We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star is about right.”
Review of Chalet Alaska

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Alaska
Ranked #63 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Tignes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed in Alaska in early March 2012 as part of a group of 6 booked through Ski-Total. Transfers were fine - 3 hours from Geneva and well looked after by resort reps. Ski passes all sorted on bus and were with us by dinner time - a nice little touch meaning you can hit the slopes first thing in the morning rather than queue for a pass.

The chalet is sited on a hill about 3 mins walk up from the main road where the bus leaves you. Chalet staff were great with helping carry heavy gear up on arrival. I'll try and break this down a bit or it'll just be a ramble about our holiday -

Staff - Excellent - can't remember their names and they probably won't be there next year but for the record there were terrific - from the chalet staff to the transfers/resort reps they were all very friendly and efficient.

Food - The main plus point on food was that it was served bang on time every night which is what you want on a ski holiday. Food was of a good standard but and did the job - nothing to write home about but given it's a three star chalet no complaints here.

Location - To get to a piste is a simple 2 min walk further up the hill and this gets you onto a nice little red (not too steep though) which takes you to an option of two high speed chair lifts taking you up either side of the valley. In terms of starting the day this was really good as you can get up to Val Claret and from there all over the Espace Killy pretty quickly. Alternatively you could wander down into Le Lac (about 10 mins max) and jump on the aeroski bubble if you'd like to head straight over to the Val d'Isere side.

So the start of the day was fine but the only problem for anyone less than an intermediate is the runs back down into Le Lac at the end of the day - on the Val side is a steep black which we often avoided. Most days we ended up in Val Claret and got the bus back along but this is totally avoidable, just how it seemed to happen when skiing the Grande Motte a fair bit of the time.

Ski Area - This is amazing - probably one of the best in the world. It helped that there was a ton of snow when we were there and some nice fresh powder.

Cleanliness - The chalet was kept clean and rooms were tidied and cleaned every day.

Nightlife - Le Lac is OK for Apres but not fantastic - Val Claret is a bit better but if you really want some crazy fun head over to La Folie Douce (google it) aboce La Daille - absolutely crazy.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms i.e. 11, 12 are in the eves so have (very) limited head room. Not all rooms have ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrisdb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

26 person chalet and we filled it with the whole group. We booked as part of a trip through total ski and the service was nowhere near as good as with other companies in previous years. The chalet hosts were poor and treated the place like their own and the food was not great quality. The tour operator was good though and transfers were easy and on time. If you're after a budget ski trip, this should do. Anything more then I'd avoid.

Room Tip: only 4 double rooms in the chalet and beds are not easily pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mario_saleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

26 person chalet with very varying room size and quality. Room 2 was tiny with the smallest shower ever. Choose another if you can. The living accommodation is grossly undersized for 26 people ie not everyone can sit down at the same time. Not ski in ski out really it's an uphill walk to a red run so not ok for beginners. Food quality suspect. Would not recommend

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Stayed in the chalet as part of a group of 6 (Chalet hosts 30) booked through Alpine Elements. The Chalet was basic, but comfortable, a little rugged round the edges both furnishings and cleanliness wise.
Hosted by two young lads (18 ish), who didn't really do much apart from serve food and use the place like their home, eating the cake before most people got back from the afternoon skiing! The chef / food was good but hindered by the fact the the ingredients were cheap and things such as meat rationed, most nights meat consisted of lardons or cheap cuts.
This is my second chalet holiday and think Neilson fared better food wise and professionally. It was expensive, which was largely due to going over new year but it did seem we were slightly ripped off given the quality of food and the amount of unnecessary staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
2.9 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#28 of 80 in Tignes
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
1.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alaska

Address: avenue de Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Tignes
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conveniently positioned new addition to the Ski Total range in Tignes, the Alaska is within just two minutes walk of the piste. Put your skis on here, and you can ski straight down to the Chaudannes and Paquis 6-man high-speed chairlifts, giving you a choice of heading up either side of the ski area to start your ski-day. At the end of the day, you can then ski back to the same point for the shortest walk home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Alaska Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing