We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not suitable for families”
Review of L'Arc en Ciel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Arc en Ciel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Chamonix, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not suitable for families”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

just a little disturbance or mess caused by kids or teenagers and the owner gets a fit. I felt that the youngsters are not welcome. suits well building workers which seem to fill the hotel. good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MLBnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    125
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
226
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is an excellent Hotel on the fringe of Thonon-les- Bain's pedestrianised area; it is ten minutes from hotel to centre - if you dawdle!
We had Room 111 which was delightful: a King bed, separate wc,, bathroom and a refrigerator. As a bonus there was a small kitchenette with cooker, microwave and all equipment and a pleasant balcony overlooking the grounds and pool.
Denise, at reception spoke excellent English, and was always available to provide advice and assistance - she is a gem.
Les Marrioners, the attached restaurant, is great value with a wide selection of menus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are away from the street and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this amazing hotel, a truly unique find in the Savoie district of France. Our room was spacious, super clean and fresh with a lovely little balcony overlooking the garden and the pool, so nice and quiet at night. The most delicious meals were enjoyed at the hotel's adjoining restaurant Les Marronniers. We had only intended to have one meal on the first night, but it was so good we returned on 3 out of 4 of our nights in Thonon - great value and lovely selection, especially the cheese board! The staff are all friendly and make you feel like part of a family.
Also important to mention is the exceptional care from the hostess on the reception desk, when I was ill and needed to see a doctor, she immediately rang around to find me an appointment and asked each day how I was feeling. This is a first rate hotel, recommended without hesitation!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room overlooking the garden, quieter than the front. Room also included a small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Selected this hotel after reviews on Trip Advisor and it exceeded our expectations. Travelling with 3 young kids can be a challenge, however the large family room (on 2 levels and with small kitchenette), nice pool, games room, garden for breakfast and 5-10 min walk to the town centre made our 3 nights in Thonon v enjoyable! Spotlessly clean, good quality continental breakfast and really helpful reception staff. Also v easy to find when driving in with parking available. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good hotel with wonderful welcoming staff. Nice rooms and very good breakfast. A really nice place to stay. Ask for a room with balcony for a nice view and sit outside for your breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: The restaurant next to the hotel is good. A monday night is pretty slow in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMatth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The room was a surprise - very clean with good en-suite and a very nice balcony overlooking the back garden - as it had a small kitchenette . It was very warm at night as there was no a/c but the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and Denise , on the reception desk, extremely helpful. We were out sightseeing every day and we were delighted and surprised to find the restaurant next door - the Menu de Jour was exceptional value and over the 4 nights we ate there we were not disappointed. Our stay was very good value and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were made very welcome by the reception staff. The room was very attractively furnished with a super sized bed. The room was spacious with good storage and a balcony. The bathroom had a state of the art shower over the bath. Fantastic value for money.
The only minus point was the restaurant it was paired with " Les Marroniers". The cooking was rather in the style of the French workmanship menu hence the restaurant was full of manual workers most nights during our stay. There is the facility to separate tourists from workmen in the dining room and this should be done automatically. We had to insist on a table in the veranda part of the restaurant but French guests were always assigned a table there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REP782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thonon-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Ibis Thonon - Evian
Ibis Thonon - Evian
#2 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Comte Rouge
Le Comte Rouge
#5 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
87 reviews
4.8 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
#4 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
387 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,637 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Arc en Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arc en Ciel

Property: L'Arc en Ciel
Address: 18 Place de Crete, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Arc en Ciel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel near center of the town of Thonon Les Bains. Balcony, wifi, garden, outdoor swimming pool, parking and garage. For business or holidays, one night or a long stay, room, BB, half board or full board. On the way to the winter station(Morzine, Avoriaz, Chatel and Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L'Arc en Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Arc En Ciel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing