We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality/price rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Thonon - Evian
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
GreenLeadersSilver level
France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good quality/price rate”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The location is simply best for the town location and the atmosphere of the hotel nice. Close to the pedestrian center, also 15mn walk from the lake (down hill), we had a nice stay. Very friendly staff (we arrived late at night and could still get some drinks at the bar) and helpful, the rooms are a bit small but quiet, even for the rooms street side. Breakfast was good and the room nice with large windows, possibility to get the breakfast on the terrace as we'll. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    209
    114
    25
    10
See reviews for
83
201
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very handy for the centre of Thonon. Plenty of places to eat near by. Handy motorbike parking just outside the main door. Very friendly staff. Really good wifi in reception. The rooms are good. Not bad for the price - but would try the Ibis Budget next time at half the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpertYakSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A nice hotel, so close to shopping in the lovely French town. Hotel room was clean and the breakfast was nice. The lake, pretty to look at and the fountain in the town changing colour was great to watch. The location to the Restaurants were close and easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very clean and tidy hotel, the rooms smelt vaguely of French cigarettes but I found this strangely reassuring!
The staff were very helpful but not everyone spoke English.
The room and bathroom were very clean and I had a lovely view over the Lake.
Thonon is definitely worth a visit and I hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Ideal for a few days. Perfectly situated in the centre of town, with beautiful view of the lake. Paying parking, but very reasonable and easy to use. Rooms clean and tidy although a little small. Breakfast OK but restaurant in the evenings lacking in choice, so best to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was there the last week of June 2013 and it was the closest hotel to the lake that was open. Ibis is always a basic accommodation, but the location at the top of the funiculaire was perfect and I even had a view of the lake from my 3rd floor room. Rooms are small and efficient - the hotel version of a cabin on a cruise ship. The woman at the front desk was very helpful with lots of tips for parking, dining and getting around...and she spoke very good English. I usually only have a yogurt and fruit for breakfast and they charged me $2 Euro instead of $9 for the full buffet. My room had an odd odor when I opened the door, but after opening the window, the odor dissipated and I had no further issues. I would not hesitate to stay there again. For less than $100 Euro, it's a great deal, considering the prices charged by other hotels around Lake Geneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - that's why you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for a few nights as part of return trip to UK. Good location oh high ground overlooking Lake Geneva ( Lac Leman ). The town of Thonon-les-Bains is like many French towns and it has the usual collection of chain stores and local shops. It seemed a friendly place with a lot
of students. Town gardens were exceptional while we were there and if you drive down to the
edge of the lake there are a good selection of bars, restaurants etc. and lovely walks along the lake shore. Trips on lake steamer to Lucerne can be had if you have the time. Evian is close by and a little larger than Thonon - well worth a visit and again, gardens along lake shore are fantastic and the town buzzing.
Parking in the whole of Thonon-Evian area can be expensive and sometimes a bit of a problem, but use a bit of cunning (and a quick look at all the available options) and you can park for free most of the time.
IBIS Thonon-Evian gives the usual "no surprises" service and the hotel itself seems clean and well run. Good breakfast room and outside terrace. Helpful Nederlandse lady on reception spoke perfect English and seemed to handle many other languages as well.

Room Tip: We had room 200 on the corner of hotel with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billybkent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thonon-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
L'Arc en Ciel
L'Arc en Ciel
#1 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
#4 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Comte Rouge
Le Comte Rouge
#5 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cote Sud Leman
Hotel Cote Sud Leman
#8 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoie Et Leman
Savoie Et Leman
#6 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Thonon - Evian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Thonon - Evian

Property: Ibis Thonon - Evian
Address: 2 T Avenue d Evian, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Thonon - Evian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Thonon les Bains hotel lies in the centre of a major touristic, cultural and sport crossroads. Close to lake Léman, it is located in the centre of Thonon, 10 min from the spa centre and just about 8 km from Evian. The hotel offers for booking 67 air-conditioned rooms, including 3 adapted for disabled persons. It puts at your disposal Wifi access, a restaurant, a terrace with a superb view over the lake, a bar open 24/24 and parking. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Thonon - Evian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing