We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here very much.”
Review of Ibis Thonon Evian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Thonon Evian
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A nice hotel, so close to shopping in the lovely French town. Hotel room was clean and the breakfast was nice. The lake, pretty to look at and the fountain in the town changing colour was great to watch. The location to the Restaurants were close and easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendoline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very clean and tidy hotel, the rooms smelt vaguely of French cigarettes but I found this strangely reassuring!
The staff were very helpful but not everyone spoke English.
The room and bathroom were very clean and I had a lovely view over the Lake.
Thonon is definitely worth a visit and I hope to return soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Ideal for a few days. Perfectly situated in the centre of town, with beautiful view of the lake. Paying parking, but very reasonable and easy to use. Rooms clean and tidy although a little small. Breakfast OK but restaurant in the evenings lacking in choice, so best to eat out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was there the last week of June 2013 and it was the closest hotel to the lake that was open. Ibis is always a basic accommodation, but the location at the top of the funiculaire was perfect and I even had a view of the lake from my 3rd floor room. Rooms are small and efficient - the hotel version of a cabin on a cruise ship. The woman at the front desk was very helpful with lots of tips for parking, dining and getting around...and she spoke very good English. I usually only have a yogurt and fruit for breakfast and they charged me $2 Euro instead of $9 for the full buffet. My room had an odd odor when I opened the door, but after opening the window, the odor dissipated and I had no further issues. I would not hesitate to stay there again. For less than $100 Euro, it's a great deal, considering the prices charged by other hotels around Lake Geneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - that's why you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for a few nights as part of return trip to UK. Good location oh high ground overlooking Lake Geneva ( Lac Leman ). The town of Thonon-les-Bains is like many French towns and it has the usual collection of chain stores and local shops. It seemed a friendly place with a lot
of students. Town gardens were exceptional while we were there and if you drive down to the
edge of the lake there are a good selection of bars, restaurants etc. and lovely walks along the lake shore. Trips on lake steamer to Lucerne can be had if you have the time. Evian is close by and a little larger than Thonon - well worth a visit and again, gardens along lake shore are fantastic and the town buzzing.
Parking in the whole of Thonon-Evian area can be expensive and sometimes a bit of a problem, but use a bit of cunning (and a quick look at all the available options) and you can park for free most of the time.
IBIS Thonon-Evian gives the usual "no surprises" service and the hotel itself seems clean and well run. Good breakfast room and outside terrace. Helpful Nederlandse lady on reception spoke perfect English and seemed to handle many other languages as well.

Room Tip: We had room 200 on the corner of hotel with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billybkent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A good location and the normal Ibis standard. My only criticism - and this applies to all their hotels - is they do not provide hand towels and there is a lack of sockets for the modern traveller with so many things to recharge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jon2015hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Basic hotel in an area that doesn't have much accomodation available in winter. Our room felt like a prison cell in terms of appearance and afwul heating (we had to ask reception to provide us with a portable one because it was so cold). No mini fridge to even store drinks. Permanent musty odor in room. Very average breakfast for 9 euros a day. For 80 Euros a night, I found it quite expensive for what you got. If you're in real need of a room in this area it would do though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkabell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thonon-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
L'Arc en Ciel
L'Arc en Ciel
#1 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
#5 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Comte Rouge
Le Comte Rouge
#4 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cote Sud Leman
Hotel Cote Sud Leman
#8 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
38 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,774 reviews
4.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Thonon Evian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Thonon Evian

Address: 2 T Avenue d Evian, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Thonon Evian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Thonon les Bains hotel lies in the centre of a major touristic, cultural and sport crossroads. Close to lake Léman, it is located in the centre of Thonon, 10 min from the spa centre and just about 8 km from Evian. The hotel offers for booking 67 air-conditioned rooms, including 3 adapted for disabled persons. It puts at your disposal Wifi access, a restaurant, a terrace with a superb view over the lake, a bar open 24/24 and parking. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Thonon Evian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing