We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We returned here at the end of January; it must have been my seventh or eighth visit. As ever, the rooms were comfortable, well furnished and the place just oozes charm. It is an easy walk into the centre of Samoens and we usually hire a car and then hire (and leave) skis at 1600 so everything is just so convenient.

The bar is great for an early evening drink, the hotel doesn't do food and the bar closes early. In fact the whole place closes early and entry back in later in the evening is via the night door.

Don't expect the Renardiere to be at the centre of apres ski life, but there are plenty of restaurants and bars close by.

A couple of minor grumbles. The hot tub is, well, a tepid tub and seems to have dropped a few degrees through the years. In addition, breakfast is steep at €12 per person. Having said that we did a diy and just went to the local store first thing in the morning for crossants etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjm2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A warm, accommodating and comfortable place to stay, lots of space, well equipped kitchen, and plentiful hot water. Traditionally decorated in chalet style with a lovely lounge and bar area, roaring fire and plenty of cosy chairs. A spacious self catering option, close to the supermarket and walking distance to the village centre. Will definitely be back but recommend taking your own hairdryer, the wall mounted one in the bathroom is too slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were fairly spacious for France with a nice little dining area and a small but very well equipped kitchen "cupboard". The staff on reception were very helpful. The residence is well situated about 800 metres from the centre of Samoens and the ski bus stop is close by. The pool and jacuzzi could have been warmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonGiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

What we liked:
- everything written in the other reviews: savoyard style, cosiness, friendly staff, independence, comfy beds, decent bathroom
- kitchen though very small was well equipped and functional ( 2 hot plates + microwave + water cooker + coffee machine + dish washer)
- free and sufficient parking, within 10 min walk from village shops
- very cosy lounge with bar and open fire place.
- dog friendly
What could be better in our opinion
- wifi signal not stable on our apartment, and very slow in the evening
- jacuzzi too cold (seems to be a universal issue in most french ski resorts in our experience)

Room Tip: Make sure there is a window in the room/space with the single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sablod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great place to stay and very friendly service. The rooms are well equipped and clean with their own kitchenette and balcony with fantastic views. The whole vibe was quirky and charming, with warm alpine decor which felt considered and stylish - overall it was just great value. The indoor and outdoor pools were both lovely and though we didn't have time to try the spa the treatment list looked tempting! We just loved the freedom of having our own kitchen on hand if we wanted it, although town is only a few minutes walk away and has some great restaurants. A good place for families but also v romantic bolt hole for a couple. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Shiplake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Charming hotel cosily decorated in traditional style. Rooms worked well for a family of 5, kids loved the free wifi and the 3 English channels. Kitchenette adequate. Lovely outdoor pool, gorgeous views, very clean and perfect temperature. Our room faced west so perfect to come back to after a day out and watch the sun go down from our balcony. Great being on the edge of village as no noise, and uninterrupted views. Completely quiet at night, despite the hotel being full. Younger of the reception staff very smiling and welcoming, charming to the kids and couldn't do enough for us (sorry, should have asked your name), but the others not so friendly. The owner was a perfect gentleman helping us out when we had a flat battery - driving me to two garages in neighbouring villages to get us help. Very kind. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: The apartment for 6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardsfamily6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great place to stay. Really helpful staff. Really good apartment . Ours had three rooms and was ideal for one family but would be a squeeze for two. Views are fantastic and you can sit on the balcony and watch the sun go down Bus stop is 100m away and takes 8 mins to get to telecabin. You can also walk into the centre of samoens in 10 minutes. Use of a pool after a day at the slopes was an added bonus .Only thing to avoid is the breakfast that although tasty was overpriced for what it was. We had it on our first day and then walked into town on the rest

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrimperKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Palladior Morillon Grand Massif
0.4 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere

Property: Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere
Address: 93 Chemin des Forestiers, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Hoteliere La Renardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing