We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Alpine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Alpine Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town the Gai Soleil is a traditional family hotel perfectly positioned to enjoy the beauty of the Alps. Our room on the 3rd floor was a reasonable size and well appointed. It had a pair of bunk beds inside the small foyer area making it ideal for families, there was also a kitchen that was locked behind a roller shutter door but available for a supplement. There is a pleasant spa facility in the garden with a pool, whirlpool, sauna and plenty of loungers which was great for a couple of hours chill-out after exploring the mountains. Unfortunately we didn't have dinner at the hotel as we wandered into town on both nights of our stay, however, the restaurant has a good reputation and appeared very busy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the homemade yogurt was to die for! My only criticism is that the breakfast buffet was crammed in a very small area and difficult to move around. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    41
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Furniture, fixtures and fittings are in need of updating, however this cannot detract from the unbelievably professional and helpful receptionist who spent a great deal of time looking up bus/train schedules for us on the internet. We couldn't get the WIFI to work, but nevertheless she went over and above. We didn't eat breakfast or dinner here so cannot comment on that. It gets a 'very good' based on the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langemeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had a family room on the ground floor (room 1) for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has excellent facilities and the staff cannot do enough for you.

Our room had a set of bunk beds in a separate area to the main bedroom, so my little boy felt like he had his own room which was lovely. The bathroom was a good size and modern in design. The main bedroom area was very nice although it did lack any curtains. This proved interesting at night as we were on the ground floor opposite the swimming pool, so there were people passing our window!

There is a lovely pool and hot tub down a little path at the side of the hotel as well as a sauna, steam room and hot tub in the basement of the hotel. Lovely after a day of skiing. We didn't really see any other guests and always had the place to ourselves. I'm not sure of the pool opening times, but the owners were always more than happy to open it up for us whenever we requested.

Breakfast was lovely. Each table is set with a basket of lovely warm bread and croissants. You then help yourself to a selection of cheeses, ham, salami etc. There was also fresh fruit, yoghurt, danish pastries, eggs (to boil yourself), jams, cereals etc. Hot drinks were dispensed from a machine and the hot chocolate was lovely.

Free wifi is available in the lounge area which was very cosy with a lovely log fire of an evening.

The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and has the ski bus stop literally outside. Very handy when lugging skis around. The Intersport ski rental shop is also just a short walk around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you're shy :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helloson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend. The food in the restaurant was exceptional, authentic french cuisine well cooked and almost entirely homemade - the sign of a skilled chef. Perfect for a long weekend - the room was fine, but the hospitality was the standout - would definitely return

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roscey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived late - a warm welcome for us. The location was excellent- a charming town, with lots to offer a family with small kids(6 yr old and an 8 month old baby). Breakfast was basic but fine, we had one dinner and it was excellent. Baby friendly, amazing fresh kids menu, and our meal was amazing. The town is full of tourists- most french- we liked that. We had a room with a double bed and bunk beds, the bunk beds were not comfortable for adult but kid didnt mind. The family that owns the hotel are lovely, and very helpful. We sadly had to leave early- but will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliottb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in middle of march and it was nice but not so nice as we expected. I went with my brother to skiing and the hotel is in a good location. The rooms are reasonable, with a decent bathroom and a nice balcony. The breakfast is very basic but worst was the dinner. We went halfboard and we were disappointed. Normally there is always more than one choice but not in this place. If you don't like worse for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Perfect location for us, being in a quiet location 2 minutes walk into the village centre and only 10 steps across the road to the bus stop. The bus seemed to turn up whenever we needed it both out side the hotel and at the lift station, it seemed to be much more frequent than the timetable suggested. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was a help yourself buffet that was continually refreshed by the staff and was all you needed. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony to sit on. A very good 3 star hotel and an ideal base for our ski break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Palladior Morillon Grand Massif
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Gai Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Gai Soleil

Property: Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Address: Le Bourg | 26 Route de Taninges, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Gai Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situed in the town center of Samoens. 28 Rooms, studios or Suite, all equiped with balcony, tv with english and german channel, free wifi. Restaurant with a large choice (salad, meat, fish, menu and savoyard specialities). Free access to swimmingpool, spa jacuzzi, hammam, sauna, fitness room and games rooms. Garden 2000m² ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residence Gai Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing