We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet sorry”
Review of Chalet Arktic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Arktic
Ranked #7 of 16 Tignes B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chalet sorry”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Well where to start, this was my first skiing holiday staying in a chalet, have to say far from impressed. The write up in ski total brochure is that this is a premium chalet, if this is there premium I don't want to stay in there standard. Too expensive for what I got. The chalet hosts were great and can't help feeling sorry or them, we styled first week of season and they got threw in at h depend. You would think that this being one of the best chalet ski total have they would have at least one experienced host but no, the organisation was just not there and though we got cheaper rates being first week it felt we were there as a trial run.

Rooms - very small and also very little sound insulation and here a tip, do not lock the bathroom doors unless you are wanting to be stuck for a while. Shower in room are good though, one of our party paid extra for room 8 to have a bath, this as not possible due to fact the plug was broken. The beds are very small and hard and the pillows are useless, if you have room in your suitcase pack one, if you don't have room in your case, make room.

Views from chalet are great and though a bit of a trek down to ski area it not too bad, the living space is good but tv room not exactly how it's described in the brochure.

Food - well I'm afraid this is a big grumble, the standard of food was not good, with on two nights 2 of the 16 guests staying at the chalet not getting a starter due to miss counting the plates. Yes you read that right. The food was quite bland and I think that ski total menu book the lads follow is a little too complicated for young lads with little cooking experience. They were not helped by the fact the oven was not great and wasn't easy to use, but burning bread, croissants and pain au chocolate every day until the last 2 days is not acceptable. Running out of things like milk, butter and sausages again not acceptable nod all we got was a sorry guys. It's the main thing the hosts said and this actually was turned into a drinking game. The good think is the wine flowed freely but felt it as a little strict with respect time limit, as man bottles from start of service to Service of desserts. Also on the hosts day off the way they left things like breakfast was poor, had to keep asking for fruit. The afternoon cakes were pretty decent.

Wellness centre was ok but it's a pity the centre is limited opening hours.

Overall the keyword of the week was sorry and I am sorry too because I can't bring myself to recommend this chalet to anyone and do not know how ski total can call it a premium chalet. Here's hoping that this was first week ironing out the bumps and that anyone else staying this season that the standard improves 10 times.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Okay, where to begin. Firstly the greeting from the staff at the Chalet were pleasant. We then met all of the other guests in the Chalet. The breakfasts in the morning weren't great in all honesty, there was little food on the hot breakfast option. The cereal was decent but French milk isn't to my taste. The food wasn't great throughout the week. They had some good dishes however most of the dishes were bland.
The rooms in the Chalet were small and for a young visitor, a lack of TV and poor wifi connection wasn't great. The spa was quite a let down to be honest; very small hot tub to say that the Chalet is designed to sleep 18 people. The pool wasn't overly private as the neighbouring Chalet had access to it which wasn't ideal as it was very small. The beds in the Chalet seemed quite small, I'm only 5"7 and my feet were virtually out of the bed. The pillows, to be Fran,k were s**t.
The main area where all of the guests socialise was never swept but the staff managed to keep the balcony clear of snow!
Cakes are provided after skiing which were home made. The only let down with this is that the staff are so young and are inexperience with cooking causing the cake to have faults.
I would most likely stay in this Chalet again, but would expect considerable improvements.

Room Tip: Only one room which is located adjacent to the living area had a bath. All of the other rooms had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Some friends and I rented the entire Chalet out in Feb 2012. We had a really good stay there, and enjoyed our staff and food very much.
The rooms are adequate size, with well thought out bathrooms and storage.
The lounge is large with a fireplace, there is a nice tv room (we didn't use much) and nice sauna in the same building.
The best part of the stay was the hosts and their cooking! The food was really great, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
It is a noisy place if you are a light sleeper - best to book out the whole thing, be the last to bed, or take some ear plugs. Good location for the skiing also.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintyedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

like others, I was anxious; After having booked to stay at the Arktic, I read some of these reviews, however much of that anxiety was alleviated almost as soon as we arrived.

As previously mentioned, there is a short (c. 150m) uphill walk with your bag to the chalet - help is offered by the staff to those that require it and its no big deal - if your fit enought to ski, your fit enough to carry your bag up the hill...

We stayed in room 8 - the one on the middle floor with access to the balcony and a bath. As one reviewer previously mentioned, there can be some noise from the living room if you are trying to go to sleep when others are still in the living room, however we found that the other guests were very friendly and we stayed up with them or were out until they had gone to bed anyway so this wasnt a problem.

The food was great - Martin, Belle and Becka, despite being only young, had an excellent attention to detail, were never late in the preparation of meals and were very accomodating to requests from other guests. Belle's afternoon cakes were a particular triumph.

Chris the rep was on hand to help organise meals on the Wednesday when the hosts have the day off and to organise lessons, excursions (ice diving etc) - generally anything that you might need.

On the negative side were the trasfers - I am not averse to early flights (i actually prefer them most of the time) but the trasfer bus was below par. Being 6'3" I could not sit straight on in the seat and with the coach being completely full, this made for an uncomfortable 3 hour transfer from Geneva - I was told by others that were on different transfers from Chambery and later ones from Manchester that the busses were of better quality. Despite leaving at 4.50 am, the staff were on hand at 4 to make take-away bacon sandwiches and to help with the bags.

I would 100% go again and would recommend this chalet to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely, although if you anticipate wanting to go to sleep early, i.e prior to other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews prior to our stay, despite the brochure spiel and apparent 5 star Platinum rating, we were filled with intrepidation. However, this proved to be largely unfounded.

Firstly, location is a 2 minute walk uphill from the bus drop off. No great shakes and help is offered if needed. A short 5 to 10 minute walk into Le Lac for ski pick up and drop off and most importantly (for a group of older boys minus familes for a week) the closest bars. The nearest lift is a button which is 5 minutes away in boots and whilst not ideal starting the morning on a button, nonetheless the nice ski back down to the Palafour or Aeroski got the legs going nicely.

Arktic is top notch in most regards. Plush, open plan living / dining / kitchen area, great to meet and greet and chat each day. Rooms were more compact than some chalets I have been to but very comfortable, well laid out and ample storage under the bed or built in wardrobes. Beds were fine. No bed anywhere I stay is my own bed so never quite as comfortable but would not in any way say it was an uncomfrotable nights sleep. I am 6'2" and didn't find them too small in size either.

Free wi-fi helped to keep in touch with the world whilst we were away.

As commented on earlier by another reviewer, the Chalet staff, Martin, Becka & Belle were excellent in both service, friendliness and attentiveness. Food was generally very good indeed. I had no complaints personally and there were only minor grumbles within our party, largely due to personal preferences really. Wine was good and plentiful. Also mentions out to Chris (the chalet manager) and James who we spent our first two days guided skiing with.

Minor criticisms are few but to be constructive. There seems only to be one temperature. Very cosy. It can, therefore, be a tad stifling at times. You would have thought a chalet this spec would have had room based thermos. However, I suppose that is what windows are for! :-) Also, the dining table is not meant to sit 20. There was no elbow room whatsoever at a fully seated table.

All in all an excellent place to stay and one at which we would do so again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJPMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I am so sorry to hear that other groups have had bad experiences in Chalet Arktic, as we loved it.
We spent a week there in January 2010 and were royally looked after.
I agree that it could be noisy because of the wooden floors and that the beds were a little small but the views and the food were fabulous.
We had a wonderful ski guide and a great chalet host

Room Tip: I wouldn't take the upstairs room with the bath as it is next to the living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buttonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at Arktic 9th-16th December 2011 and the place was kept spotless - the cooking and meal service was well above average for kids let loose - they were not mean with the wine and we could always get a fresh cuppa. The beds were rather small for some of the guests and a few of the lads ended up sleeping on the sitting room sofas - not ideal!

Ski Total, however, were worse than useless!! One of our party was stuck in the Orkney Islands and could not make the flight due to weather conditions. We got absolutely no help whatsoever from Total. As some other guests commented - big business, no soul!!

The rules governing the pool and hot tub area were pretty draconian considering the cost of the holiday. Perhaps earlier opening and drinks allowed in plastic containers??

Despite the irritations we would go there again as the staff more than made up for the Company as a whole and we enjoyed their, and the other guest's, company.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marggied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Au Rond-Point Pistes
Au Rond-Point Pistes
#35 of 37 in Tignes
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.0 mi away
Langley Hotel Tignes 2100
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Arktic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Arktic

Property: Chalet Arktic
Address: rue de la Poste | Crouze, Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chalet Arktic Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing