the rooms which I suppose he was within his rights to do.

I've no wish to give the hotel a bad review and I think the records show that a lot of people have a great time here but I think that we discovered the hard way that Samoens and this hotel was not for us. We drove on to Megeve where we normally stay, found a last minute vacancy and had a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SirGeorge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel has so many excellent reviews that it barely needs another one. Oh well, it was every good thing that people have already written. Monsieur and Madame and all the staff are lovely - friendly, welcoming, helpful. It's always a good sign when the management eat the same food in the dining room with the guests, don't you think? And the food was legend - that cheese board...! The party evening mid-week was so much fun, and again, there was a table for the owners, their children, grandchildren and friends. Thought went into who sat where and the entertainment was delightful. Our room was lovely, everything worked and the standard of cleaning every day was probably the best I've ever encountered. The hotel is very child-friendly. Ours are grown up, but we were never bothered. Admittedly almost all the small children were french (or half-french) and thus used to dining out and generally behaving beautifully, which to me means running around occasionally and being generally children, but not screaming and shouting. I would have to mention that the pool is pretty much taken over by small children in the evening, but they aren't allowed in the health suite, which is more important for our old bones after skiing anyway, so we didn't mind not swimming. It's in a great location for skiing, out of the town, so nice and quiet, but with the ski bus stop right outside, and it only took 10 minutes to walk to the centre of this lovely town.We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We have just returned from a week in Samoens, where we stayed at Hotel Neige et Roc.
After looking all over the web for info on this lovely place and found very little - I thought it best to compose my own report for all to view.

Samoens is 1 hour transfer from Geneva Airport.
We used Go Massif who were brilliant. €120 private transfer or €80 shared (I think)

The hotel has in the basement a ski locker and boot warmers. No point using the lockers on piste - The bus stop is literally 30meters from the boot room - Right outside the hotel. The bus stops every 15 minutes.
The lift from Samoens opens at 845 and takes 8minutes to the pistes. So if you're meeting friends in Flaine this is what you need to do. Once on the piste... you skate along the flat for about 50meters. Then ski to the Express Lift (on right)... Take that to the top. Then keeping left ski down till you see another lift on the LEFT. Take that lift and then follow signs to Flaine. We easily managed to arrive in Flaine by 925 every morning.

Back to the hotel.
Mr Deffaught is brilliant. But 99% French spoken and only speaks broken English.
Selena (front desk) is magnificent and speaks good English. Do not expect anyone to speak English to you. This is a quaint French Hotel! And everyone speaks French.
Don't be put off... This was part of their charm!

The bedrooms are fine. Nothing exciting. (ask to stay in the new block) The bathrooms are LOVELY! Huge with corner bath and magnificent decor.
The beds again-Typical French. Plastic under sheet (but seriously it's not that bad) with attached roll pillow. (They provide another fab pillow)...

There is a large 6 person Jacuzzi, smallish but sweet indoor swimming pool (28 degrees) , sauna and Hamann.
Outdoor pool and Tennis courts.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk into Samoens centre which is great.
NOT a party town but is very much worth visiting and spending time in. Cheese and Sausison everywhere you look.

The white local wine is delicious - Hotel sells this from €20 though spend €26 and you get a lovely bottle.
The red local - not to our taste. A bottle of decent Bordeaux in the hotel is €38.

Cocktails are €8 as are G&T's.

The shops all greet you in the evening - Please greet them back. They're just being polite.

Back to the hotel.
The food... We had the half board.
We ate everything from Scallops, French Onion Soup, Local Lake Fish, Crab, Lobster, Wild Boar, Frogs Legs, FANTASTIC puds, CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE, Fondue, Sausison, etc etc. GREAT VALUE.
The A La Carte Menu is good too! Expensive but VERY good.

The waiters again - ONLY SPEAK FRENCH! Lots of pointing, smiling and laughing and we got on great.
We were the only two English people there. Everyone else was French.

WiFi is available - STUPIDLY - they charge €20 for this service for your stay. Or €4 for half hour.

A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riverhead66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed for a week in one of the hotels studios (for 3 pers). These are in a seperate chalet at the rear of the hotel. Room was clean, spacious and traditionally decorated. Hotel and it's facilities were beautiful although very quiet at this time of year. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Views and aspect were perfect. Easy to walk to town which is a real plus and we ate out at the 'Gai Soleil', 'Le Serac' and 'Rendez Vous a la Piaz' all of which were very good. The studio kitchen could do with a bit of modernising although it was clean and functional. This did not detract at all from a wonderful holiday in a wonderful place. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacrestNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have been going to the Neige et Roc for 3 years now and absolutely love it, so when I looked at my previous review and mark of 4 I felt it was a bit mean and should be upgraded to a 5. It is a lovely small family run hotel in the beautiful village of Samoens. We go for the skiing but I would love to see the area in the summer as I guess it would be spectacular. The food in the hotel is excellent and the service is first class and attentive. The rooms are comfortable and clean, if a little old fashioned if you are not lucky enough to get one of the refurbished ones as we did this year. We wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Recently stayed at this lovely hotel with my family and had one of the best ski holidays we have had. The weather helped,lots of snow and beautiful sunshine,but the friendliness and cosy feel of the hotel added to this.The resort is nearby and we were dreading getting on the 'Ski-Bus' as we have always stayed within walking distance of the lift.This service was very efficent and as soon as you were on it ,it was time to get off!
Peak Retreats were great in helping us book this holiday and I found the staff there most helpful.I would definately book through them again.
If you have a family and want a quite,safe ski hol then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tisthepitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
116 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neige Et Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neige Et Roc

Address: 255 route de Taninges, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Price Range: £88 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neige Et Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neige Et Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neige Et Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing