We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just back from another great week at La Renardiere. Estelle and Carin have been joined by the delightful Veronique on reception - Estelle is now part time since the birth of her baby. The usual warm and friendly welcome, beautiful and comfortable apartment, peace and quiet - perfect. Made good use of the swimming pool, rarely more than one or two others in there, and the jacuzzi usually to ourselves. A few games of pool and table footie in the games room, the odd drink in the bar (the local Samoens brew is awesome. Thanks all - probably see you next year again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent apartment. Clean, warm. Comfortable. Very close to ski bus stop. Centre of village 5 minutes walk.
Only criticism - no oven and jacuzzi could be warmer, but overall i would thoroughly recommend the apartment

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We've stayed in La Renardiere on 4 or 5 occasions over the last 8/9 years, and we're going back in 2013. The welcome from Estelle and Carine (my apologies if I've spelt those names wrongly) has always been excellent; warm and friendly. They cope admirably with my schoolboy French and answer my questions in perfect English. The bar is cosy and quiet - just the way we like it. If you want noisy apres ski pop in to one of the bars in town. The swimming pool is indeed often empty of people - bliss! Where else would you find a private pool at these prices? Breakfast is available on request - a bonus in what are essentially serviced apartments. We occasionally take advantage of that service, but more often take an early morning stroll into town to buy our own fresh pastries from the excellent bakery to go with the coffee we make for ourselves using the filter machine provided. It's common decency to have a quick clean of the apartment at the end of the stay, and we've never felt the need to have the room 'inspected', and have never been charged a cleaning fee. Fresh towels are provided midweek, and a big towel and bathrobe can be (very reasonably) hired for use in the pool. I should probably remain silent, and keep the secret of Renardiere to myself so that it doesn't become overcrowded - but I can't leave the unfair negative comments unanswered - or the rudeness to a lovely and kind individual

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This being our last ski trip of the season, on a friend's advice, we decided to stay in the pretty village of Samoens.

Upon arrival La Renardiere looked lovely... But our room did have a strange smell!

There was a large unfriendly lady on reception that made us feel every time we asked that we were being a nuisance and whatever we asked, the answer was always "no".

We hadn't booked breakfast, but on the first morning on a whim, we asked if we could have breakfast..."no!" Breakfast was bread and jam, we could not understand why we could not join in? So we had one coffee, which we were charged 5 euros for.

The bar... We are not big drinkers, but after a nice day skiing we like to have a couple of beers and one of the reasons we chose La Renardiere was on the Internet the pictures of the bar area were quite inviting and we thought it would be nice to exchange ski stories with fellow skiers. not once was there anyone in the bar area. The receptionist doubles up as the bar tender and basically she would rather stay sitting down at reception than getting of her back side and serving drinks. Why on earth would you have such an inviting area where you could bring the whole Chalet together and create some kind of atmosphere and choose not to nurture it? As the walk into the village is 10 mins away. Be warned... The reception come bar is closed by 8pm.

One of the days was extremely hot and we asked if there were any chairs or beds that we could take outside to sit in the sun..."no!" There is a pool area outside the hotel, are we to believe that they have an outdoor pool with not one chair or sun lounger ?

We soon realised that the smell left in the room was from previous occupants as each room has their own kitchen and they had obviously been cooking. Each day we decided to leave the balcony door open whilst we skied to give the room a good Airing. The room was clean and tidy, however, it soon dawned on us the reason why...! There is a 30 euro charge for the cleaning your room at the end of your stay. Maid service is available during the week at a cost! As are clean towels! Try not to book yourself an early flight for your return as you will get caught up in the La Renardiere RUN as we called it. This is a sprint to the cleaning cupboard on your floor to retrieve a Hoover and cleaning equipment. Fortunately we had a late flight but we were woken at 6.45am by the dull dulcet tones of the hoovering from other rooms. Once you have cleaned your room, you invite the large lady from the reception to come and inspect your room (it is like something from a comedy) which she tried to resist, but be warned, if you don't she has your credit card details!

If we had to congratulate the Le Renardiere on one thing it would be how to run an establishment on minimum staff. No bar staff, no cleaners/maids, we saw no one but the receptionist! The breakfast room and the bar were always empty and so was the indoor pool! Everything was so uninviting. Hospitality was poor and the establishment completely lacked atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 105steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle B, Manager at Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Mister
We acknowledge your comments on Trip Advisor and are responding accordingly.
We would remind you that the different optional services we provide and their costs are outlined on our information leaflets and promotional material.
Regarding breakfast: We offer a standard breakfast with bread, pastries, cake, fruit, yoghurt, butter, a choice of jams, a hot drink and fruit juice. As stated on the information you received on arrival, breakfast is only available if ordered in advance, at the latest the day before.

We are a quiet, family hotel where everyone should feel at home.
The lounge bar area is reserved for our clients every day from 8am to 8pm. There they can spend relaxing time with family or friends at the fireside.

We make it a point of principal that our staff including our housekeeping team, operate with utmost discretion so as not to disturb residents in any way. We go into apartments to carry out housekeeping services every day (optional) and after guests have left. (End of stay cleaning service also available)

We can assure you that our complete team is committed to making your stay a most enjoyable one and will do all it can to achieve this.
We are sorry for any misunderstanding and would like to emphasise that the management of La Renardière is at your disposal and available to meet during your stay.

Lastly, I would request that you did not make discriminatory comments regarding a person’s physique.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

In French these are billed as bedroom apartments and that's exactly what they are. You get a very good sized bedroom with a sofa and a table that just happens to have a mini kitchen hidden away in it. So it's kind of unusual - somewhere between an apartment and a hotel, with elements of both. The kitchen was very limited - no oven - and you are essentially cooking in your bedroom. La Renardiere does breakfast for €10 a head and next time we'd probably take up the offer. What I should add at this point is that they are quite happy to do short rentals - ours was for 4 nights - and it just isn't worth the hassle of gearing up for breakfast.

The other thing to note is that our room had a separate bedroom, but the walls are very thin! Not a huge problem for us, but something to note depending on who you're planning to share with.

The location is great and I'd definitely stay again. I'd just think of it more as a hotel with big rooms and no maid service, rather than a more traditional apartment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week at La Renardière in Samoens. The apartments are extremely well equiped, the chalet is cosy and the staff are great. I thoroughly recommend this place if you want an easy self catering skiing holiday in a traditional mountain chalet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here for one week in February 2011. It was close to the centre of Samoens and set back from the roadside, so it was nice and quiet. We had a lovely room at the front with a balcony which was great to take in the sun after a tiring day skiing. The pool and jacuzzi were also very welcome to soothe our tired limbs. The room had a double bed with a built in kitchen in to the large wardrobe area - great idea to be able to hide it away when you are done cooking. It also had a table and chairs inside and out and a flat screen TV with English TV channels. Everything was clean and tidy and very good value for money. They even bought our ski passes with the deal we had. Good, friendly service. I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scottmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Palladior Morillon Grand Massif
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere

Property: Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere
Address: 93 Chemin des Forestiers, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing