We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, fantastic food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gite du Lac de Gers
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We finally got to try this restaurant on our 4th trip to Samoens and we were not disappointed. It is only accessible via the blue Les Cascades piste from Flaine which is itself a beautiful ski, but since it is on the ridge be prepared for some flat parts. The restaurant is clearly signed posted at around the 25 piste mark ( of 73) but is a short distance from the piste so you have to use the phone provided to call the restaurant and in a couple of minutes a skidoo with a trailer appears. The trailer is for your ski poles ,skiers are instead handed a rope and then towed up to the restaurant. That in itself would make the restaurant worth going to, but the quality of the food is what makes this restaurant a must do. The menu is full of Savoyard standards but simply and perfectly executed. Prices are usual ski prices but in this case worth it. The faux steak is one of the best I have ever tasted and they have delicious home made puds. Eat outside if the weather allows since the views are stunning. A great experience which made our ski holiday memorable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Bonvoyagenewmalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Gite du Lac de Gers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We only ate at the restaurant one lunchtime. We skied from Les Carroz via Flaine. most of our party descending along the 14km Cascades run. Be prepared for a bit of poling and possibly walking along the way. The weather wasn't great but you could tell there were some dramatic views. When you get to the 20 marker on Cascades there is a large wooden sign with a phone attached. This will patch you straight though to the restaurant. if you have a reservation (highly recommended) a skidoo will arrive 5 minutes later and drag you on your skis up to the restaurant. The location is completely remote. The food is fantastic. It was pretty cold sitting outside but well worth it for the dramatic views. We had coffee and dessert inside before departing down the rest of the run - slightly steeper with more turns down to Sixt, where we caught a bus to Samoens and back into the ski area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Contamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank chandeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Osmonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Berouze
Le Berouze
#2 of 6 in Samoens
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
CGH Residences & Spas Les Chalets de Layssia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite du Lac de Gers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite du Lac de Gers

Address: Lac de Gers, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Samoens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing