We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great area, with loads to do. Accommodation ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Rosset

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Rosset
Ranked #3 of 16 Tignes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great area, with loads to do. Accommodation ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just back from a fortnight's holiday with Alpine Elements at this chalet. We had a very good holiday, and could not fault the sports facilities in Tignes La Lac and the surrounding area. The accommodation was fine, we had rooms 4 and 5 which have baths and balconies, most rooms do not have these features. Food was acceptable, but rarely good, frequently cold by the time it was served. Vegetarian food was almost exclusively cheese based, and frequently contained copious ammounts of neat tomato puree - they need to get someone with some food expertise in to design a decent menu.
Staff are mainly students or post A level teens, some are very friendly and helpful, but essentially unskilled. Activities, we paid additional ammounts for - white water rafting, high ropes, and bowling were not charged at rates over the normal amount.
The bikes included in the deal were not really up to more than running around town on. We had problems with brakes failing, and punctures reapperaring after repair. However, staff were pleasant, appologetic and did their upmost to try to sort out issues.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 on the first floor have baths, balconies and are a little larger than the norm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank firthfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    28
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
32
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from a weeks saty at Chalet Rosset, managed by Alpine Elements.
What on the surface appears a good deal with cooked breakfast, afternoon cake and tea, pre-dinner drinks and canapes, main meal and after dinner cheese board is let down by both the quantity and quality of the food offering.
New student chef and untrained students here for a holiday themselves try to manage this place, but are just here to party. They try to pay for their socialising by tips earned from an over-priced, poorly run, limited selection of activities organised by their sister companies they told me they were forced to promote.
As a result you pay far more for activities and rental equipment available throughout the resort, yet clients are told Alpine Elements have allegedly secured the best offers e.g ski hire being charged at £20 per day available for £12 elsewhere, pub crawl charged at £10 per person, yet you still had to buy drinks in the bars and £3 per head quiz was yet again a blatant attempt to extract money from their guests for little effort or reward.
Rooms were poorly cleaned throughout the week and dirty towels left on the floor to be changed were turned over and folded wet and left in the bedroom. Despite my request for replacement towels and additional toiletries the young girl in charge said it was company policy not to replace towels, bedlinen or toiletries throughout the guests week long stay - I used my own towel thank goodness, but could not get it dried as Chalet Rosset has no drying facilities - don't know what they do to dry ski gear in Winter never mind the summer when i visited.
Better to avoid Chalet Rosset and pay a little more for a more relaxing holiday with staff you can rely on and food, clean rooms and food which is of a better standard.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor (level 3) as staff partied until 3am mid week in upstairs lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidslondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Rosset, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear davidslondonuk,

We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your recent holiday with Alpine Elements.

I don't seem to have received anything directly from you and I would appreciate the opportunity to respond so that I can try to rectify the problems that you experienced.

Please find my contact details below:
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
sarah@alpineelements.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

As soon as we arrived in Geneva we were greated by the Ski Olympic Rep Chris who showed us to our transfer coach. Transfer time is around 3 hours. Arriving at the chalet we were greated by all the staff who were all really friendly and welcoming, had a brief introduction and were given our keys to the rooms so we could settle in.
We arranged our ski pass and equipment through ski Olympic which was all sorted that afternoon/evening by Adam the ski technition so we were ready to hit the slopes first thing in the morning.
The chef Jan and su chef Ben did a fantasic job, each evening was a 3 course meal. I dont eat fish but that wasnt a problem, they provided another option for me with no fuss.
Champagne and canepes on the first night up in the lounge was a great opportunity for everyone to start to get to know each other. Also arranged a private ski lesson with new revolution with the rep that was also there. One of the girls in our group required an adaptive ski instructor which they also sorted out for us.
Breakfast and afternoon tea was also great with a couple of cooked breakfast options in the morning and home-made cakes and biscuits in the afternoon.
A couple of evenings they did a pub quiz and a cheese and port night. Thursdays is the chalet staff night off and if you wanted a restaurant to eat at they would arrange this for you.
The chalet wasnt ski in ski out but was literally a 2 minute walk to the nearest beginner slope which took you down to the aero ski and palafour lists (main lifts in tignes).
Was one of the best ski holidays I have been on (and I have skied each year for 20 years) Would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 5 & 14. Room 5 was on the first floor, had a small bath and a balcony altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent a lovely NY week here and there was a really nice crowd in the chalet too.

Very impressed with Ski Olympic head office, very accommodating right up untilt he eleventh hour as they made us aware of cancelled flights from Manchester so we flew closer to home opposed to Gatwick - a Godsend with young children avoiding a 4-5 hr UK transfer pre and post holiday, so thank you very very much:)

Chalet was lovely and rustic. New boot room was very good, and new addition we believe. They do rent out directly to clients from their own stocks but don't hold childrens skis and boots or larger sizes, so you need to make a visit to SkiSet in the shopping forum with a SO voucher - thankfully we not only got a lift there by Adam the ski tech but he also stayed with us to explain that we were not paying for the equipment as we'd already paid Ski Olympic.

Joe the chef cooked some really nice meals and children ate at the same time as the adults. They were all well behaved in the chalet so it wasn't frowned upon by other guests thankfully.

Wine at the meals was appalling sadly - white was hideous, red was just about drinkable. They were served in labelless, opened, pre-used wine bottles and refilled each evening from a larger 'container'. There are two supermarkets within a short walk where good wine can be bought for less than 6 euros a bottle.

Breakfasts were 'ok', porridge was more miss than hit, baked beans of the cheapest possible variety; pale and tastless. There was cereals, yoghurts and bread with jam etc.

Chalet Girls were great fun and happy girls. Just a bit slow to get food orders taken straight away and back to chef on a morning or not sure if the kitchen doesn't cook anything until they receive an order, tricky when busiest time is all in 40mins between 8-8.40am.

Had cheese, biscuits and port on first, last and NY evening up in the lounge on the third floor which was lovely. We had one knife to slice our chunk of cheese but we did miss having a knife then to cut up our cheese to put on each biscuit once we'd left the cheese board and sat down to eat it - but suspect they all in the washing up pile in the kitchen. An investment into more knives for the season wouldn't go amiss please SO.

James the ski host was very accommodating and extremely polite, found him to be very thoughtful and had perfect timing!

Always hot water when we needed it.
WiFi inconsistent.
Beds were lovely and firm.
Ski run just to the right of the chalet isn't marked on any piste map but worth watching the 'local's in action!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Nice chalet, not ski in ski out but just a short walk to where you can ski down to the main lift area in Lac or levachett. Large chalet, rooms a nice size. We had a double and a triple. The triple had a small separate room for the third bed. Not too much space but quite ok even for a 6foot teen, and great for some added privacy. Lovely hot showers. Lovely staff, always accommodating. Boot room ok with seats to help getting ready. Easy walk to the bars. Food good, especially morning breakfast, always porridge and a good cooked option. Ski hosting great way of getting to know the area and makes sociable skiing. Well done ski Olympic.

Room Tip: Triple is good, even for teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Being a single parent to two teenage daughters makes holiday times an interesting occasion. On the one hand, you're trying to give them the best possible time, on the other you don't really fancy sitting around the pool looking (and feeling) like a spare part. So this year we decided to take the chalet option with Alpine Elements, and we are so glad we did.
Like the previous poster we were in room 17. It was ideal for us - twin beds in the main part and a partitioned off single bed area that meant we all had a degree of privacy without having to pay an excess for separate rooms.

The holiday itself couldn't have gone better. There was a terrific mix of families in the hotel and all got along swimmingly. We made new friends and none felt excluded (me included!). The staff were exceptional (and I'm saying this as someone with several Mark Warner trips under the belt). The cleaners constantly went beyond the call of duty, terrific food and service that catered well for even the pickiest youngsters and nicely managed entertainment for those that wanted to take part. A really lovely, hard working and friendly team.

As others have said, the bikes are good for flat or cross country riding but for downhill runs that take advantage of the lift system they're well on the limit of their capabilities. If you're an experienced rider you will want to get hold of a full downhill rig if your intention is to ride rather than roll down the trails. A green in Tignes is on a par with most reds at UK trail centres. After one run my kids refused to go back...

The free activities available with the Tignes card are great - I'll let other reviewers handle the details.

All in all I can't imagine how the holiday could have gone any better. Perfect every step of the way.

Room Tip: Room 17 ideal for 2+1 (or 1+2!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Had a fantastic week in Tignes with Alpine Elements with a friend and my son. The chalet staff were excellent with the whole chalet being kept very clean at all times. The food was amazing and far exceeded our expectations! A food allergy in our party was catered for brilliantly (too well if I'm honest...made him feel too special!). Pre-trip concerns we had about the triple room 17 were soon forgotten as the room, although compact, was perfectly adequate for three 6' plus adults with plenty of storage space and ensuite with great shower. The chalet is in a superb location with easy walking access to the lake, ski/mountain bike lifts and all activities. I cannot fault the service from Alpine Elements from the unexpected pre-trip phone call to the final transfer back to the airport. All went smoothly and without a hitch. Emma and Bex from Alpine Elements were superb and helped arranging lift passes and other bookings as well as arranging a very enjoyable bowling night, quiz night and we even enjoyed a couple of 'chalet' beach volley ball games. The only negative I can find is the lack of Wifi in the Chalet although this wasn't a real problem and a 2 minute walk to a local bar in the evening that did have Wifi resolved this! If you are going specifically for the mountain biking I would definitely recommend upgrading to a full suspension bike as the trails are VERY demanding and quite technical. The Specialized Hardtails we were given (expertly maintained by Tom!) were almost new and just about adequate but we often felt we were pretty much on the limit! Overall though, a fantastic trip. Well done Alpine Elements and we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tignesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Rosset, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at the Rosset. I am so pleased to hear that you a brilliant time and that the food exceeded your expectations. I will pass your comments on to the staff involved, it is always great to hear positive comments.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
Clare Smith - Head of UK Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#14 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Taos
Hotel Le Taos
#9 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Rosset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Rosset

Property: Chalet Rosset
Address: Rue D'Escole | Tignes Le Lac, Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalethotel Rosset, is a traditionally built property, built for Ski Olympic over 15 years ago. It is located in Tignes Le Lac, a few steps from the piste, shops and bars. A bus stop is nearby to access the other Tignes villages via the free local bus service. It has become a favourite amongst our guests with a unique atmosphere accented by the fantastic top floor lounge overlooking the frozen lake and with stunning views of the Grande Motte glacier.French windows lead from the lounge onto a large balcony where the afternoon sun can be enjoyed. On the ground floor is the dining room which has been extended onto the sunny terrace to make a very comfortable place to enjoy afternoon tea. All bedrooms are en-suite and there is a lift which serves all floors. For an extra charge, underground parking is available for self-drive guests.Newly installed in 2012 is FREE Wi-Fi throughout the communal areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Rosset Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing