We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost”
Review of Chalet Hotel Aigle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Aigle
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Almost great - food good, wine plentiful, cakes and tea etc great and location lovely. Yes rooms are a little small but that doesn't bother us.

I was struggling to recall what it was that I didn't like about this chalet. I think the main thing is nowhere to relax. The dinning area has hard seats and the lounge area has airport seating next to the doors which are always opening, letting in a draft. The fire is never on, and it's beside the door - weird. It would be nice to have a cosy lounge area with squishy sofas to rest my bruised behind on, next to a fire maybe. Also the pool was freezing and the sauna only on at weird times and takes ages to heat up.

But overall average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBlackmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from an excellent week at the hotel aigle. I have only rated as 4 but minor improvements could have made it 5. The chalet is almost ski out. Very Short walk up snow bank to the piste and you can ski back down it at the end of the day. Good boot room. Small room (19)but adequate, really needed a set of drawers that they could fit in instead of the small dressing table, it would have made the room much better. Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water for shower. First floor room did suffer from noise from the downstairs doors some nights but after we made them aware they were able to keep the noise down. Good food, always extra If requested, free flowing bottled wine with dinner, two types to choose from. Only criticism with the food was that we had a guest on our table who was dairy intolerant and they really didn't cater for him well at all, often no replacement option, which in France with everything covered in cream or cheese was sometimes a problem. So make sure you actually check the daily menu and request an alternative.
Kids high tea , which was great for us adult only group.

The staff were great, always helpful. Laid on a quiz and party games in the week . The sauna and pool were clean , pool a little chilly but once you were in it was ok.

We were worried that levachett may be a little far out , but it was fine. Only five minute walk to le lac for the shops restraunt or buses to val claret.

Transfers were ok, it's a good three hours, they did get us to the airport a little early as they were covering two flights , but not too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, first floor a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Aigle.
If you like chalet type holidays I can recommend this one. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and you are always treated with a smile. The food is very good with a choice of 2 starters, 3 main courses including a vegetarian dish, 2 choices of sweet, cheese, tea or coffee with mints for evening meal and unlimited good wines. The breakfast was so good that some days we didn't bother with lunch.
At the end of skiing there was bread, jam, cakes, tea and coffee. The Aigle also has a bar which is open from 4pm with drinks at very reasonable prices and a Happy Hour from 4-6pm.
We shall definitely be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Staying in a chalet hotel won't be for everyone. Regardless of the size of chalet, they do always lack the anonymity of a larger hotel which works for some people, and does't work for others. Even though the Aigle has 20 bedrooms so is not small by any standards, you do need to be prepared to get "stuck in" and mix with other guests - particularly since the lounge/bar area is comparatively small.

The chalet is managed by SkiWorld and it is difficult to criticise their administration, booking process and transfers. The transfer to resort has hampered only be the appalling traffic on the way in to Bourg, but anyone that has travelled to Tignes or Les Arc will be familiar with this. The welcome in to resort was friendly but was largely devoted to a selling exercise on the part of third party operators - not a huge problem, but a reminder that this is essentially a package holiday (but in an environment that in most other respects surpass that package holiday expectation).

Like in traditional chalet accommodation, evening meals are served at a set time (8.00pm). This will not suit people looking for flexibility in the evenings since you are expected to sit at the same time. That said, the quality of the food is really very good, and I can understand why they would want to serve all 40 meals simultaneously to avoid a drop in standards.

The evening meals are preceded by an aperitif and canapes, and are then three courses with cheese and coffee. Every single meal was very, very good indeed and compliments must go to the kitchen staff who clearly work extremely hard and to a set budget. The confit of duck on the last night was exceptional, and other highlights were the salmon and the chicken in filo pastry. The starters and desserts were very good as well, and the cheese selection was excellent.

Another reviewer has mentioned the wine being purchased by SkiWorld in bulk at the beginning of the season. This shouldn't come as any surprise whatsoever and for the very reasonable price the wine is not bad. Wine is delivered to the table in bottles, and there is a choice of two reds and two whites. You can literally have as many bottles as you want with your meal, and they were never served begrudgingly. On this basis you are never going to get a selection of £20 bottles of wine with dinner - and I can't think of any chalet accommodation where you do. I understand, however, that SkiWorld do offer an upgrade package.

Breakfast was probably the best I have enjoyed in any chalet accommodation. Every day offered a choice of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, pastries, bread, ham, cheese and what the literature unfairly describes as a "simple" cooked breakfast. Breakfast is served between 8.00 and 10.00 and is altogether a much less regimented affair than dinner.

The rooms themselves are far better than many in the French Alps. Our room on the top floor was not huge, but was in fact more than adequate because the under-eaves storage did mean that there was plenty of space for bags (which most ski accommodation in France so severely lacks). Beds were comfortable and bathrooms fitted out to a high standard. Plenty of hot water and temperature in the rooms was perfect. Rooms were a little bit noisy from time to time, but not unbearably so. A TV in the room would be nice, but I do wonder whether these have been omitted because of noise problems?

The chalet's location is not 100% perfect, but is totally acceptable. It is genuinely "ski-in" but "ski-out" does involve a short walk. The chalet is about a five minute up-hill walk from the centre of town. Not as good as some - but who's not stayed somewhere that hasn't involved getting a bus?

All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Don't forget that the staff in these chalets are not trained hotel professionals. They are young people that enjoy skiing and boarding and who will do a season or two looking after some decent guests (and some horrible ones) so they get to go out on the slopes when they want. The service that we received from the guys and girls at Aigle is an absolute credit to them, and made for a great week's holiday.

Thanks to you all, and I really hope that you enjoy the rest of the season.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor - the under eaves storage is a real benefit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank brd_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

As a group of friends we wanted a no-hassle ski holiday in a big resort. This chalet-hotel seemed to tick all the boxes and we got a reasonable price booking a couple of weeks in advance - the price was a little above a basic chalet deal, but not expensive.

To my surprise we all agreed that the chalet was better than expected. The rooms are clean pleasant and spacious (compared to other places we've used for skiing). The common areas are relaxed and comfortable, and the food is great - every night we had a four course dinner of restaurant quality. Wine was good quality, and free-flowing throughout dinner. The only (minor) food issues were the breakfast sausages - cheap and nasty and tasting like wet bread, and then the packed lunch sandwiches - freshly made with stale bread. Fix those and I'd give 5 out of 5 for the food.

The staff are a real asset to the chalet and to Skiworld. All were unfailingly friendly, taking the trouble to chat and help out wherever they could.

There are only a few negative points;
The advertised wireless is next to useless. No signal unless you're in reception, and even then not working for much of the time. In fact I had a better connection to a rival chalet hotel across the valley. If Alpaka Lodge can do it properly then I don't see why Aigle can't.
Not so easily fixed is the fact that the walls are paper-thin. You can hear conversation from all surrounding rooms, and when your neighbour is as much of a prat as ours was, that can be amusing or troubling.

Room Tip: Room 34, top floor, spacious with a nice little balcony and loads of storage space. Room 32, top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just got back from a week of skiing in Tignes, had the pleasure of staying in Chalet Aigle where everything was perfect! The flight, transfer and arrival were swift, and the welcome to France was fantastic.
The rooms are a decent size and the beds were made, rooms cleaned, every single day, even on staff day off.
The food is divine, you will never be hungry after staying in this chalet......especially the mint chocolates that they give you after supper ;).......!!!!
The pool is a little bit cold but it is a luxury to have one and the sauna is amazing, there was not a towel left for me when I got down there though.
Saving the best until last, THE STAFF.....they are amazing, they see to all your needs and nothing is ever a problem for them. They recognise you every day and it makes the whole experience more homely. Harry is fantastic, with his cheeky smile and endless jokes, he will make you laugh the whole time. Charlotte is so friendly, so helpful and always smiling! She is very willing to help, or give advice on where to go for good nightlife....she's also good at trying to convince us to come back for the X games! (I wish.)
Heather is lovely, very smily and always happy to help out.
Lorna is extremely helpful, and welcomed us at the airport, told us where we needed to be and gave us all the relevant information that we needed, and helped us book our evening when it was the staff night off.
Lara the hotel manager (I hope I am getting the names right) is ALWAYS around to help, I don't think there was a day at all where I did not see her helping someone out, finding out whatever it might be we were unsure of, she told us that we were always giggling!!!!
Ben the barman is great, always around in the evenings for a conversation and so approachable, helpful, funny, smily and often seen enjoying the social scene of Tignes in the evenings!

All in all, the four of us had a great week in Tignes, made even better by all the hard work the chalet staff put into it!

Hope to be back here next year, sad that the staff won't be the same though!

THANK YOU!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just got back from an amazing week at this chalet hotel, totally brilliant, the staff were fantastic, looked after us really well, we took others advice on here ansd asked for rooms on the top floor and weren't disturbed at all by any noise from the bar, bit of outside noise occasionally if someone was coming home late, but not enough to disturb, the rooms were cleaned daily, even on the staff day off they still served a hot breakfast, cleaned and made up the rooms, excellent service. The food we had all week was amazing and there was pleanty of it, so even the 2 farmers we took with us were full to bursting by the end of the meal, (it was too good to leave), there was also a good selection of food with 2 choices of Starter, Main and Pudding each night and the veggies were very well catered for as well, as all the food was made from scratch the chef was quite willing to mix thing around so that everyone had a good variety and mix of food. The room itself was the biggest I have every had in a ski chalet, highly recomend

Room Tip: Would recomend a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougalDogHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
357 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#9 of 37 in Tignes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Aigle

Address: Rue de l'Eglise, 73150 Val-d'Isere | Tignes le Lac, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Number of rooms: 92

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing