We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Chalet, great location and resort!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Les Tavaillons
Ranked #15 of 16 Tignes B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Chalet, great location and resort!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Myself and my Fiance stayed here during the 3rd week of February 2012 for a week long ski holiday. We booked through Ski Total and in general came with no expectations about what we were going to get based on the fact that we paid for a last minute package and despite the website description sounding excellent, other reviews on tripadvisor made us slightly doubtful about what we were to arrive in resort to!

Thankfully we were not disappointed. Transfer day with Ski Total was on sunday and we were able to arrive in Chambery by 12pm; we then had a 2hr transfer to get to the chalet. Scenic journey up the mountain, lots of cloud and started snowing on our way up which was very welcome!

When we got to the chalet itself we were shown to the lounge on the upper floor where we were able to have tea and cake prepared by the chalet hosts. We were quickly able to access our rooms which we found to be basic but actually a good size and with plenty of wardrobe space and room to move about. We typically dont use the shelves often provided, only the hanging rail and we had no trouble in terms of space with our suitcases out on the floor. In our room we had twin beds which could be pushed together, along with a side table and (random) chair, although we used this as a second side table to put bits and bobs on. Heating was very efficient (as is standard in ski resorts) and although there were no heating controls other than to turn the knob on the side of the radiator, if it got too hot we simply opened the windows for a little while. In terms of other rooms in the chalet, we were aware that certain people had different features, such as only having a shower but no bath, one room had a corner bath and another (the one next to our room - 6) had a bathroom down a few stairs within the room! If you are specific about what you want, make sure to ask the Tour Operator what the exact specs are before you book. There is one room that doesn't have a window which is at a discounted rate. That said, there was another room on the lowest floor of the chalet that despite the spec technically didn't have access to a window as it had snowed so much there was only snow for a view so they used it as a sort of fridge instead!

The ensuite bathroom in our room was again of a decent size, nothing spectacular in terms of decor (just plain white) but clean with a nice sized bath, powerful shower and massive radiator for hanging all your ski gear on at the end of the day. Radiator was always on throughout the morning and evening so was not cold in there.

R.E the rest of the Chalet; there is a Hot Tub which although needed a service on the day we arrived, it was up and working from the first day we skiied which was brilliant. There is also a sauna and jet shower as well. Agin r.e decor, it's not a 5* spa suite so don't go expecting that!! But if you want somewhere nice to relax and have a soak then it's great. There is also a TV room on the same floor with a decent size screen and a couple of sofas. We took a couple of films and had a girls night in while the boys went to scotty's bar in Le Lavachet one evening to watch the football so it came in very handy! You need to have brought your own DVD's though.

Service and Chalet staff - Ski Total were faultless and provided brilliant service. Jake was the Chalet host, with other staff being Jess Max and the Chef Matt. Breakfast each day was the standard continental breakfast; meats, cheeses, bread, cereals, juice, tea/coffee. There were also delicious freshly baked croissants (much fought over!) plus the choice of porridge, boiled egg or another hot option every day. We were served fresh cake each day and help yourself tea/coffee which was much appreciated. Matt the chef (previously a professional chef in UK) cooked fantastic 3 course meals every evening with 2 sets of canapes offered around before dinner along with an aperetif. There wasn't a choice of meal served however we had people with dietary requirements (dairy free & vegetarian) and their meals/canapes were prepared seperately for them. Matt also invited any specific requests that we had so it wasn't a problem if people wanted something more specific on a night. There was also a selection of wine available throughout the meal which was good quality and readilty topped up by the hosts. The layout for dinner was one long table between the 24 guests which made it a really social atmosphere and we all quickly made groups of friends.

The lounge area, although has been commented on as being quite small for a chalet of this size we found to be fine. Of course it would have been great to have something bigger as there were only 4 three seater sofas, there were a number of other pouffes and a bench which meant that most people could sit together at once. Overall though, we found that there were very few occasions at which the whole chalet wanted to sit together (namely the afternoon and prior to dinner) and so it wasn't really an issue as people typically would sit down in dribs and drabs. There was a great fireplace and lovely high ceilings.

The location of the chalet in relation to the accessible ski area couldn't be much better and to us was as good as ski in ski out (with a very short walk to warm the legs.) From walking from the door of the chalet you head down the road, probabaly no more than 50m at which point you are at the top of another 50m stretch, where you can ski down the lift and board either the paquis or Chaudannes lifts. We couldn't comment on suitability for beginners as we were more advanced and so coming out onto a red run first thing wasn't a problem as noted in other reviews. However, there were total beginners staying in the chalet and they didn't ever complain of any issues.The bus stop which provides free shuttle services around the resort come every few minutes and it takes no more than about 5 minutes to get to Le Lac where there are a greater number of lifts and runs if you are restriced to greens or blues. The skiing across the whole resort is so extensive and well maintained. Easy to get over to Val D'isere and back in a day even for the less able.

Overall, we had a absolutely fantastic trip to Tignes. The only reason we didn't give the review a 5* is possibly as the chalet isn't quite at the 41/2* level advertised in the brochures and so people may find that a bit misleading if they go expecting English 4* quality and truly luxury accomodation. However the whole experience with the skiing, the staff and the chalet was just brilliant and we wouldn't hesistate to book here again in a second. We would recommend to anybody!

Room Tip: Room 7 (room which we selected) was a nice size, had a nice ensuite bathroom with a bath/shower, twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiFi_Trixi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed in Les Tavaillons for a week skiing recently. I was in room one - on the upper floor along with the kitchen, living and dining areas. We were woken at 7ish by the noise of breakfast being prepared, along with a lot of chopping (presumably vegetables for dinner?) every day, which is not a complaint aimed at the staff who were as quiet as I believe they could be but a comment about the poor location of a bedroom essentially in the kitchen. In the evening we were kept awake by anyone who happened to want to sit in the living area, as the wall of our room was thin with obvious gaps at the top. Again, not a complain about the other guests but at the poor chalet design.

The room itself was basic and just about adequate. Two mismatched small lights were all it had, meaning after dark we couldn't see into the cupboard because there wasn't enough light. The cupboard itself was literally falling to pieces - we couldn't use the drawers as they collapsed into each other. The beds had matching mattresses (not all of the rooms did) and could be pushed together to form a double that was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and reasonable. Bizarrely, we could not lock the rooms. The chalet front door did have a lock, but it relied upon everyone leaving the chalet actually locking it (which didn't always happen). Having taken the usual host of electrical gadgets I wasn't too happy with this arrangement.

Food was generally excellent, although the breakfast options were sometimes a little odd. The bread wasn't always fresh, which is poor in a chalet with 24 people staying. The afternoon cakes, however, were brilliant.

The sauna was broken for the duration of our trip (and I think was broken in the last review in January?) due to a part on order not having arrived. I believe the chalet staff were chasing this up on a daily basis. The hot tub was only working for three days due to an electrical fault that was fixed during our stay. Since the hot tub and sauna are one of the selling points of this chalet, this was a bit disappointing. The boot room was small but seemed to cope with 24 surprisingly well. There was only space for one person to sit down at once though, which is also a little poor in a chalet accommodating 24.

It was very easy to walk from the chalet to shops / pubs / ski hire shops all within five minutes and the free resort bus made it possible to get around Tignes without any difficulty. The lifts were within a few minutes walk. I wouldn't recommend this chalet for a complete beginner or someone new to skiing as the main way back is via either a black or red run (although there is also a slushy green path back). The slopes were well groomed and in spite of poor snow recently we had no problems skiing at all.

The complete lack of privacy unfortunately spoiled our stay here. I would not return to this chalet. I feel for the staff working here who were friendly, hard-working and helpful. If I had paid full price for this holiday I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spem100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I have always looked at trip advisor but never put anything in to it. Having stayed at this Chalet for our most recent ski trip I feel compelled to provide my own experience. I wish I had read a few of the reviews before we booked, but the booking was made by a family member so it was too late by the time I had read anything.

So I will start with what I saw as the positives. The position of the Chalet is very handy for the ski lifts, just a two minute walk down the hill. If there are any beginner's in your ski group there is a great nursery slope on the doorstep also with a drag lift. The Chalet is in Le Lavachet. Just up the hill are a few shops and a 2--3 bars. These are just a 5 minute walk away, but the free bus is also very handy to get to the rest of the resort.

The Chalet is a large building for up to 24 people. It was full when we went and had a good mix of families and other groups. This made things quite fun but a lot of the communal areas are no way big enough for 24 people. The boot room for example is no where near big enough and the lounge area didn't have enough seats for 14 people, let alone 24. It was a long transfer from Chambery but 2.30 hours is better than the 4 hours + to Geneva.

The Chalet is a typical building of the region. However it is very tired and dated. I only saw three photos on the web site that we used to book the trip. This is because the Chalet is in the main very tired and in need of a bit of updating. I think the walls have been plastered by an 8 year old doing an arts and craft project. The main room is divided by an open brick wall. The dining room side is overlooked by the kitchen. These areas are the best but there is nothing more than a few tables and chairs put together. The lounge area has a fantastic balcony for views on to the slopes, but the lounge itself is in need of new curtains, new sofas and generally re-decoration. At least 2 of the sofas need replacing. The bedroom we stayed in was fairly shabby. A light fitting was all but hanging off the wall. The carpet was in desperate need of replacing and I had to re-hang the curtains myself on the first night as most of the hooks had come away from the actual curtain. It was quite obvious when we first walked in so it should have been sorted by the staff before hand. Our beds were ok, but my brothers room had one bed where the mattress was a disgrace. It needed throwing out months before. The beds were made each day but the room was never hoovered and the towels not changed once during the week. When we asked for fresh towels they said that there were no spare ones. There is also a bedroom on the floor with the kitchen and living area. It is directly next to the kitchen and unless you like being awoken by the sounds of pots and pans being banged then don't accept this room. The staff didn't seem to be too tactful when setting up in the morning and made quite a racket. We were in the room below which was bad enough.

There is a "wellness' room on the ground floor, or in the basement. It has a hot tub and sauna and a decent shower. But the sauna was out of order for the entire week we stayed, the hot tub was sometimes out of order and generally a bit of a let down. The TV/ DVD room looked a bit like an interrogation room. It had strip lighting and looked more like an office than anything else.

The staff at the chalet were all pretty good. The chef (Matt) was very good, Jenny the host at meal times was very nice and the others were very pleasant. A few times though whilst we were finishing dinner and the staff were on clear up they played music on their lap top very loudly and it was generally some type of thrash metal. Not a great atmosphere to sit and chat in.

The evening food was always excellent however the advertised after dinner coffee was a help yourself to the instant coffee on the breakfast side table and the chocolates were never seen. The hot options at breakfast time were sometimes just best avoided. There was plenty of french bread on offer however on occasions it was just stale and hard. The afternoon cakes were ok and there was plenty on offer. On the last day the majority of the guests had left very early on the transfer coach. When we went up to breakfast at the usual time we weren't offered any hot food and there was only a few stale cereals on offer. As there were only two of us it would have been a nice touch for them to either offer us a hot option or at the very least explain why they couldn't be bothered to make anything.
The meal times were a bit of a sticking point also. Breakfast was 8-9 and the evening meal was served at about 8. It seemed a very long time between meals, especially when it was dark on the slopes by 4.15. It gave the impression that meal times were set more to suit the staff than the guests.

Overall I would not go back to this chalet until they update and modernise it. It needs a good deal of sprucing up. I would also not go through total ski again. On our 2nd day we enquired about a husky ride. Apparently the company that organises this trip never got back to our rep, but either way it was friday by the time we were informed that it couldn't be done. We have used Snow line and VIP chalets in the past and will always prefer to use them again. If you are looking at a deal of about £500 for this chalet for a week then it may be worth it. Anything more just seems like a bit of a rip off I'm afraid.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ollieaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tignes hotels

Up north
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chalet Tavaillons in Tignes in the first week of March this year. We booked our ski trip with Iglu around 3 weeks beforehand and we discovered that most of the other 22 people staying in the chalet had done the same. The consensus was that nobody would have been willing to pay the full list price for this accommodation (around £900 for one week catered), and the price had reduced to around £600 by the time we all booked which was much more reasonable. If we had paid the full price we would have been very disappointed.

Firstly, if you book this accommodation then you already know that it is a very large chalet (24 people) which inevitably means that there will be a mix of personalities, and fortunately for us, this made the trip all the more enjoyable.

This chalet is run by Ski Total and I have to say that after a very long airport transfer to Tignes (3 hours), the 4 chalet staff (all male which worried me a little bit at first but they actually ran the place rather admirably!), were ready to greet us, take our bags and hand us a cup pf tea which was a good start. They were very friendly and overall did a great job.

The chalet itself is laid out over 5 floors with the kitchen, dining room and living area being on the top floor (as well as one of the bedrooms which you should not stay in unless they are paying you to be there), the main entrance and ski boot room on the next floor down as well as a number of other bedrooms, and then bedrooms on the 2 floors below with a TV room, jacuzzi, sauna and shower on the bottom floor.

The bedrooms themselves were of a reasonably good size compared to other chalets we have stayed in. The beds were ok, comfort wise, as was the bathroom. Overall I'd say 3 star standard. (The chalet is 4 star). Some of our lights didn't work and our beds were at different heights so we weren't really able to push the beds together to make a double, but generally the room was adequate.

I would not recommend being in a room on the upper 2 floors of the chalet. The poor couple in the room on the top floor next to the kitchen bearly got any sleep due to the noise of the guests in the communal areas in the evenings and the chalet hosts arriving to make breakfast at 7am each morning. Our room was on the floor below that and it was also noisy for the same reasons as above and especially due to the ski boot room being on the same floor. The other guests staying on the 2 lower floors however, did not experience the same noise level and I would definitely recommend asking for a room on either of these floors. The best room in the chalet is the one with the corner bath and vaulted ceilings - it is worth paying a little bit extra for this room of a different class. Avoid the only room which has no window and is like a broom cupboard! The guests staying in that room were pretty unhappy and received only a small discount for their disappointment.

The decor in the communal areas of the chalet is pleasant, and the open fire makes the place homely. The communal areas are not big enough for 24 guests - there was not enough sofa space in the living area for everyone and eating at the dining tables was rather cramped. The TV room seemed seldom used, but the jacuzzi and sauna room was excellent.

The food in the chalet was reasonably good. In addition to the usual variety of cereals, bread, ham and cheese etc. for breakfast there were freshly baked croissants every morning and an offer of porridge, as well as an alternative hot option. Afternoon tea was much welcomed after long days on the slopes, the tea and coffee station was stocked 24 hours a day and the cake homemade and delicious. The evening meals were generally varied but average, and the wine to accompany the meal was of a reasonably good standard.

The location of the chalet in Le Lavachet is very good. It is a minutes' walk to the nearest bus stop to catch the free shuttle bus up to the main centre of Le Lac. Similarly it is a short walk to the top of a small hill which leads you to 2 chairlifts. We enjoyed being in the smaller resort of Le Lavachet but it is the furthest East of all of the resorts and therefore if you have skiied over to Val D'Isere, you will need to plan your ski back in order to ensure you can make it all of the way in time for the last lift at around 5pm. Otherwise, you have to get the shuttle bus home!

On reflection, we had a good holiday at Le Tavaillons but if we went back to Tignes we would try a different chalet.

I cannot recommend highly enough the restaurant La Ferme de 3 Capucines in Le Lavachet. It is a traditional French restaurant serving fresh and absolutely delicious food at cheaper prices than we paid for lunch at the mountain restaurants. The service was excellent, and the restaurant makes its' own dairy produce next door in an attached barn where you can look through the windows and see the animals bedding down for the evening. It was fantastic.

Also, a good money saving tip is to eat lunch at the Spar in Le Lac. It is near the base of the gondola so is easy to ski to and they sell a large variety of yummy baguettes, soup and other cold and hot meals for around 6 euros each which makes a change from the extortionate prices charged on the mountain and made us feel better about spending 40 euros on lunch on some of the other days!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeet91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
137 reviews
14.2 mi away
Au Rond-Point Pistes
Au Rond-Point Pistes
#35 of 37 in Tignes
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#27 of 80 in Tignes
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Les Tavaillons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Les Tavaillons

Property: Chalet Les Tavaillons
Address: Tignes Le Lavachet, Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Chalet Les Tavaillons Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing